Longevity logo

Boost My Hair After Chemo

By Lauren

By HealPointPublished 12 months ago 4 min read

I never thought I would lose my hair to cancer. But when I was diagnosed with breast cancer at 35, I had to face the harsh reality of chemotherapy and its side effects. Here’s how I coped with hair loss and regrew my hair after chemo.

My Hair Loss Journey

I loved my hair. It was long, thick, and brown, with natural highlights. I used to get compliments on it all the time. It was part of my identity and my confidence.

When I found out I had breast cancer, I was shocked and scared. I had no family history of the disease, and I was otherwise healthy and active. The doctors told me I needed chemotherapy to shrink the tumor before surgery. They also warned me that I would lose my hair.

I tried to prepare myself for the inevitable, but nothing could really prepare me for the day when my hair started falling out. It was about two weeks after my first chemo session. I woke up one morning and saw clumps of hair on my pillow. I ran to the bathroom and brushed my hair, only to see more hair come out in the brush. I felt like crying.

I decided to shave my head that day. I didn’t want to see my hair fall out gradually. I wanted to take control of the situation. My husband helped me shave my head, and he shaved his too, in solidarity. He told me I was beautiful no matter what.

I bought some wigs, scarves, and hats to cover my bald head. I tried to be positive and make jokes about it. But deep down, I felt insecure and depressed. I hated looking at myself in the mirror. I hated how people looked at me with pity or curiosity. I hated how cancer took away my hair and my sense of self.

My Hair Regrowth Journey

My hair didn’t start growing back until about a month after my last chemo session. At first, it was just some soft fuzz on my scalp. Then it grew longer and thicker, but it also looked different. It was darker, curlier, and coarser than before. It didn’t feel like my hair.

I was happy to have hair again, but I also missed my old hair. I wondered if it would ever grow back the way it was before chemo. I tried different products and treatments to make it grow faster and healthier, but nothing seemed to work.

Then I discovered red light therapy.

Red light therapy is a treatment that uses low-level red light to stimulate your cells and tissues to heal and regenerate. It has many benefits for skin health, wound healing, inflammation reduction, and pain relief.

It also helps with hair growth after chemo.

Red light therapy works by increasing blood flow to the scalp, stimulating collagen production in the skin, and activating stem cells in the hair follicles. This helps restore your hair’s natural growth cycle and prevent further hair loss.

One of the easiest ways to use red light therapy for hair growth after chemo is to use a red light therapy hat. A red light therapy hat is a device that fits over your head and emits red light onto your scalp. You can use it at home while you work, watch TV, read a book, or relax.

I bought a red light therapy hat online after reading some positive reviews from other cancer survivors who used it for hair growth after chemo. The hat I bought was called the HairMax PowerFlex Laser Cap 202. It had 202 medical-grade lasers that emitted 650 nm (red) wavelength. It had a flexible design that conformed to any head shape and size. It also had an LCD display that showed the treatment time and battery level.

I used the hat for 15 minutes every other day for 12 weeks. And I was amazed by the results.

My hair grew faster and stronger than ever before. It also regained its original color and texture. It looked like my pre-chemo hair again.

I felt like myself again.

Conclusion

Hair growth after chemo can be a challenging process, but it is not impossible. With proper care and patience, you can restore your hair’s health and beauty.

You can also try some natural and effective treatments for hair growth after chemo, such as red light therapy. Red light therapy can stimulate your scalp’s blood circulation, collagen production, and stem cell activation. This can help you grow thicker, fuller, and healthier hair.

If you are looking for a red light therapy hat for hair growth after chemo, I highly recommend the HairMax PowerFlex Laser Cap 202. It is clinically proven, FDA cleared, and easy to use. You can find it online or at your local store.

I hope this article has inspired you to try red light therapy for hair growth after chemo. It has changed my life, and I hope it can change yours too.

Thank you for reading my story. If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to share them below. I would love to hear from you.

healthbeauty

About the Creator

HealPoint

Get ready for an explosion of transformative insights and skyrocket your well-being journey!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    HealPointWritten by HealPoint

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.