Journal logo

This week's reviews: TWO

Week 2 of Ray's short story (and other) reviews

By Raymond G. TaylorPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
1

Vocal reviews week 2

Quote of the week

“Writing a sentence onto a blank page and letting what comes next do what it must.” - C. Stachow

* * * * *

This is my second roundup of the latest, mostly fictional, stories I have checked out on Vocal. Having just joined this community I am eager to see what other authors have to offer and even good stories are often forgotten (by me at least as my memory is not so good and getting worse) and so I thought I would record some brief reviews, based on comments I have left each author. I hope that some of you at least will do me the honour of reading one of my little stories. That way I can check back on any story at any time, and those of you who are equally astounded by the number of great stories here can use this as a pointer if it helps. There are of course so many stories that I will not be able to read them all. If you see any you would like me to take a look at, please do let me know, perhaps by commenting on this post.

As I said last there are so many stories to choose from that I have simply chosen some mostly recent ones and given my own one-liner views. Please don’t take my word for it, though, visit the authors and check their stories out for yourself. While you are at it, please take a look at some of mine and let me know what you think. I write on a wide range of subjects, themes, and genres. Just for fun, I have included one of my 100-word stories, or drabbles, at the end of this review. Please let me know what you think.

If you would like me to review one of your stories, please leave a comment at the end of this review page.

My other stories are listed here

Happy reading and blessed writing

Ray

*****

For latest reviews (week three) click here

Week One reviews here

* * * * *

Week two reviews

Recall

by ERIC C. JACKSON 08/07/2022 in ADVENTURE

A runaway train... with a difference. This captivating drama runs at break-neck speed, as a train with a brain hurtles to.... er from .... er who knows? Maybe the Pentagon.

https://vocal.media/fiction/recall-hw1qni03ek

*****

A House of Fallen Leaves

by E.J. ROBISON 09/06/2022 in YOUNG ADULT / SHORT STORY / FAMILY

It’s fall (autumn to those of us in the UK), so no surprise what the leaves are doing. Charming tale of two sisters’ reminiscences and the reverie brought by a hot cup of coffee. Worth a read.

https://vocal.media/fiction/a-house-of-fallen-leaves

*****

Grandfather accompanying the students

by AYNAZ SABOORI 09/07/2022 in SHORT STORY

Charming tale of the relationship formed between a poor student and the elderly man he goes to live with. Their common interest is reading and studying, which they do together at the same table, under the same electric lamp.

https://vocal.media/fiction/grandfather-accompanying-the-students

*****

Success Is Hidden In The Lucky Stone

by RICHTER HAYS 09/07/2022 in SHORT STORY

Intriguing story about a six-year-old kid who, out of concern for his single mother, starts to sell stones and ends up making a fortune.

https://vocal.media/fiction/success-is-hidden-in-the-lucky-stone

*****

Here’s another of drabbles – a story in exactly 100 words

Bonfire

What a joyous day for a community celebration. The whole village had turned out and everyone had entered into the spirit of the occasion. Some brought food, some brought home-made wine or beer. Some were dancing, some were standing around catching up with their neighbors.

“Great day for a bonfire,” said the priest, rubbing his hands and looking up at the pile of wood and kindling. “I had best go and join the procession.”

The mood was infectious. Everyone was in high spirits.

Someone struck up a chant, and we all joined in.

“Burn the witch! Burn the witch! Burn…”

*****

If you liked this story, you might my book:

Short and Sweet available on Amazon

Please visit my other stories on vocal:

https://vocal.media/authors/raymond-g-taylor

© Raymond G. Taylor, 2022, all rights reserved. The author has asserted his right to be identified as the author of this work.

Please visit the author on Facebook: Raymond.G.Taylor.author

book review
1

About the Creator

Raymond G. Taylor

Author based in Kent, England. A writer of fictional short stories in a wide range of genres, he has been a non-fiction writer since the 1980s. Non-fiction subjects include art, history, technology, business, law, and the human condition.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.