Journal logo

Capturing the Hawaii Shaka

A Photographic Journey

By Tim WrightPublished 10 days ago Updated 7 days ago 5 min read
Photos By: Tim Wright

If Hawaii Governor Josh Green signs Senate Bill 3312 this month, as expected, the shaka will officially become Hawaii’s state “hand gesture.” Having spent over two decades as a part-time freelance news and sports photographer in Hawaii, I've captured countless moments and collected numerous images of people flashing the shaka sign. Whenever I covered a notable person visiting Hawaii, I would ask them to pose with a shaka for my collection. Requesting a shaka photo required a delicate balance of timing and rapport-building to avoid disrupting the event flow or the subject's concentration. Over the years, I loosely refined this skill and captured some memorable shaka moments and a few shaka fails.

One unique instance was my coverage for The Honolulu Advertiser of the late President George H.W. Bush, enjoying a day of golf at Mauna Lani in 1998. As he sat in his golf cart, waiting for his start time, I mustered the courage to ask if he would pose with the shaka sign. He refused politely, grinned, and said, "But I can give you a thumbs up," before driving away. A fellow photographer quipped, "Maybe he thought you were asking him to throw a gang sign, but hey, you just gave a directive to a U.S. President." I filed that photo away as a "presidential half-shaka."

A few years later, I received a full shaka from the late Hawaii Island Mayor Billy Kenoi and our current Mayor Mitch Roth, which I filed under "mayoral shakas." While covering sports for the Hawaii Tribune-Herald one night, Ka'u High Trojan Izaiah Pilanca-Emmsley waved a shaka to the sideline as he ran in a touchdown during a game against Kamehameha at Pai'ea Stadium. I cataloged that one as a "touchdown shaka."

After paddling 2,400 miles over 91 days in a solo kayak from Monterey, California, to Hilo, Hawaii, Cyril Derreumaux still had enough gas in his tank to give me a shaka when I asked. His girlfriend, Ashley Redmond, also joined him in the gesture. I filed that photo away as my "it's quicker to fly Hawaiian Air, shaka."

One day, I asked actor Ian Ziering to wave his shaka; I logged it under "Sharknado Shaka."

Historians trace the primary origin of the shaka sign to a fateful day in 1912. Hamana Kalili, then working at Kahuku Sugar Mill, suffered a tragic accident when his right hand got caught in the sugar cane rollers, crushing his middle, index, and ring fingers. Little did he know that this event would inadvertently create a symbol synonymous with Hawaiian culture. Following the accident, the plantation owners reassigned Kalili to a new position as the security officer for the train running between Kahuku and the famous Sunset Beach. His duties included preventing children from jumping onto the train for free rides. His wave became distinctive, with only his thumb and pinky finger intact on his right hand. The kids began to mimic the gesture, using it as a signal to indicate when Kalili wasn't around, meaning it was safe to jump on the train.

One of my recent shaka moments was with 4-year-old Makaio "La'akea" Kupuka'a, who waved a shaka to his mom after dancing at the He Hali'a Aloha no Lili'uokalani event in Hilo's Queen Lili'uokalani Gardens a few months ago. His innocent joy and the pure expression of the shaka reminded me of this simple hand gesture's universal appeal and power, transcending age. I filed that picture as my "Keiki shaka."

I once asked billionaire businesswoman and media personality Kylie Jenner for a shaka, but she had no idea what I meant. In her defense, she was only two years old at the time. Her then-dad, Bruce Jenner (now known as Caitlyn), attempted a shaka, but it looked more like a sideways "J" than an actual shaka.

During a trip to Las Vegas, I snapped a shaka photo with former UFC Light Heavyweight Champion Chuck Liddell and labeled it, "Chuck is one heck of a nice guy, shaka." This photo is stored alongside my "BJ Penn is also a nice guy, shaka" and "Jason Scott Lee, the American actor and martial artist, is also a nice guy, shaka."

In 1996, at 18 years old, the late Kobe Bryant bestowed upon me my only "NBA shaka" during training camp with the L.A. Lakers in Honolulu. Despite nursing an injury sustained days prior at a pick-up game in Venice Beach, he attempted the shaka with his wounded hand. Before departing the court, I managed to capture a shaka photo with his uninjured hand.

In 1997, while filming in Hilo, Vanna White gave me a "Wheel of Fortune shaka." She graced me with another shaka when she returned in 2009. Actress Cheryl Ladd gave me her "Charlie's Angels shaka" many moons ago at a Dolphin Days fundraiser.

During other fundraisers, I got shakas from musician Brother Noland, fireman James (Pinky) Pacheco, Police Chief Ben Moszkowicz, and Community Leader Hayden Konanui-Tucker.

Politicians Duke Aiona, Rebecca Villegas, and Tulsi Gabbard gave me quick shakas when I pointed my lens toward them.

The Boy Scouts of America Pukahi District Chairman, Peter Sur, gave me a "Scouts shaka" during a Veterans Day Parade last year.

My quirkiest shaka photo was during a working vacation at a Seattle Rainiers baseball game. I asked two food vendors dressed as hot dogs to strike a shaka pose, and they gifted me with a "double hot dog shaka."

At the Grand Reopening of Hilo's Palace Theater in 1999, the late renowned film critic Roger Ebert attended with Brook Lee, Miss Hawaii USA '97, Miss USA '97, and Miss Universe '97. I tried my hardest to get him to break away from his trademark two thumbs up (his rating system for a good movie) and give me a shaka. He gave me one thumbs up, while Brook Lee knew the shaka protocol. I filed that image under "Miss Universe local girl shaka and a half."

My most recent published image featuring Shakas was taken during the Merrie Monarch Parade this past April. It captures Aunty Renee Rivera and Aunty Claudia Wilcox-Boucher waving their shakas to the crowd nestled on the sidewalk.

With the talk of passing Bill 3312, I had the opportunity to revisit my shaka files. To the Hawaii and mainland editors who have trusted me with news assignments for over twenty years and to everyone who has assisted me with my shaka photo collection, I extend a heartfelt Mahalo and a double shaka and a half to you all.

Tim Wright is a fourth-generation resident of Hawai'i Island and a freelance photographer. His images have appeared in various publications, from National Geographic to The National Enquirer.

featurecareerartvintagepoliticsphotographyhumorcelebrities

About the Creator

Tim Wright

Tim Wright is a fourth-generation resident of Hawai'i Island and a freelance photographer. His images have appeared in various publications, from National Geographic to The National Enquirer.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Tim Wright is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Tim WrightWritten by Tim Wright

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.