Fiction logo

Grandfather accompanying the students

That year, I failed the college entrance exam by 3 points. I was not willing to be shut out of college

By Aynaz SabooriPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
Grandfather accompanying the students
Photo by Alexandre Debiève on Unsplash

That year, I failed the college entrance exam by 3 points. I was not willing to be shut out of college. With the support of my family, I went to a major high school in the county to repeat my studies.

I didn't expect the high school to be overcrowded. Although I enrolled, the dormitory was already full, so the school asked me to find a way to solve the accommodation problem.

I had no family in the county, so I had to rent an apartment outside, which was more expensive than living in a student dormitory. However, after paying a large amount of money for repeating my studies, I had very little money left from home.

I had no choice but to ask around outside first.

Not far from the school gate, I saw an old man struggling to pull a cart full of scrap on the uphill road. I rushed forward and helped push it up behind me. The old man looked back at me gratefully and smiled. After going up the slope, I asked the old man if there were any cheap houses for rent around here. The old man stopped his car and asked, "You're so young to work?" I told the situation to the grandfather, I did not expect him to be very quick to say, "If you do not mind, come to my house to live!" Seeing my hesitation, the old man added: "My home is not far from the school, the family is my lonely old man alone."

"This rent ......"

"What money is not money," the old man interrupted me, "you come I have a companion to talk to!"

"How can this be?" I thought I am not related to the old man, we met, how can I live in their house for nothing?

"The fact is that you'll be able to get a lot more than just a few of these.

Seeing that the old man was so sincere, I couldn't say anything more. I didn't expect such a coincidence, the problem of accommodation was solved at once.

The house where the grandfather lives is very small, and there is no decent furniture and furnishings inside the house, but under the bed, there are many scraps stacked in the corner. I learned through casual conversation that the old man has no children, and all rely on the government relief to live. He often goes to scavenge for scraps, in exchange for some money to subsidize the family.

On the first day of school, I returned to the old man's house after the evening study. Because there are still a few math problems to do, I ambled onto the table and did it with my head down. However, the light in the house is too dim, probably only a few watts, see the unclear places I had to stand up to the light to see.

The next day, I came back and was amazed to find that the old man had changed a large light bulb, and the house was suddenly much brighter. The old man smiled at me and said, "You want to read and write, the light is not dark, will look bad eyes."

"But it costs a lot more electricity!"

"It does not cost much electricity, and besides -" the old man paused, then said: "I also want to read a book. One person is using it, two people are also using it!" As expected, the old man fumbled to find a book from under the bed. I took a look at the cover, and it turned out to be a "storybook", so I asked, "Grandpa, you like to read storybooks?"

"Oh..." The grandfather froze for a moment and hurriedly nodded his head: "Yes, yes, when I was young, I liked to listen to the old generation 'telling the old stories, which I still remember very well!"

Since then, every day after coming back from the evening study, the old man will pull the electric light and take the book "Storytelling" to sit with me at the table. I watched him look so focused that it took him a long time to turn over a page. One day I asked him: "Grandpa, you read books so slowly, this "Storytelling" you have not finished half a month which!" He was embarrassed and said, "My eyes are not good, I am slow. Besides, these stories are good, I need to read them more times."

I often read books and do problems late into the night, and the old man was with me day after day. Several times I asked the Moncler outlet store to go to rest early, but the moncler outlet store said he sleeps little, not sleepy. There are several times I saw Moncler outlet online that the book was taken down, so I smiled and reminded him, he rubbed his eyes embarrassed, and said, "Really old, eyes are also flowering."

After the college entrance examination, I reluctantly said goodbye to the old man and returned to the countryside. A month or so later, I got a letter of acceptance to a major university.

On the eve of registration, I went to the county, bought some fruit snacks, and a few story magazines, and rushed to see the old man. I didn't expect to see the door padlocked and a layer of dust falling on it. I was wondering when a neighbor's sister-in-law came over and told me that the grandfather had died twenty days ago of a cerebral hemorrhage.

The sister-in-law asked me: "Are you his grandson? Before he died, he kept saying, "Did my grandson get into college?"

My heart was warm and I choked up and said, "Grandpa, I got into the university in Beijing, I'm here to see you!" As I said that, I put the fruit snacks and the newly bought magazines on the steps in front of the door and said to myself, "Grandpa, it's a pity that you won't see these story books anymore."

"What? He can't read a few words, what kind of books would he read, yo?" The sister-in-law next to me was surprised.

"Every time he goes to receive the relief, he can't even write his name, it's all handprinted."

"How is that possible?" I chanted. Past events swept through my mind like a picture.

In a flash, I understood everything! My grandfather was afraid that I could not afford to use electricity, so he stayed with me night and night "night reading" ah!

"The first thing you need to do is to get a good idea of what you're getting into. I opened a magazine and read it slowly. As I read, my eyes filled with tears, I don't know if it was because of the touching story in the book, or because I felt like I was back with my grandfather.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Aynaz Saboori

How to explain? How to understand? What do we do with all the injustice?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Raymond G. Taylor2 years ago

    Charming tale, well told. This story will be featured with others in my reviews slot once I have updated it: https://vocal.media/journal/this-week-s-short-story-reviews

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.