Journal logo

Ten Questions with Rick Henry Christopher

The Re-Emergence of my YouTube Talk Show

By Rick Henry Christopher Published 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 6 min read
Top Story - April 2023
34

Back in March 2020 life was very different for me. With the pandemic surging and my body in the throes of a growing prostate cancer I didn't think things could get any worse.

The world went into lockdown due to the uncertainty of the burgeoning virus that lurked around every corner we turn. I conferenced with the management team on my job and it was agreed that due to the cancer and asthma that I would take a nine week paid leave of absence effective immediately. That was March 17th. I would be coming back to work on May 19th and we all believed we'd be on the downside of COVID.

During this leave of absence I had a desire to create a new YouTube show. Years earlier I had an experimental comedy show called "Mr. Hank's World," in which I portrayed this borderline psychotic indivdual named Mr. Hank. The show did okay for a little no-budget production. I ended up with about 1,500 followers.

I really didn't know what type of show I wanted to produce. I mulled over a few ideas. Maybe an informational show or a show where I review various products. Then it came to my mind that I have a lot of well-respected friends and acquaintances in the music industry. Some of them have been very successful. I can do interviews with them.

I started out with my longtime friend Mike Boul and hís band White Pee which has a following in San Francisco and the Bay Area.

From there I produced episode after episode.

I went back to work for about five weeks but then went back on a seven week leave of absence in order to have the radiation treatments for cancer.

Being on yet another leave of absence I was able to direct a good amount of time to my interviews.

As we inched toward the end of the year I had some great interviews scheduled - Vinnie Zummo (guitarist with Joe Jackson), disco diva Claudja Barry and others.

But then the unthinkable happened… things did get worse. In November 2020 my mom began experiencing major hallucinations. This was scary for my brother and I. We had no clue how to deal with this. The hallucinations got worse and worse. I made the announcement that I would be putting Rick Henry's Talk Show on hold indefinitely. I had eight interviews lined up taking the show into January 2021 but none of them would happen. Everybody was understanding.

You recall that at the beginning of this story I commented, "With the pandemic surging and my body in the throes of a growing prostate cancer I didn't think things could get any worse." Well, I was wrong. Please read what follows:

It's now the middle of January 2021. My mom is now two months into being in an advanced stage of dementia. She is also diagnosed with Major Depressive Disorder, OCD, and is completely blind. My mom has now gone from needing light supervision to needing round the clock assistance with everything from feeding to toileting to bathing and so forth. She is now declared a hazard to herself.

All of a sudden caring for our mom has gone from an easy task to a very complicated, confusing, and physically challenging task. But my

But then things took a turn for the worst. My brother got sick and he did not make it. He passed away on January 31, 2021. All of a sudden my life was turned upside down. And it did get much much worse than it had been earlier this year.

I was faced with a very tough decision. Sell the house and put Mom in a home or quit my job and take care of Mom full time. Either way I go it would be a major upheaval in my life.

Ultimately, I couldn't put my mom in a home. I know how shoddy the care can be in those places. I decided to quit my job - the job I loved and in which I excelled. I was heartbroken but my mom means more to me than my career or even a paycheck.

I kept thinking about Rick Henry's Talk Show and how much I missed doing it. But there was no way I could resume it now that my partner in caring for my mom was gone.

In the meantime I took up writing with Vocal Media. This has been a great outlet for me. In two years I have written more than 130 stories and poems. Many of them are music lists. Everybody knows how much I love my music.

But now Vocal Media is beginning to wear on me. It's becoming way too competitive. More and more people are drifting away from writing for the art of writing and instead they are writing for that next top story or to win that challenge. Everybody is trying to come up with that perfect formula of what will get them a win. But, if I'm honest I like getting those wins every so often.

Therefore I took a break from Vocal Media in order to refresh my attitude towards it. I am back because I am invested in Vocal Media because I love the platform and I have created the Facebook group Vocal + Assist which is an active and popular group.

In the meantime my mom has recently received a whole lot of hours from In-Home Supportive Services. This means we are now going to have a full-time caregiver for my mom throughout the week. This is going to give me time to resume my first love, my talk show. I know that I'm not that good of an actor, and I'm certainly not a great talk show host, and I know that my singing voice stinks but I love doing all three. I love being in front of the camera as well as behind the camera.

For the 2023 season I am going to have some great guests including the French model and disco diva Madleen Kane. She had five songs make it into the top 10 of Billboard's dance music charts - actually mine if you include the four B-sides that chart it along with the A-sides. Bruce Sudano will also be a guest. He is a founding member of the popular trio Brooklyn dreams. They are best remembered for performing on Donna Summer's mega 1978 hit "Heaven Knows." Bruce was also Donna's husband from 1980 until she sadly died in 2012.

My first guess for my comeback show is Vinny Zummo. He was the guitarist for Joe Jackson on many of his classic albums such as Night and Day and Body and Soul. His episode will appear on YouTube on Tuesday May 2nd

I am looking forward to doing my talk show again and I hope that those of you here will tune in and enjoy what I love doing the most.

