Journal logo

👋🏾Being Vocal is Hard‼️

A Conversation about being unintentionally censored

By Erik DeSean BarrettPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
First Walk Post Pandemic 😷

Early this year, February rings about right. I terminated my vocal.media membership. I did so because I was frustrated; and most of all I was tired of trying. This world of ours is full of many complex problems with matching people, and as much as one tries, hearing all of them is damn near impossible. Let me clear this up first, because I don’t wish for anyone to think, my goal here is to tell anyone how to run their business. I am of the mindset, I either accept the terms of use, or I just get TF off the platform. But I would if its okay, just share my heart for a moment.

As I mentioned, it is hard being vocal. Because of our complexities, because of our varying opinions, it yields us to the mercy of public approval. For example, I personally like to have more meditational conversations, but can’t because those conversations lead to my discussing personal faith; a subject not sanctioned by this platform. Again I am ok with the editors position on the matter. The subject of faith carries very hostile weight. Many have used it as a mechanism for war, oppression, and dare I say a tool to manipulate the disengaged, and or disenfranchised. I also understand, nobody wants to give life to liars, political conspiracies, and or ideals which destroy, or attempt to control one group, or another. The best way to solve this? Isolate ones self. Just shutdown the topic all together. But that then strips people of their ability to express themselves, no? Those who may not subscribe to the deep layers of a matter, but because their thoughts are in someways link, they are automatically lumped in, labeled #PublicEnemyOne.

I again, as I sit here deep in thought. I feel like I am not doing this piece justice, like I am not properly explaining how much I understand struggle. Please, if you can just accept these words. I GET IT, IT MAKES COMPLETE SENSE TO ME.., and most of all, I respect and support everyone’s rights. So if I am allowed to not get viewed as a critic, rather a person with another point of view. I ask myself all the time, which I believe is another reason that lead to my vocal.media hiatus. With all the restrictions, and limitations, I found it hard to come up with six hundred words. One might say, I am just lacking in creativity. That writing is just not for me. As a matter of fact, I actually had someone tell me,

“Yo E. STICK TO VIDEOS MAN; Professor Thomas I. Forgot, over at the college, did you a solid just sending you home with a D. You just do not have want it takes to become a writer.”

Welp my friend, I will finally give it to you. I will finally say without fear of defeat, or acceptance of failure. I am not by the standards of writing a good writer. Which brings us to the kicker? Why am I not a good writer? I tell ya, because for the first time in my life, this too makes sense to me. I am not a writer by societal standards, because most either don’t care, or wish to hear what I have to say…

NO NO NO.. PLEASE, WE’RE ALL GOOD!! Its not a bad thing. Well not totally. Ya see we as a system has for centuries worked to control just what should or should not get said. How one should or should not feel, or most importantly what one should or shouldn’t believe. And there lies the problem. It is not that someone like me cannot write, rather someone like me feels his words have no mean, therefore properly expressing them becomes hard.

So let me mother goose this, because what’s the point if there is no moral? Before I do that, shoutout to you who are clueless of who mother goose is, Disney+ is your friend. What if we worked not to silence people, or politically defeat them, but connect, share, and most importantly hear what they have to say. Not the top layer as thats a coping mechanism, but the shit they have buried deep down. The stuff being sexual could not heal. What if we were allowed a true open space maybe, just like the restrictions placed by the pandemic will go away once we’ve all accepted our individual need to protect each other; these limitations and social restriction will lift, once we see the importance of hearing each other.

Well that’s my $7.91; translation that is how many words this is. Thanks for Reading, and most of all, thanks for being awesomesauce, until next time.

-LATTERZ - EDB

workflow
Like

About the Creator

Erik DeSean Barrett

Blogger👨🏾‍💻 Vlogger🎥 Podcaster🎙Life Enthusiasts!!! On mission to prove one can do what they believe despite what anyone says.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.