Lifehack logo

4 Beneficial Reasons to Play Chess Even If You Don’t Want to Be Competitive

And you never even have to tell anybody

By The Dani WriterPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 5 min read
4
Photo by Cottonbro Studios on Pexels

A chess master I am not.

And I don’t plan to be, since I haven’t committed to the daily practice and study necessary to achieve such lofty goals. I play primarily for reasons not necessarily related to winning, but to improving.

Let me explain.

In this digital age, free apps are abundant, and my app of choice is chess.com.

Yes, I guess this counts as an endorsement (earned that.)

It provides instruction from ‘those who have no idea how to play’ levels to advanced ‘beat the pants off anyone’ rankings. There are fun drills, daily lessons, puzzles, computer bots, and much more that is the total opposite of boring.

I haven’t played actual people in an age (except if you count my teenage son who wipes the floor with me every time.)

I do hit the drills, puzzles, lessons bots, and much more pretty hard on a regular though. Here are my personal reasons as to why:

Photo by Tima Miroshnichenko on Pexels

1. Gain Expert Pause Practice

Current societal living has evolved to demand immediate answers for just about everything. The knock-on effect can be felt in neural synapses firing, prompting us to instantaneous action or response in work, home, and social life. But as sentient beings, we need that pause.

I need that pause.

To assess and contemplate the best course of action or communication with consideration of a myriad of options and variables that are worth all the extra seconds of not making a hasty unsound decision that may be regretted later. If you repeatedly (or even sometimes) fail miserably at this, chess gives you unlimited practice opportunities.

When faced with potential threat (e.g. capture, check, or checkmate) there remains a constant: the knowledge that options from best to least are available and await you to find them. A transferable skill to life? I think so.

2. Aid Elimination of Reactionary Patterns

Tit-for-tat is never the best chess strategy.

A player that captures your piece, whether major or minor, can elicit a typical (often silent) human emotional response:

*I’m gonna get you back*

There are many business and personal roles where when emotion clouds judgment, there are dire consequences.

No one (least of all this Cancerian) is suggesting that you become an emotionless autopilot, just to have control when and where you need it.

Would you want a ‘madder-than-hell’ neurosurgeon performing your emergency craniotomy?

Photo by NCI on Unsplash

Thought not.

Emotional responses feel great when a friend does something unexpectedly hilarious and you bust a gut in giggle territory, but not when your bladder is full, you’re nowhere near a bathroom, and laughter is the last thing you need.

Ticked because a player took your rook in a move you couldn’t see? Control over that visceral response may allow you to view a prospective attack opening since board positions have shifted. This provides opportunities to isolate and neutralize your opponent now that there’s space. A shift in perspective works wonders.

Go ahead. Tell me all the ways that skill won’t help you in life.

3. Memory Improvement

”It feels fantastic to repeatedly forget things,” said no one ever.

Lifestyle choices may see us working out frequently for fitness gains but how often does the brain get regular resistance training?

You may be able to bench press over 200 lbs, but how long can you hold a successive number of multiple-option chess moves in your head without dropping one?

Booyah!

This flexes neurons I didn’t know I could flex. And dagnabbit it feels good (when I get it and don’t drop every thought on the crystalline floor of the eternal consciousness continuum with loudest ever crashes.)

4. Alternative Meditation Technique

One of my favourite benefits!

Thoughts bombard our every waking moment and truth be told, sometimes it’s overwhelming.

Distracting. Annoying.

The constant internal chitter-chatter of thoughts sometimes makes it hard to concentrate. That is brain wave frequency blipping the electroencephalogram, (EEG) and it remains an important life indicator. Brain death is the ‘real deal death’ for a reason. Interventions can restart your heart but not your brain. It’s way more complicated.

It hit me once, when engrossed in a game, how all my thoughts were still flittering about, but more distinct, and not overpowering my mind on a wild-out brain cell bash. I watched them stream by until I caught whiff of one that I wanted (the killer chess move one.) Then came the awareness that this experience felt every bit like meditation in a non-meditative approach way. Routine practice brought me to a state of either ‘these thoughts aren’t as loud,’ or ‘they realized they weren’t gonna get any action by chattering away and toned it down.’

Phenomenal profound moment.

*Gasp* A chess moment.

By krakenimages on Unsplash

So, why not take this step today and learn (or improve) with an ancient game of strategy?

Fall into neurotransmitter bliss about how your mind works and what it does. Whether on the 'down-low' or all outright bold and bodacious, get that miracle between your ears up and busting a sweat. Chess, (as nerdy as it may sound) has the potential to positively impact your brain health and make your mind…feel marvelously magnificent.

By Wim van 't Einde on Unsplash

Thank you so much for reading my story! Your time investment is valued more than I can express. You can view more of my work below.

If you enjoyed this or any of my other stories, feel free to like, subscribe, tip, pledge, and/or share with friends and social media sites. If you wish to promote in other forums, you can secure permission @thedaniwriter

listhealth
4

About the Creator

The Dani Writer

Explores words to create worlds with poetry, nonfiction, and fiction. Writes content that permeates then revises and edits the heck out of it. Interests: Freelance, consultations, networking, rulebook-ripping. UK-based

Medium

FB

Twitter

Insta

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock9 months ago

    Love chess. A couple of things I learned from playing: First, when you manage to checkmate your opponent in two moves, don't tell them that it's called the "Fool's Mate". Second, playing with a timer is a completely different game than without.

  • I love playing chess! I just never knew that it could be meditative! I learnt a lot today from your article!

  • I was a chessworld girl for years. I still have an article in my drafts I was going to title What 1000 games of chess taught me… but I never finished 🙈 I stopped playing once I realised I had learned many great skills, but ultimately, it is a game of war. A game of fear. And I was ready to play for love ❤️✨

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    The game of life!!! Planning and more!!! Love this!!!

  • ARC9 months ago

    Love these points you bring up, Dani. Hadn't thought about chess in this way. Thanks for writing this. Lots of benefit here to those new-to-the-game and for those of us who have been playing for years and are still terrible at it but enjoy it anyway 🙋‍♂️😂

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.