Journal logo

Work.

Why I Have Started To Refer To My Writing As 'Work.'

By Carol TownendPublished 4 months ago 4 min read
4
Work.
Photo by Olena Bohovyk on Unsplash

Christmas was difficult, given that we had a new kitchen fitted beforehand and that it disrupted everything for ten solid days. As a result, we didn't start shopping until late.

We also spent those ten days without access to the kitchen or the cooker, which meant we had to use our alternative appliances and find ways to prepare food.

We managed to move the fridge and freezer into the old study because that room leads into the kitchen, so we set up our steamer and our slow cooker.

It's not easy when my two young grandchildren also live with us, and one is a fussy eater!

I had to learn how to work in an overcrowded space and be more creative with food.

My slow-cooked pasta and casseroles went down a treat, though various other foods got the 'yuk factor' very fast!

If there is one lesson I learned from this, which was a chaotic period;

to be more organized in my work.

Trust me, trying to rack your brain when you're dealing with a child who won't eat anything is enough to age you before your time!

We were very relieved, though a little stressed when the kitchen was finished. Afterwards, we had to get used to finding everything in new cupboards and spaces.

That was the reason why I chose to start referring to my writing as 'work.'

I have never had a paid job due to the severity of mental health problems and other traumatic events in my life, which put many obstacles in the way of achieving my goals.

My past life was always in chaos and turned upside down by a series of traumatic events.

However, after reflecting on that time, which made it difficult to deal with my own family of children amidst the chaos of abuse and trauma I suffered; one thing I have learned is routine needs to be an important part of my life from now on if I am to change my future.

My husband worked as a mental health nurse for over 30 years, and routine was a big priority during his work. Without a routine, the patients would have been neglected, and the many nursing homes and hospitals that he had worked in would have become chaotic.

Routine is important to work if a person is to keep things running smoothly.

As a writer, we are allowed to refer to ourselves as self-employed in the U.K., although we can't officially register with HMRC until we earn a penny over £1000 ($1,263.12).

We also spoke to a compliance officer at Universal Credit, who confirmed this for us.

We still have to report our earnings to Universal Credit every month, and eventually, we will be taxed too!

To me, this is made simple by referring to myself as 'being in work' because it reminds me to do the above tasks, and it makes me want to write more.

I think having the kitchen fitted at a time which was awkward has switched on a lightbulb in my head, and this has brought me to a new way of thinking about my writing because, after all, the extra effort might just bring in an income and get me and my husband out of the dreadful trap of benefits in the U.K.

Here is my plan:

  • To work more regularly on my publication, The Chocolate River.
  • To write more often, on here and everywhere else I write.
  • To try and get my books completed, and become more regular at writing others.
  • Create a regular morning routine for writing and an afternoon routine for reading.
  • Try to promote my work more, and find new ways to promote it.

My work has been random over the years because just when it was all coming together, things went a little south, and I became a carer to my husband, who has disabilities.

A series of events followed that disrupted the process of developing a regular routine.

I soon realized that there were always going to be unexpected emergencies and events in life, some of which may disrupt my work. However, seeing my writing as work will give me that extra push to not let other things get in the way, and will help me to minimize that disruption, with the ability to reach my goal of turning my writing into a full-time career.

Note: The Chocolate River was designed by me to give writers a safe space where they could write non-violent, non-horrific, and non-sexual stories in a safe setting. We accept fictional works, whether friendly adult or even children's stories. If this suits you and you are up for the challenge, then feel free to read the link included in this article, follow the instructions for submission and sign up there.

Thank you for reading!

workflowindustrycareerbusinessadvice
4

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Kageno Hoshino4 months ago

    True

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.