Journal logo

Low Earnings? New Membership? Here's How I Surpassed the Required Withdrawal Limit on Vocal+ in Two Weeks!

How to Pop your Writer's Bubble and Earn More on Vocal

By Jilana BookerPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Top Story - March 2021
236
Low Earnings? New Membership?  Here's How I Surpassed the Required Withdrawal Limit on Vocal+ in Two Weeks!
Photo by Micheile Henderson on Unsplash

Wow! Welcome everyone! Jeremy Frommer’s article Celebrating 20,000 Vocal+ Member Milestone comments on the influx of Vocal+ members that this platform has seen in the last few months! I must admit that I am one of you; recently joining and submitting my first story on February 15th, 2021. I am super excited that Vocal found me, and gave the writer in me a jumpstart!

However, just like any other creator, at some point tragedy lines the path of excitement . You won't believe me when I say that just a few days ago I wrote an amazing story for a Vocal+ Challenge but missed the submission! All because I never knew I could lose hours of editing if I didn't hit the save button often when typing my work directly on the Vocal Story page! Well it did happen, and I had 20 minutes to redo two hours of editing and imagery, which was of course impossible!

My reaction?

It's these little things that "newvies" my corny term for new vocal babies would love to know! Therefore I am dedicating some time to sharing how I hit the required withdrawal limit in two weeks for any "newvies" or low earners that are interested, specifically $20 for Vocal+ and $35 for Vocal free! Oh and not to leave you in suspense of my plight above, I did figure out the answer to my own folly...hit that save button often, or do your editing in a google document before adding it to Vocal!

Understand that the following tips are a personal account of my own success, and as any writer knows, no venture is successful without effort! Let’s get to the topic at hand!

How can you get that Withdraw button on your account to light up?

Tip #1: Diversify Your Writing

Even if you’re a veteran writer, I caution that you resist being pulled into a niche as soon as you join Vocal! I can almost certainly guarantee that you will find yourself trying to recover from writer’s block quickly if you take that route! Also, your niche may not always be what readers are interested in at the moment. There are a variety of communities that you can write for, and a variety of challenges that can motivate you; challenges that are more numerous if you’re a Vocal+ Member! Use these tools as motivation, and to challenge yourself when needed! Remember practice makes perfect, so do your research, write for your audience, and don't be afraid to get into a new niche! My heart is in creative writing, but here I am doing an opinion piece and enjoying every moment of it!

Tip # 2: Be a Reader

This is not a get rich quick platform, so like any other good thing in life it requires effort and consistency on your part. I agree, someone will be twenty thousand dollars richer this month because of the Little Black Book Challenge, and another lucky fellow writer will be ten thousand dollars richer if they bring home the first prize for the If This, Then That Challenge! What are your thoughts on who should win the former challenge?

No thoughts?!

Well that suggests that applauding and celebrating the diverse, talented writers in our community is not currently one of your priorities. Believe me when I say that you need to change that immediately! For that my friend is the fastest way to get minimal reads! My advice is that you balance the time you dedicate to writing with some reading. You need to show other creators some love as often as you can! Read their work, and give a heart or a tip to the writers who give you the feels whenever possible! And by that I mean, MAKE IT POSSIBLE! Do this and you may be surprised by a bonus! It may not come right away but keep at it and one day the vocal team will spread the love you’re sharing all the way to your wallet! Just like they did for me!

My First Vocal Bonus

Tip #3: Network for your Net worth

Without a network, you are like the tree that fell in the Amazon when no one was around. It may or may not make a sound, but we will never know because we were not there. Therefore, as a writer you should always strive to find like-minded individuals to collaborate with. Join the many facebook groups available to writers but also the ones specific to the platform(s) that you write for. Here are some Vocal Writers' top choices for facebook groups: Vocal Creators Saloon, Vocal Creators Hub, and The Vocal Creators Lounge.

Don’t believe me?

Check out Laquesha Bailey’s recent post in my favorite facebook groups for vocal writers: Vocal Creators Saloon. A group moderated by my Virgo Sister Teisha LeShea! As some would say the proof is in the pudding, or in this case, the reads are in the social media feeds.

Click here for the link to that story: The Avatar Has Returned - 7 Must-Have Elements of the Expansion of the Avatarverse

So there you have it! Success from networking can happen when you least expect it, so once you begin, commit to consistency. Post on your various social media pages for your family and friends’ support, but also be active in interest groups. Give and ask for feedback so that you can continue to develop as a writer and simultaneously pull in those reads.

Now did anyone notice what I did there?

In order to write this article I collaborated with fellow creators, gave some shoutouts and highlighted work that gave me the feels! Shouting out your fellow writers, and highlighting work that you connected with, is another way to spread love, and boost engagement for others! Don’t be a “krabby patty”,and please don't despair if you are still trying to attract an audience! This is a generous community. If you begin to do your part, it grows and becomes better for all of the people in it! If you've never read another article on vocal check out the links to those special mentions above and let the reading, collaborating, and tipping begin!

Tip #4: Snag a Bonus or Three

The good news is that your wallet does not increase by reads alone! As I mentioned before you can get a bonus for reading and liking other creators' work! And don't try to take a shortcut and like articles without reading, the vocal algorithm will know! My consistent highlight for you is making an effort: read for fun, write for fun and collaborate. As you grow, learn and practice you'll eventually be ready to make an extra effort to get your work chosen as a top story, or simple as an awesome, informative read like my recent article Overcoming Writer's Block and Other Benefits of Becoming a Vocal+ Member in 2021.

One Article, Two bonuses!

Imagine getting two bonuses for the same article? As an amateur writer I daresay, just getting paid, no matter how little, for work you are brave enough to share with the world is the real writer's bonus: motivation and encouragement. So read, write and enjoy the encouragement along the way!

I recently saw in one of the above mentioned Vocal facebook groups, that there is a $50 bonus for posting your 50th article, and in my opinion that is definitely something that we can all look forward to!

Here comes the bad news! Since I am a woman who enjoys a good surprise, I will not list every single bonus opportunity now. However, I will leave you with an article from Justin Maury for you to start your own research, and good wishes that eventually you will be enjoying surprise bonuses of your own!

My Earnings for my First Two Weeks on Vocal+

I am happy to share that after following these tips, on March 2nd, 2021, approximately two weeks after joining vocal, I surpassed the withdrawal requirement for my Vocal+ wallet!

So the challenge to you is actually committing to all of the above!

What’s that you’re saying?

If you made it this far you're appreciated! Be sure to check out and share any of my other articles and poetry by clicking HERE. Like and leave tips if my work is helpful to you, and follow me on Instagram @vocal_ana for some motivation and cheer!

advice
236

About the Creator

Jilana Booker

Facebook Profile: Jilana Booker

Facebook Page: Vocal Ana

Instagram: vocal_ana

About Me: Mom, Mentor, Motivator, Educator, Amateur Writer, Traveler, and Food Enthusiast!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.