Journal logo

Making Your Presence Felt On Vocal

This is How I Have Improved On Vocal , May Contain Ideas

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
Family Spirit

When I started on Vocal i wasn’t sure what I was letting myself in for. Big prize money , paid reads, oh wow. My own Seven Days In Blog gets 3000-500 visits a day at the moment and since I started over 600,000 , but as a comparison a tweet about Christiano Ronaldo joining Manchester United got retweeted 750,00 just today while my total took fifteen years.

I had decided to scale down my posting on my blog but joining Vocal increased my writing and my blog now gets maybe one post a week, so it ticks over.

I have written several posts about writing on Vocal but one thing is you want people to read your stuff.

You sort of need to forget about using it as a money making option , and more of a platform to improve your writing and tempt people to come and read and therefore start to actually make a small residual income.

One guy said his writing was all about SEO (Search Engine Optimisation) and if he didn’t get his thousand reads a day he would quit the platform. I have just passed a thousand reads after five months. Other members have hit that in two months.

One of the problems we all have is that most of our friends are not avid readers and writers and they do make a great audience.

I cannot talk about SEO or tricking people to read your stories, but it is good to cultivate a sympathetic audience who will advise you , offer good constructive criticism and actually read and comment on your work.

When I first posted I put links on my Facebook page , shared posts in my home feed and also on my blog and twitter., my reads were not that good, one or two for most posts, Your everyday friends don’t make a good audience.

Then I did a search on Facebook and found a few groups that I joined and got chatting to some members. The groups were sharing posts , commenting , and offering constructive criticism. I won’t mention any names but will list the groups I am a member of at the bottom of this post.

Then when I realised I could share my stories in the threads and sometimes directly the reads started to creep up , and you got comments , all supportive , sometimes pointing out your errors .

I have posted over a hundred stories , so that is about five a week , and I find that I can produce a poem or a piece like this in a similar time. This has no real limitations but most of my poetry now uses defined standard formats.

Next up was messaging and becoming Facebook friends with group members , offering to help out where I could , and chatting about what is good and bad , how we write and what we like. This brings you together and suddenly you are part of a family almost , a very good supportive family.

Then the reads started to go up again.

Being a member of vocal plus significantly increases your earnings and below are my month on month earnings just from reads, because of quick edit I can keep this running so you can see how it improves (and will probably dip) :

  • April $0.05
  • May $0.52
  • June $1.12
  • July $1.12
  • August $6.10

So although June and July were similar , this month has taken a big jump., and that is writing , posting and sharing in all groups . Vocal Social Society is strict on how you post resulting in a cleaner feel and easy to search group , but all the groups are must join and find out which or all work for you.

So write a post , share on Twitter and Instagram , and share with Vocal Friends and you will soon feel successful..

If you write well enough members will share your stories, which will make you feel even more successful.

So a song that is perfect for this is “Family” by Spirit from “Son of Spirit”.

Below are the Groups I belong to and belong to me

👩‍❤️‍👩👨‍❤️‍👨👩‍❤️‍👨💑💑👩‍❤️‍💋‍👩👨‍❤️‍💋‍👨👩‍❤️‍💋‍👨💏👩‍❤️‍👩👨‍❤️‍👨👩‍❤️‍👨💑💑👩‍❤️‍💋‍👩👨‍❤️‍💋‍👨👩‍❤️‍💋‍👨👩‍❤️‍👨💑💑👩‍❤️‍💋‍👩👨‍❤️‍💋‍👨👩‍❤️‍💋‍👨💏

The Vocal Creators Support Group

Vocal Media Creators Hub

Vocal Social Society

Some People Worth Knowing

advice

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudeyAnna

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Carol

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Mike Singleton - MikeydredWritten by Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.