Longevity logo

4 Steps to a Healthier You

Health tips

By Kailee HarringtonPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
2

First off, let me start by saying we all know way more than four ways to a healthier you. Am I right?

Here are four simple tricks I use to be a healthier version of myself.

DISCLAIMER:

This is what works for me, but everyone is different! Results vary from person to person. You need to find the correct rhythm for you.

1. WATER

I cannot, I repeat, cannot stress how important it is to be drinking water daily. Wether you're walking, running, sitting in your living room, or going to school, everywhere you go you should ALWAYS make sure you're consuming water. This I know from experience.

A little backstory here. I used to absolutely hate drinking water because it was, as you say, tasteless. However, my body couldn't handle it. I kept getting dehydrated, I never felt good, and finally I had had enough. This year I started drinking more water, and I noticed that I started to feel much better. I don't think I've ever loved water so much. I was denying my body one of the main things it needed to keep going. Not drinking water is a mistake I will never make again.

So ladies, gentlemen, and children, I highly recommend always drinking the required amount of water. I recommend drinking at least two liters of water a day—three liters, if you can.

2. DO NOT SKIP MEALS

Wether you're not that hungry or just don't want to eat, make sure you never skip a meal. A meal doesn't necessarily mean you need to go all out. It can be as simple as a sandwich.

I remember in high school I thought it was okay to be skipping breakfast and lunch all the time. It wasn't until I went to college and started work that problems began. It was a consistent of lack of focus, energy, and strength. In order to keep your body physically and mentally healthy, you must eat all three meals in a day. With the help of Canada's food guide, proportioning meals is easy as pie.

**TIP**

If you're running behind in the morning, have a bowl filled with easy, on-the-go fruits. This can include apples, oranges, bananas, or even grapes. It's an easy grab-and-go breakfast.

For lunches, meal prep is always a good way to go if you feel you never have time the day of. Grab some containers and the foods you want, and create a lunch for each day of the week to come. This relieves the pressure of making a lunch or not knowing what to make. This makes lunch a grab-and-go as well.

3. Less Screen Time

Now when I say less screen time, that goes for adults too, not just children—I'm talking all ages here. I'll admit, it can be addicting to be on your phone. It literally keeps me up at night, wether I'm playing a silly game or messaging with friends. How did I stop or at least cut back, may you ask?

I technically haven't (OMG... WHAT?!). Exactly what I said. We are in control of our hands and mind, so really only we as individuals can control our screen time. However each night I make sure my phone is charging away from me while I fall asleep as well as when I prepare for my day the following morning.

4. Just be you!

Let's face it, nobody likes a fake, so why bother faking it? The best thing you can be is the best version of yourself. Sure you may not now who that is yet, trust me the struggle is real. I struggle too. Everybody is special and different in their own unique way, so why bother hiding. Show the world who/what you want to be. Own who you are.

Thank you so much for reading and I will be back with another blog post soon <3

health
2

About the Creator

Kailee Harrington

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.