Longevity logo

10 Foods to Eat on the Keto Diet

If you can't be bothered to follow recipes, you can just consume these foods to eat on the keto diet.

By Ben KharakhPublished 6 years ago 6 min read
Like

The ketogenic diet, commonly known as "keto," is when you adjust your caloric intake to be roughly 70% fat, 25% protein, and 5% carbohydrates. The result is reduced appetite, a feeling of mental clarity, more energy, and lose weight more effectively.

The internet is full of keto recipes, but my meal plan is eating the same foods over and over again with minimum preparation. Also, it's a part of my brand to eat unusual foods, so I can't disappoint my fans. Here are my go-to foods to eat on the keto diet.

If you've got a sweet tooth have no fear; there's plenty of sugar free chocolates to include among your foods to eat on the keto diet. Russell Stover, Hershey's, and even See's Candies all have sugar free options. They're a good snack, a great way to up your daily fat intake, and if you're feeling real generous, you can indulge without breaking your calorie intakes bank. But be warned: the combination of sugar alcohol and high fiber content might lead to gasterol distress (farts) and loose stools (diarrhea).

My favorite sugar free chocolate is Lily's, which comes in flavors like Salted Almond and Milk, Caramelized and Salted, and Crispy Rice. It's sweetened primarily with stevia so you won't even have to worry about having a calamity in your pants, which is always a great selling point for foods to eat on the keto diet.

Eggs

Eggs are one of the most common foods to eat on the keto diet because they're so versatile. You can fry eggs, make omelets, scramble them, etc. But have you considered carrying around a bunch of peeled hardboiled eggs covered in mayonnaise in a Tupperware container? Because that's a good idea! You can keep a bunch of soft boiled eggs in a Tupperware container too. Then you can just peel them and pop them into your mouth! Sure, there are plenty of other things you can do with eggs, but none of them will turn heads as effectively if eaten in public. And, at the end of the day, that's what keto's really all about: me eating weird foods in public. I want to lose weight too, of course, but, come on, watch me eat these eggs!

Shirataki Noodles are made from tofu and yam flour. They're one of my top foods to eat on the keto diet because they're they're only 20 calories per bag. That's right: you can fill yourself up with 16 oz of pasta for only 40 calories and feel legitimately full! You can even have it with home made tomato sauce, although you know me–I'm eating jarred stuff like Prego or Classico! And I'm adding cheese too. But I'm not over doing it because I don't want to compromise my calorie intake. You can just use seasoning mixes. I like Chef Paul Prudhomme's Salmon Seasoning because it reminds me of ramen seasoning.

Blackberries & Raspberries

Blackberries and raspberries are common foods to eat on the keto diet because they're some of the fruits highest in fiber. Being high in fiber means offsetting the fruits' sugar content, so you can really splurge. Most of that fiber is insoluble, which leads to feeling full. That makes for a low cal snack that's going to hold you over for a while!

Pork rinds are chip adjacent in that, literally, they are often sold right next to chips. Unlike chips, however, they're all fat and some protein. They're one of the few crunchy foods to eat on the keto diet. Just make sure you get the one's that are actually crunchy and not the ones that are more airy. Also, watch out! Pork rinds can be addictive and very high in calories, so a small bag can wipe out your calorie intakes for the day.

Smoked Turkey Tails

Since you'll probably be eating a lot of meat during your keto diet, you might find yourself eating meats you normally wouldn't eat just because. Beef jerky, deli end cuts (this is a great way to get roast beef and prosecute at a fourth of the price), and even smoked meats. So, I'm going to suggest you make smoked turkey tails one of your foods to eat on the keto diet.

Turkey tails are the part of the turkey that connect the turkey's tails to the rest of the turkey's body. The tail is also where the turkey gets the oil it uses to clean and straighten its feathers, which makes the tails very fatty. That makes turkey tails a perfect keto snack. They're salty and fatty but with enough meat to not be a nightmare in your mouth. Just make sure to weigh them on a small kitchen scale so you don't max out your calorie intake for the day.

When you're in ketosis your body burns fat at a higher rate and in doing so uses up electrolytes. If you don't replace electrolytes lost during ketosis, you may have a stomach ache. And you also just need electrolytes. So, what I do is add salt to the water that I drink. I get sea salt in particular because I think it tastes better, but if I'm out and about I'll just grab some packets from a franchise like Burger King or Arby's. So, that's another thing I have in common with fish. What's the first thing? That I eat fish.

Fatty fish are great because they're full of healthy fats. Tuna and salmon are popular foods to eat on the keto diet, but my meal plan leans on sardines (just like Biggie Smalls). They're the lowest in mercury given their low rung on the food chain, are not in danger of being overfished given their abundance, and they come in fun flavors like mango habanero. The one downside is that sardines smell. Once someone even mistook the smell of the sardines I just ate for a gas leak. Since then I tend to eat them away from prying noses.

Of course bacon is one of the top foods to eat on the keto diet– it's a lot of people's top foods to eat period. But I want to make an argument for eating bacon uncooked. It's chewier that way, which means you can appreciate it's flavor longer—as if it were a meat chewing gum. But I am not proposing meat flavored gum! I would not chew that. Gross. And I would definitely not blow meat bubbles if there were meat flavored bubble gum. No thanks! I just want to chew on uncooked bacon as if I were chewing gum. I am not a complicated man!

There are so many different types of protein bars. Plus there's protein cake bites, brownies, cookies, and rice crispy treats. It feels like it's too easy to eat the wrong thing and just get knocked out of ketosis. Or waste two hundred calories eating something that's advertised as delicious but really isn't. And while Lenny and Larry's Complete Cookies are delicious, they're also just straight up cookies.

That's why Power Crunch Bars are on my list of foods to eat on the keto diet. They're wafers that come in delicious flavors like french vanilla, chocolate mint, and peanut butter creme. They're high in fat and have a decent serving of protein so they fit right in among other foods to eat on the keto diet. And they only have five grams of sugar per serving! They're so good that if I'm in the mood for cake then I'll just have a Power Crunch Bar. That's saying a lot because my love of cake is in part how come I have to do the keto diet in the first place. HOW COULD YOU DO THIS TO ME CAKE??? I LOVED YOU!

diet
Like

About the Creator

Ben Kharakh

Manic pixie dream goth. With appearances in Fortune, Vice, Gothamist, and McSweeney's.@benkharakh

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.