Longevity logo

Appreciating the Little Things

Mindfulness

By StaringalePublished 3 months ago 3 min read
2
Appreciating the Little Things
Photo by Dapo Oni on Unsplash

Rising with the sun gives one a proactive approach towards the day. Sitting in the kitchen during the early morning silence and serenity soothes the soul. Today, I wasn't enjoying this morning gift of nature alone. My mom and grandma woke up early and were now accompanying me. The window telecasted the beauty of nature as we ate our breakfast. The chirping of the birds caused the melodious tune to drift through the air, awakening the soul. The music created by nature is better than any music I have ever heard. The plate of heartwarming breakfast before me made this a lot more exciting.

The steam from the boiled eggs, as I cut them in half, rose like an excited child, twisting and turning before disappearing. The stuffed flat-bread was cut into triangle slices like a pizza. Accompanying it was an aromatic blend of Arabian tea. Taking a bite of the egg topped with pepper and salt, the flavors of pepper and salt danced across my tongue, overwhelming the comparatively bland flavor of the egg. Following it with a bite of the stuffed flat-bread washed away the flavor of the egg and introduced its own rich savory flavor that left a savory after-taste.

A sip of the aromatic blend enhanced this savory taste for a moment before blanketing it with a sweet and bitter taste of the tea. The bursting flavors were awakening my taste buds, soothing the hunger, satisfying my soul, and nourishing my body. As I sat there enjoying my breakfast in the silent company of my mom and grandma, I think it is better to sometimes enjoy breakfast with family rather than in solitude. Watching them eat the food quickly reminded me of the two types of people in the world: those who savor the food they eat and those who eat without savoring.

All of my family members fall into the second category. The only thing they savor is the variety of teas, sometimes taking an hour or two with a mug of tastefully blended tea. Comparatively, I am not such a big fan of blended aromatic teas, but each to their own, I think. Watching them wash and put the clean dishes on the rack before sitting back and enjoying their teas, while I sit here still eating breakfast, makes me feel like a child who is playing with his food.

A soft chattering broke the morning silence as my mom and grandma indulged in a talk, and with this talk, they started their day. In a span of thirty minutes, I came to know what their plans were for today and what's happening around the neighborhood. Washing the plates, I put them on the rack. With breakfast done, I was going for a walk in the backyard garden, pulling my grandma and mom with me. Bundling up in cozy layers, I opened the door, and the cool morning air greeted us. Stepping out, I skipped to switch on the fountain, while my mom and grandma walked slowly, still engaged in their small talk.

The water started dropping, the droplets created a unique tune which created a calming backdrop as I started walking/skipping around. The sun illuminated the surroundings, reflecting off the marbled surface, causing it to shine brightly. The granite particles below my feet were glittering, felt like if the glitter itself was embedded in making the path. Going around, marveling at the beauty of nature, I felt the positive energy filling me to the brim. My mom and grandma were sitting on the bench and still talking, hugging them, I sat down near the fountain and started meditating.

lifestyleself caremeditation
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Doc Sherwood3 months ago

    There's a very meditative tone throughout this whole story, so the ending is perfect, and the reader probably feels like meditating too after these beautifully soothing and stimulating paragraphs. From your opening reflections on nature to the vividly detailed descriptions of taste, everything feels attuned to bringing mind and body into balance. Your title therefore is most apt, as it's a pity so many people forget it's the little things in life that do this for us best of all. I've always said no-one writes about sensations as well as you, so I'm glad both Shirley and Daphsam below are in agreement! Your readership is growing. Here's to another Top Story soon! As for the question of to savour or not to savour, I can forgive the people who eat without doing so, but I have no time at all for those who eat awful food and pretend it's worth savouring. I fear I've had to live with that, and although I'm no good in the kitchen, it's why I try to cook for myself as much as I can!

  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    Seems like you are a very "sensory" type person. And you describe each sense beautifully. Well done!

  • Daphsam3 months ago

    Very peaceful read. Thank you. 

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.