Longevity logo

4 Proven Ways to Enjoy Working Out

Learn to Love Exercise

By Dr Jith ThoPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
1

Many people see exercise as “boring,” “tedious,” or “dull.” If you look at exercise in the same way, you’ll find it hard to stick with an exercise program. On the other hand, if you enjoy exercise, you will do it again and again, without complaint.

Sure there will be those days when you really have to force yourself, but those will become fewer and farther between. Many people who work out regularly find that they become “addicted” to working out. Not in a negative sort of way, but they can definitely feel the difference in themselves after a week without exercise and want to get back to their routine.

Use the following techniques and learn how to love exercise:

Choose an exercise that appeals to you

If you find lifting weights or using the treadmill tedious, don’t force yourself to do them, especially when you start out. I mentioned earlier that I used to hate lifting weights.

At some point though I recognized that my body had become too focused on one type of exercise and I needed to branch out to continue improving and remain healthy. I had to force weight lifting for a time, but I learned to love it.

The nice thing was I had already established a routine of running that I could fall back on if I really didn’t feel like lifting on a particular day. So, give yourself a foundation of doing something you enjoy before you try things you don’t like as much. What are your interests? Take these into account and look for physical activities that match them.

Do you find outdoor exercise exhilarating? If you do, try swimming, rollerblading, kayaking, tennis, hiking, or jogging in the park. Do you enjoy working out with other people? Try joining a group exercise class like Zumba, spin, or aqua aerobics. Do you like competitive sports? Play basketball or flag football with some friends. You can even join a soccer or softball league.

Most places have leagues for all ages and all skill levels. Do you prefer soothing and quiet exercises? Try Taichi. Pilates, or yoga.

Modify

There is no rule that says that exercise should always be fast-paced or high-intensity. If you don’t go for a fast, intense pace, allow yourself to slow down.

Walking continues to be a popular form of exercise because it isn’t intimidating or overwhelming. You can walk at a pace that is exactly right for you – and still burn calories, increase your heart rate, and enjoy a wide range of health benefits.

Don’t allow yourself to be coerced into doing an exercise that doesn’t feel right for you. If you prefer low-intensity workouts to the more popular intense workouts, don’t feel guilty about it. You can modify the intensity of a workout in a number of ways. When I started running years ago, I would do intervals where I would run for 30 seconds then walk for one minute.

I would do it for 20 minutes, or so, a few times a week. Then I would change it a little more as my endurance grew. Maybe running for a minute and walking for 30 seconds. Before I knew it, I could run eight miles without resting which was a huge feat for me.

I could have never gotten to that point if I didn’t start with a modified running plan though. I just didn’t have the endurance to keep up that kind of activity for 20 minutes straight. Look up ways to modify your chosen exercise to meet your needs in the beginning. If you want to run, look up a couch to 5k interval running program. Most will have you running 3.1 miles in eight weeks if you stick to the program.

It sounds like a lot, but when you modify your exercise to meet your fitness level, it will amaze you what you can achieve and how quickly you can do it.

Think about the benefits you get from exercise

Write down how your body, spirit, and mind benefit from exercise. Keep these benefits in mind. Review them often. Keeping these benefits at the forefront of your mind will inspire you to stick with your program. It’s a good idea to even write a few of these things down on a post-it note and keep it in your wallet all the time.

The first time I did it I thought it would be useless, but studies have shown that when you are trying to reach a goal, the act of physically writing the goal and its benefits makes you more likely to achieve it when you review it every day and exercise also helps to treat mental health issues such as depression.

I can say from experience that is true and I encourage you to do it no matter how ineffective it may seem. It doesn’t take any effort or time so you might as well try.

Change things up

Doing the same exercise program several times a week can sometimes numb your mind. Keep things interesting by changing things up. Try a range of exercise forms.

Alternate doing cardio with strength training. Incorporate new steps into your routine. If you like cardio, do different types. Rotate swimming with biking.

Switch from jogging to dancing. Joining a group exercise class is fun. Work out under different instructors so you experience a range of styles and pace. One of the main reasons I started lifting weights was because endurance exercising was becoming monotonous to me.

Even though I didn’t enjoy doing it I knew that a change would help me stay healthier both physically and mentally. It can take a long time to become bored with a particular workout for some people while others need to change things up every eight weeks.

How your workouts are going will tell you if you need to switch things up. If your progress is stalling and you are getting bored, then switch workouts and you will be surprised that when you come back to it, you will have probably broken through the plateau you hit before.

fitness
1

About the Creator

Dr Jith Tho

am certified in addiction counseling, public health, health education, mental health and I am also an AIDS-certified registered nurse with more than 30 years of experience

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.