Longevity logo

4 Essential Oils That Can Help You Treat Anxiety

These are the essential oils that help me relax.

By Vicky SerraPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Anxiety and stress have become something I hear of more often as I get older. Life starts to happen and before you know it, we start to worry about rent, money, jobs, relationships, health, family, and everything in between. Just thinking about it made me feel a little overwhelmed and I find myself taking deep breaths to come back to center. To some people, balancing all of that feels a little easier and more natural, but to some it can be very stressful and often leads to anxiety attacks and getting stuck from feeling overwhelmed. I have found myself in that position many times, but have also felt relief when I control my thoughts and it’s an incredible feeling! I have a few techniques that help me relax and clear my head, including the use of essential oils. Essential oils have been used for centuries for their medicinal properties and my favorite time to use them is when I need to slow down. You can apply them topically (diluted in a carrier oil first) or put a few drops of oil in a diffuser. You can also smell them straight from the bottle.

These are the essential oils that help me relax.

Vetiver

Vetiver is one of my favorite scents and it is often used to help treat anxiety. As soon as I open the bottle and smell it, I feel calm. It has soothing and cooling effects in both the circulatory and nervous system, helping alleviate emotional stress, panic attacks, and anxiety. You can put a few drops of vetiver oil on your bath to make bath time even more relaxing.

Chamomile

Chamomile automatically reminds me of tea, being relaxed, cozy, and that it’s time to unwind. Your memory starts associating scents and moments so it helps to visualize a feeling, like that of drinking a warm cup of tea to help you be more present. Chamomile decreases anxiety, irritability, and brings a sense of harmony and joy. You can drink a cup of chamomile tea, but you can also apply the essential oil on your skin to receive all its benefits.

Lavender

Lavender is the most used essential oil and for good reason. Its scent is so fresh and delicious, it’s hard not to feel completely relaxed after smelling it. This oil is known for reducing stress, improving your mood, treating headaches, relieving pain, and many other benefits. I like to use lavender oil at night to help me clear my head before I go to sleep. Oils are delivered faster through the bottom of your feet so I blend a few drops of lavender with almond oil and give myself a foot rub before I go to bed. It feels good and helps me sleep better.

Eucalyptus

Eucalyptus was the first oil I fell in love with and the one that got me into aromatherapy. It is so fresh and invigorating, it makes me feel energized with no time to stress. It is also used to boost mental clarity so it is perfect to use when your mind decides to have ten thoughts at the same time. I love to use this oil in a diffuser or spray it around my house. Its scent reminds me of a spa and I automatically feel myself starting to unwind and become less tense.

VERY IMPORTANT: Before you apply any essential oil on your skin, you should first dilute it on a carrier oil (almond, avocado, jojoba, coconut) because they are very potent. I personally like to use almond oil because it is very moisturizing and it absorbs quickly. Blend a few drops of the essential oil of your choice with a carrier oil, apply to body, and enjoy!

self care
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.