Journal logo

This week's reviews THREE

Week 3 of Ray's short story and other reviews

By Raymond G. TaylorPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

TOP SLOT

A Good Ol' Classic

by SAMANTHA JAMISON September 21, 2022 in SHORT STORY

This has to be the best story I have read so far on Vocal. An appetising tale of a rainy day in Seattle WA and a glorious celebration of the delights to be found from a home-made tomato soup served with grilled cheese sandwich. So well written I could read it again. Or am I just thinking of the mouth-watering description of what will likely form my next supper?

https://vocal.media/fiction/a-good-ol-classic

*****

Vocal reviews week 3

Week three of my roundup of some of the great stories to be found on the Vocal platform. These brief reviews are based on comments I have left each author. I hope that some of you at least will do me the honor of reading one of my little stories. There are of course so many stories that I will not be able to read them all. If you see any you would like me to take a look at, please do let me know, perhaps by commenting on this post.

As I said there are so many stories to choose from that I have simply chosen some mostly recent ones and given my own one-liner views. Please don’t take my word for it, though, visit the authors and check their stories out for yourself. While you are at it, please take a look at some of mine and let me know what you think. I write on a wide range of subjects, themes, and genres. Just for fun, I have included one of my 100-word stories, or drabbles, at the end of this review. Please let me know what you think.

If you would like me to review one of your stories, please leave a comment at the end of this review page.

Happy reading and, for those who like me are also authors, keep up the good work.

Ray

*****

This week’s reviews

Gorroson

by ELIZABETH BARRETT Sept 19 2022 in SERIES / FANTASY / ADVENTURE

Befitting this week to start the reviews with a story written by an Elizabeth. If you are into dragons, this is a story for you. Chapter One of a series featuring a dragon trainer, a choice of fearsome serpents and a promise of great adventure to come.

https://vocal.media/fiction/gorroson-hvxjp0298

*****

In Defense of Spiders

by KATIE WILSON from October 2021 in NATURE

Continuing with a non-fiction story this week and one from a while back because, like the author, I also like spiders and think they are much maligned and mistreated. In this story, the author speaks of how the fearsome eight-legged critters were redeemed in her mind by watching the Movie Charlotte’s Web. Great story and great advocacy for nature’s least liked creepy crawlies.

https://vocal.media/earth/in-defense-of-spiders

*****

Jack and the Peas

by IVERSON on September 19 2022 in SHORT STORY

Read this whole story expecting a twist at the end but was disappointed. No matter it was a nice retelling of the standard Jack and the Beanstalk story.

https://vocal.media/fiction/jack-and-the-peas

*****

The origin story of Rome

by FLENDER September 17 2022 in SHORT STORY

Nice account of the story of the origin of Rome.

https://vocal.media/fiction/the-origin-story-of-rome

*****

Here’s one of my little stories for those who are interested.

NEW ENGLAND

Nerves raw, I ignored the old saying, you can’t go home again that rattled in my head and drove into town. It hadn’t changed a bit in the past 15 years. Same old avenue, looking bright and cheery, same flag drooping in the breezeless mid-afternoon sunshine, same air of respectability.

I had come to see the Mayor, James Pierce. Mayor Pierce was just about the best thing that ever happened to our New England town. Tough on crime, tough on corruption, he supported civic works and business initiatives in equal measure. Always happy to open a charity event and first to sign up to a worthy fundraiser.

Helped me out too, one time. I had gotten into a little trouble with the police, nothing major.

Pierce had me and the Chief of Police, both standing in his office.

“Now, Joseph here is not a bad person, Chief,” he said. “What say you we give him some cleanup work to do here and count that as his punishment?” After further persuasion, the Chief agreed the charges against me would be dropped.

I never put a foot wrong since, and this was why I wanted to see the Mayor now.

As I walked past the desk clerk, flashing my ID, she asked me my business.

“Special Agent Harper,” was all the business I gave her.

Opening the door to his office, without invitation, I stepped in.

“James Pierce, I’m arresting you on charges of public corruption and misappropriation of federal funds …” I stopped in my tracks.

He took the Remington out from his desk drawer and bit down on the barrel.

It wasn’t the deafening report of the pistol that made me jump, so much as the sudden appearance of a big red cloud on the wall behind his desk.

*****

If you liked this story, you might like to read one of my books, here:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B09HQ3QC1P/

Please visit my other stories on vocal:

https://vocal.media/authors/raymond-g-taylor

© Raymond G. Taylor, 2020-2022, all rights reserved. The author has asserted his right to be identified as the author of this work.

Please visit the author on Facebook: Raymond.G.Taylor.author

book review
Like

About the Creator

Raymond G. Taylor

Author based in Kent, England. A writer of fictional short stories in a wide range of genres, he has been a non-fiction writer since the 1980s. Non-fiction subjects include art, history, technology, business, law, and the human condition.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Kylara2 years ago

    I really like the idea of the story reviews! And good job with your own story👌

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.