Journal logo

Dear dad

by Cerina Galvan

By Cerina GalvanPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2
Dear dad
Photo by Heike Mintel on Unsplash

Dear Dad,

I remember as a kid the incredible kindness and understanding you often showed me, even when I didn’t deserve it. You knew somehow that is what I needed; you were my everything even when I didn’t understand you. Sometimes you would get angry and fight with mom and as a child you don’t know that pain until your older and you fall in love with someone yourself. The moment I knew you were my best friend was when I would constantly steal your candy even when you told us not too. I would take a bunch and hide them in my clothes then go outside and eat them. You found me once and you started laughing, I was a little scared you get mad at me. But you didn’t. Chooch as you would say, while laughing, just ask next time. I never asked. And you always understood that I couldn’t help myself. You were more than just my dad, my hero, you were my moon and stars. I looked up to you and listened to every word you told me even when it took forever. But what I always knew in my heart was that you had a love for me, for your family like no other. When we didn’t understand you anger It was always because you wanted to protect us like no other man I’ve ever known. As I got older, the more I understood you and the more I wanted to be like you. Because you saw everyone for who they were and loved them for it. You knew how to love strangers and us like it was the ultimate gift. You laughed your way through your pain and drank to wash it all away. You drank to enjoy yourself not to hurt yourself or anyone. You hated the jobs you had because you demanded people get respect and when you or someone else wasn’t getting it, it made you livid. It was so hard for you, the way the world started to work. You rather live out in the wilderness and chop down trees then live in the world that has become fake. You were the realest person, and you shared everything you thought and felt with everyone with so much courage and conviction. I loved watching you grow into a man that became so loved Its all these things and more that made you the great man that you are and always will be. Toward the end we all wanted a miracle, we wanted you to stay with us so badly. It has taken me now to realize as I write this that who you were to us was that miracle and the way you loved mom at the end, in between, and the beginning of your guys life together was admirable. As hard as it got for you, you fought so hard to be with us. You’re not just my hero, but everyone’s hero who encountered your life and got to know you. A true man of who he was and what he stood for. I wish I could’ve told you all of this, but I know you hear me, and I know you know that I loved you with everything I had. You once told me that everything in life has purpose and everything you do is purposeful. So, do it with everything you got, and you will be rewarded. You never know what tomorrow will bring you and you taught me to live life unapologetically you. I sit here in my room realizing that I have to go on, I know you’ll always be my everything and most likely one of the few men I will ever truly love, and have it reciprocated in a way that fulfills my every being.

heroes and villains
2

About the Creator

Cerina Galvan

I’m an active writer who dreams of writing tales that inspire people.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.