Journal logo

No Wine, No Light, No Happiness - vember

Just NO

By KJ AartilaPublished 6 months ago 3 min read
10

No Wine, No Light, No Happiness - vember

Well, my fellow Vocalites, I’m still here. As a Vocal Plus member. Why? Because apparently Vocal likes me so much, they just won’t let me go! No, really – I went into my settings and thought I canceled the auto-renew. It seems by some twist of fate, the platform didn’t accept my cancellation as of October 30 and have renewed me for another year! That’s until October 30, 2024. I checked. It works now. When I contacted them yesterday, the bot Remy responded that they don’t do refunds. That wasn’t what I asked.

Maybe this applies:

So, okay. Surprise! Maybe it’s a sign (or a bad omen.)

The first scary movie I saw was “The Omen.” I was around ten. I was hooked on horror but traumatized.

Since I am so not into fighting with customer service robots, anymore, I decided to just go with it – well, until they maybe do decide to take away my “privileges,” so as long as I’m here, I figure I may as well make it worth my while.

It appears I have about a snowball’s chance in Hell of placing in a challenge, and not likely to hit any more Top Stories, that means I must post a lot. Like a lot, a lot! And I’m not into intentionally posting “junk” just to get reads. My Journal category entries especially suck, though. I have many of those. I guess I also need to find some groups for my stuff. So far, I have not had great luck with that option, finding limited appropriate opportunities that fit my writing and getting banned and stuff, but a quitter I am not! Stupidly stubborn, I may be.

The funny thing, to me anyway, is I have 325 subscribers which leads to approximately 10-15 reads per post. Unless I hit a Top Story, then it’s like 50-100. That means I can count on receiving reads from less than 5% of my subscribers. That’s a very sad numbers game, my friends, and that percentage has remained about the same over the last year, regardless of a period of massive growth in my subscribership. A math whiz I am not – numbers can be very misleading, so, who cares? Oh, right – banks and investors.

So, for better or for worse, I’m still here.

But I’ve decided to take on the attitude of my cats regarding reciprocity – No Mercy! As in, “If you let me live in your house and feed me good stuff every two minutes, I won’t claw your eyes out. Maybe. But maybe I will and then bawl at you cuz you’re not feeding me.”

I wrote this one a while ago. No one cares. Neither do I. If you read my stuff – great! If not – great! Feed Me.

Every man, or cat, or writer for themselves.

Meow.

And just for funsies, here’s another “oldie, but goodie”:

Warning: Careful what you wish for.

Okay, maybe AI, maybe Link Bombing might work? Nah, I won’t go there – I promise.

Thank you for investing your time in reading my snarkiness (*stay tuned for more!) – carried on after looking at my reflection and snidely wondering if I should present myself with my beginning turkey-neck or double-chin? Oh, the choices that abound with age. I’m showing my “attitude of gratitude.” I dare you to share yours. Oh, is that a challenge? So be it! Blame No-vember, and the cats …

If you have a moment, read my stuff – if you don’t, don’t – I won’t read yours, either.

Remember: “Just Say No!”

Vocalsatirehumanity
10

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Suze Kay4 months ago

    Lol so glad you posted this. I would have torn my hair out over that! Well, another year - hopefully in which you see growth and some peace on this platform. Or not. Meow!

  • Heather Hubler6 months ago

    Yeah, I hear you about fighting with customer service anymore...almost not worth the hassle, buuuttt so happy that means you're here a little longer. I'm in the same boat sort of. Happy to read your snark! It always makes me laugh and fires me up :)

  • I’d hate to see you go. I get the frustration over the challenges. I’ve kind of taken the cat approach myself with those. Selfishly I’m glad you’re here for another year I enjoy your work

  • Test6 months ago

    I guess I better check our cancelled renewal. Not until March, and we got an email confirmation... but that's a sneaky way to keep members. Shame on Vocal. Enoyed the snarkiness 💙Anneliese

  • Yayyyy I'm so glad you're back! Although it's against your will, lol! And I had no idea Remy was a bot. Thought he was human. Lol

  • Personally, I would continue messaging Remy explaining that I did cancel but for some reason they didn't accept it. That & remind them of what legal letterhead looks like. But if you prefer, snarkiness it is. And I assure you I will enjoy every bit of it, lol. (And yes, I do still hope to get to your other writings.)

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Well done!!! KJ, you got that right about reciprocity!!!

  • Nice to see you back Keila... And in such wonderful snarky form!!!

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    Thanks for sharing this with us. I tend to agree with you about the reciprocity.

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    “If you let me live in your house and feed me good stuff every two minutes, I won’t claw your eyes out. Maybe. But maybe I will and then bawl at you cuz you’re not feeding me.” Bahahaha. The accuracy is astounding. Welcome back, even if it is somewhat reluctantly.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.