Here is a list of my five most popular episodes:

5. Rick Henry Talks with Robert Grant (aka O'Mega Red)

4. Rick Henry Talks with Mike Patton

3. Rick Henry Talks with Jimmy Michaels

2. Rick Henry Talks with Russell Javors (Billy Joel's Band)

1. Rick Henry Talks with Terry Draper (From the Canadian band Klaatu)

Enjoy my friends! I will be seeing you here on Vocal and also on Facebook and YouTube!

satiresocial mediapop culturehumorfeatureart
34

About the Creator

Rick Henry Christopher

Writing is a distraction to fulfill my need for intellectual stimulus, emotional release, and soothing the bruises of the day.

The shattered pieces of life will not discourage me.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (25)

Sign in to comment
  • Stephanie J. Bradberry12 months ago

    I'm glad you are able to get back to your talk show.

  • This was so great Rick. I watched an episode of your show once before but I’m going to check out more! You’re a hero for the journey you’ve taken in the last few years

  • I'm just so happy you're back to doing what you love! Sending love to you and your mom!

  • JBaz12 months ago

    Top story… Rick, you write with a personal emotion that most of us wish we could. Honest and passionate . You deserve this buddy.

  • I'm so sorry for your losses, grateful for the support of those for & with whom you worked as well as the full-time caregiver now for your mother. And I'm so happy that you will be able to resume your talk show. Blessings to you, my friend.

  • Heather Lunsford12 months ago

    Thank you for sharing some of your story. I'm sorry for all you have been through. I'm happy you have found things that help you cope. Keep at it.

  • aly suhail12 months ago

    congrats for top story sir.

  • C. H. Richard12 months ago

    I'm so sorry for the loss of your brother and all you have been through in the last two years. So glad you are getting some help now with caring for mom. Looking forward to checking out some of your shows episodes ❤️

  • Dana Stewart12 months ago

    Thank you for sharing your story, Rick. I’m glad that your mom has the In Home support service to help, 24/7 caregiver is so hard. Your YouTube channel looks really cool, I can’t wait to check it out.

  • Dana Crandell12 months ago

    Very sorry to hear of your troubles. I can empathize concerning your mother. I enjoyed the videos and will look forward to your show.

  • Melissa Ingoldsby12 months ago

    I’m so sorry 😢 about your mother, I’ve seen how dedicated and kind of a son you’ve been for her. I understand your feelings about the art of writing being more important than winning a contest, I agree with you on this. It’s important to step back and not lose hindsight on why we all wanted to write in the first place. Great article and excellent points. You are very multi talented and I can see you doing media in many forms

  • Gina C.12 months ago

    Rick, I had no idea that in addition to your mom's illness and the passing of you brother, you were also undergoing your own struggle with health. :( My heart goes out to you. 🥺❤️ Covid was a scary time for all, but to have all these things happen on top of it...I can't even imagine what that must have been like. I am glad you were able to use Vocal as an outlet, but you are right - social media does have its own menacing way of weighing on us after a while. I am glad you gave yourself a bit of a break, and of course - we're glad to have you back! Your Youtube episodes look fun! I took a little peak and will come back to check them out more. :)❤️

  • Kristen Balyeat12 months ago

    Rick, I'm so sorry to hear about your struggles. I'm absolutely amazed at your resilience and strength! What you did and are doing for you mother is an incredible act of love and selflessness. I'm so happy to hear that you have some help and will now have a little time to do something that brings you so much joy- and the opportunity to fill your own cup! Looking forward to watching your videos!! Great things ahead!

  • Donna Renee12 months ago

    Congrats on your top story, Rick! I hope everything goes well with your show!

  • Loryne Andawey12 months ago

    We all need time to step back and reflect every now and then, especially as our lives and perspectives shift. You are a survivor Rick and it shows in your passion that hasn't died. I can't wait to watch some episodes :)

  • Mariann Carroll12 months ago

    Thank you , Rick for sharing. I am glad you are pursuing your life dream now. You have a very clear handsome voice for your , You Tube Channel 🥰

  • Shane Dobbie12 months ago

    Looking forward to it

  • Emily Binkley12 months ago

    That is so awesome. I am so inspired by your will to do what you love. Such a very talented person.

  • Babs Iverson12 months ago

    Fabulous!!!

  • Awesome ❤️😉💯

  • Tiffany Gordon 12 months ago

    Looking sharp Cousin! Boy are you a man of many talents. I beg to differ about your lack of talents! I'm so excited for you! I can't wait to see what you do next! Very Impressive guests as well btw! BRAVO!

  • J. S. Wade12 months ago

    Exciting story! Exciting times Rick. I look forward to May 2nd. 😎🥰

  • Tom Baker12 months ago

    Yup. I thought that was the band did this song. GREAT SONG MAN. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eYjBTiB9fN0

  • Tom Baker12 months ago

    That interview with Mike Patton (at first I thought you meant the guy from Faith No More), was really interesting. I think that band Middle Class did a great song called "Out of Vogue," which I always dug,. But maybe it was the Adolescents. I've heard all those bands on various comps at one time or another. I've listened to punk rock most of my life (although I like everything). Anyway man, great interview. Dig it. Love and napalm, Tom B.

  • Tom Baker12 months ago

    Sorry to hear about your personal troubles, mate. The strange thing is, is that when I first discovered you, I slightly thought you might be a "Rick Henry" I knew back in college, a guy I use to hang with from punk rock bands. Now, of course, that isn't correct. But still a little strange. Anyway, best to you. Nice article.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.