Longevity logo

All Natural Food Finds

Joseph's Lavash Bread and Hummus

By Katherine LougheryPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

I am a HUGE fan of wraps and have been for about ten years. And the very best pairing I have found with a wrap is hummus (hommus). This is a wrap I made with Joseph's lavash bread and garlic lovers hummus. As you can see there is a huge part of wrap left over, that is because these are really large wraps. You can see the size of the wrap when you compare it to the knife. They are 60 calories per half and so I cut off the second half and use it in a separate wrap later. I then roll the rest of it sideways. This wrap has romaine lettuce and Boarshead low sodium ham & swiss.

Joseph's makes many flavors of wraps, and typically you would find them round, but I absolutely love this lavash bread. The nutrition is good at only 60 calories per service, low fat, with 6 grams of protein and 4 grams of fiber. The lavash bread here is actually their product of the month. Here is a quote about the product from their website: "Joseph's provides you with a healthy, reduced carb, high protein Lavash bread, now containing Flax, an excellent source of Omega-3! This Lavash has no cholesterol and contains three healthy ingredients: Flax, Oat Bran and Whole Wheat which may help protect your heart, while losing weight!" Joseph's also sells pita bread, gluten free wraps, tortillas and even buttermilk pancakes. They also have lavash roll-ups in both round and square shapes.

Instead of putting on any type of mayonnaise I use hummus. It adds great flavor and a healthy form of fat. As you can see, I love garlic. Joseph's makes a variety of hummus flavors including original, red pepper, garlic lovers (my fave), spinach and artichoke, avocado, baba ghannouj, buffalo, garlic and chive, lemon, and vegetable. They make party sizes as well as minis. My favorite Garlic Lovers Hummus is only 60 calories per serving and is low in sodium. It is all natural, gluten free, cholesterol free, no preservatives and a good source of fiber.

For the sake of curiosity I had to see what the baba ghannouj was about because I've never heard of it before. The ingredients are: Roasted Eggplant, Chick Peas, Tahini (Crushed Sesame Seeds), Sunflower Oil, Olive Oil, Water, Garlic, Sea Salt, Citric Acid,

Guar Gum, Cumin. So if you are an eggplant fan, this might be the hummus for you.

Joseph's also makes a variety of salads, dips, spreads and salsa. Because they are a company of Mediterranean cuisine there are a lot of really unique flavor options to choose from.

It's actually kind of funny because I tried hummus ten years ago and I thought it was absolutely disgusting. I used to feel the same way about guacamole. Guacamole is also a really nice alternative to mayonnaise, and there are so many additives you can put in for a really healthy dip. Recently at game night my friend Sarah made fresh guacamole at my house, she put in lemon juice and onions/tomatoes. One of my favorite brands of guacamole is Wholly Guacamole. They not only have a variety of flavors in both smooth and chunky varieties, but dips as well. Get a tray or a mini for some guac on the go. A mini has 120 calories, and yes, they are mostly fat calories, but it is a source of good fats that your body needs. It is also low in sodium and a good source of potassium.

Yum!

Visit Joseph's Bakery website: https://www.josephsbakery.com

Visit Joseph's Foods website: http://josephsfoods.com/hommus/index.html

Visit Wholly Guacamole website: https://www.eatwholly.com/

diet
Like

About the Creator

Katherine Loughery

Hi. I had a blog on blogger for a while, AllNaturalKat where I talked about all natural food finds and dieting/health tips. I am excited to be on Vocal and share my knowledge with all of you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.