Longevity logo

2021 in Mind, Body, and Spirit

A year of self-reflection and spirituality

By Tabitha KerbabianPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2

That fresh new year energy hasn't faded on me yet, so I'm hanging onto it for as long as it's willing to stick around. We could spend some time reflecting on 2020 here, but in the spirit of a clean slate, can we not? I'm keeping my eyes on what's around me and what I want to see and create in the future.

Historically, I've been really good at looking back and going over and over (and over and over and over) events of the past, but that was all just practiced thought. Now, I'm choosing to practice some different thoughts instead. Slip back into ruminating on what was? Notice, then choose to refocus. I can do that.

I'm feeling motivated and inspired, and have dreamt up some goals that have the potential to be hugely beneficial for me and everyone around me, yet simple enough to maintain. Here they are, neatly tucked into the categories of mind, body, and spirit.

By Jonas Jacobsson on Unsplash

Mind

Read at least one physical book per month. I've been listening to a lot of audiobooks, meditations, and recorded events on the Hay House Unlimited Audio app, but I've got a ton of physical books on my shelf collecting dust, and they deserve some love too.

I started the year off with The Greatest Secret by Rhonda Byrne, which was a Christmas gift from my Mom. Now I'm on to The Spontaneous Fulfillment of Desire by Deepak Chopra. I bought that one at a thrift shop years ago and somehow never got around to reading it. Now's the time.

It's so nice to take some time away from screens and just hold a physical book, but I'm still listening to audiobooks too. So far, I've listened to The Vortex by Esther and Jerry Hicks (a second listen, after hearing it first in 2020) and The Spontaneous Healing of Belief by Gregg Braden. Now, I’m listening to Theta Healing by Vianna Stiball.

Reading is an easy way for me to learn and explore. I love coming across new concepts and practices, and my analytical and imaginative mind enjoys contemplating everything I've learned.

I'm also making a point of watching mostly funny, lighthearted, or uplifting shows and movies. Lots of standup comedy. Really, I just want to be happy and laugh a lot.

By Arek Adeoye on Unsplash

Body

Exercise is interesting. Society has conditioned me to think that exercise is primarily for people who want to lose weight or build muscle. I realize I've never once exercised because I enjoy it. It's always been because I didn't feel good about my body and I wanted to "fix" something. I get to change that now.

I bought a Cubii Jr. last year with the intention of moving more. I know that our bodies are made to move, and I know that my body feels more awake and alive when I've gone for a walk or moved in some way. But I can't force myself to do engage in physical activity just because I know I should. I have to enjoy it.

I'm not here for a workout routine, and I've never been remotely interested in sports, but I can totally get behind casually pedaling away while I watch Netflix or play Nintendo.

It's been so nice to have this option when I don't want to go outside for a walk. It's better than nothing, and it's more than that—it's actually good for me. My little elliptical has eight resistance levels. I cycle through them—one per day—with the intention of pedaling for at least 30 minutes a day. Easy.

By Emily Bauman on Unsplash

Spirit

Meditation is my main priority in 2021. Largely inspired by Esther Hicks who began to channel the nonphysical energy called Abraham after just nine months of meditating daily, I am on a path to meditate every day too.

I set a timer on my phone (with a gentle alarm) for 21 minutes, giving me one minute to settle in and stop fidgeting, and 20 to practice focusing on a sound or my breathing or the purple circle that I seem to see when I close my eyes. I have an ever-growing crystal collection, and I hold one crystal in my left palm while I meditate.

Lots and lots of thoughts come up, and sometimes I feel a little defeated if I spent most of the 20 minutes distracted, but it's a practice. I'm getting better at it every day. At the very least, I'm happy to have 20 minutes of quiet. The goal isn't necessarily to start channeling. The goal right now is to get closer to myself and to develop clarity.

-

This year is all about ease for me. I'm not scheduling any of this, I'm just keeping these goals in mind and tending to them when I feel like it. I'm a big believer of doing whatever I want, whenever I want, as often as I'm able to. And since I'm blessed with little to no obligations outside of my full-time job, these things happen either before or after work, during my lunch break, and any time on my days off, whenever I feel it's best.

I want to experience more relief, relaxation, and flow. These goals align with those feelings. I'm looking forward to watching 2021 unfold, and I can feel that good things are on the way.

wellness
2

About the Creator

Tabitha Kerbabian

Artist at heart. Cat lover.

Passionate about crystals and tarot.

Find me on Instagram @tabstract.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.