Journal logo

A Deep Dive Into My Writing Journey

A little more about me

By Colleen Millsteed Published about a year ago 5 min read
Top Story - April 2023
46
Image courtesy of Pixabay

Subhi Najar (Medium writer) has invited us into another Deep Dive questionaire and this one is diving deeper into our writing.

Subhi’s questions and original post can be found here. Feel free to deep dive into your own writing experience.

Here are my responses to Subhi’s questions :

1. When did you start writing? Is there a specific story?

When I was a teenager and found life extremely difficult, I also found myself alone with very little support and no way of processing my emotions, my struggles, my traumas. Until that was, my discovery of poetry.

A pen and piece of paper became my most precious possessions and my written words became my most trusted confidant.

I found poetry to be my biggest blessing because I could pour my heart out onto a piece of paper, knowing that if others read my words — and god forbid I hoped they didn’t — they’d have no idea of the meaning behind the words or the pain and emotions I was feeling as I processed my world.

Poetry can be obscure, especially when we start creating in metaphors that hold hidden meanings. I found this form gave me the security to write through my feelings and my pain.

Image courtesy of Pixabay

2. Do you have rituals in writing? If yes, then please share them with us.

No I don’t have any rituals as such. In fact I’m the opposite. When I feel the need to write, I find my brain works far faster than my fingers and it’s a pure rush to get the words out and onto my writing medium (be that paper or a screen).

3. The ugliest monster that writers are afraid of is writer's block. If you have a recipe to deal with it, kindly share it with us.

I’ve never been able to understand what writers block actually means as it’s not something I’ve ever experienced.

If it does mean what I think it means, I feel it must be absolutely terrifying to lose that connection to the great beyond where I’m convinced all my words and writing comes from. That conduit that has my brain whirling with words.

No, I couldn’t think of anything worse than losing that lifeline.

Image courtesy of Pixabay

4. Describe the process of finding ideas for your stories. Please elaborate

Ideas are constantly flagged from everyday life. Whether that be something I’ve experienced, some thing of beauty that’s caught my eye, something someone has said in conversation or in passing or even a place visited.

There’s a never ending number of possibilities in any given day, even if it was a day I spent quietly at home without hearing the voice of a single other soul.

5. As humans, we suffer without knowing it by choosing not to move outside our comfort zone. Do you have a “comfort zone” in writing ( i.e a topic that you always like to write about)? Have you tried to step outside your comfort zone and write something drastically different?

My comfort zone is my poetry. I can write a poem anywhere and anytime quite comfortably.

However, I have begun to step outside my comfort zone in the last few years by attempting to write about both fiction and non-fiction topics. I feel I have a long way to go, as a writer, in these genres but I’m determined to keep trying.

Image courtesy of Pixabay

6. Besides Medium, do you use other writing platforms? Please share our experiences.

I used to write on the platform Simily but that was a nightmare and didn’t last all that long.

I do still write for Vocal but only so my friends and family can read my work. Due to Medium only allowing them to read a couple of stories a month I have to keep up my Vocal account.

I used to find Vocal a worthwhile platform although I don’t believe it will ever be comparable to Medium’s standards but Vocal has made a lot of changes over the last 6 to 9 months that I have found to be detrimental to the platform.

In fact it was these changes and the fact that their Top Story picks have become very one sided and biased since they stopped reviewing every story, that I recently cancelled my V+ membership. It’s more like they seem to have their favourite writers and if you’re not one you don’t have a hope in hell of being recognised, no matter how good your writing may be.

7. Have you published a book? If yes, how and where…etc. Plz, feel free to share your links with us.

I’ve recently published my first book of poetry on 8 March 2023, called Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior, through a publishing company that helps writers self publish.

Here is a link to my book.

8. You write because writing provides you with something special. Could you share your experience?

Writing helps me make sense of the ever constant thoughts that rush around inside my mind. It helps clear and redefine those thoughts and allows me to process them in a healthy way.

9. Do you write a paragraph, a chapter, or a story with the end in mind or not? plz explain

No I never have an ending in mind. In fact as I write, the story unfolds and is as much a surprise to me as it can be to my readers. I love this side of the creative process because I never know where I’m going to end up.

Image courtesy of Pixabay

10. Every writer has an idol. Who is yours? And what do you find inspiring in her/his trajectory?

Stephen King has always been my idol when it comes to writing. His sense of humour and anything goes attitude has always appealed to me.

11. Does being on a writing platform like Medium help your writing plans? Plz, elaborate.

Medium has been my stepping stone to the future of my writing plans. It has allowed me to step out of my comfort zone and get used to the unfamiliarity of sharing my inner most thoughts with the world, until I became confident enough to put my book together and put it out there for the whole world to see.

Medium has expanded my horizons and given me the confidence to realise the world really is my oyster.

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Image courtesy of the Author

Originally published on Medium

feature
46

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (26)

Sign in to comment
  • Diane Mary Markey10 months ago

    Dear Colleen, Thank you for all that I have learned through your article. I only joined Vocal a few days ago. I have been with Medium for a couple of years now. I will be bringing a few of my articles over. I applaud your work. I wish you continuing success, Diane Markey.

  • Jay Kantor11 months ago

    Dear Colleen ~ I just so feel like 'Diving' into this one ~ I will be brief; sure if I ever could or can be. We, as 'Short' writers, pick up 'Ideas' as they come to us; we all have our way of doing this. I'm seriously not into contests or promos or even stat counts. Albeit, as you've asked us to share-describe our "Process" - May I take a moment with this? - Please see my 'Alter Ego' you may relate? I just toss my 'ideas' against the wall and what 'Schticks' is what my fingers type out through my keyboard - I really don't have much to do with it - - With my Respect - Jay Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Author Community -

  • Jacob Damian12 months ago

    Congratulations on your book this amazing keep it up

  • Antoinette L Breyabout a year ago

    Thanks for sharing , i had noticed you seemed to disappear off vocal

  • An extremely interesting deep dive into your work, thank your for sharing and congratulations on your deserved Top Story

  • Testabout a year ago

    It's inspiring to see how you've persevered and grown as a writer. Your dedication to improving your craft is truly admirable. Keep up the great work and keep sharing your stories with the world!

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Love this , Congratulations 🎉🎉🎉🎉❤️

  • Judey Kalchik about a year ago

    I see you as so assured in your prose it’s a surprise to learn that isn’t your comfort zone. Thank you for your frank answers

  • Leeannabout a year ago

    It's inspiring to see how you found solace in poetry during difficult times and how writing helps you process your thoughts and emotions. Keep Writing

  • Farhan Mirza about a year ago

    read my latest story on life of east vs west . It will open your eyes

  • Esther Usmanabout a year ago

    Congratulations on your book❤️

  • Yayyyyy, you got a Top Story for this! Congratulations my dear kindred spirit! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    I really enjoyed this, Congratulations on your book, that’s such an awesome accomplishment!

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    These are such good questions to think about and answer as a writer. I'm going to incorporate some of these into the classes I'm currently teaching. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Connor McCluskeyabout a year ago

    wow

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    I love reading these introspective pieces! Your book sounds interesting, and like Melissa says the cover is lovely! Congratulations all the way around!

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Excellent!!! I love your new book and it’s cover looks lovely! Very eye catching! Congratulations 🎉 on top story

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Yay. Congrats on the top story.

  • An excellent dip into your writing and a deserved Top Story

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    Colleen, you are a master. :)

  • The ugliest monster that I'm afraid of is Impostor Syndrome 🥺🥺🥺 Oh woww, you write without knowing the ending. I can only start writing once I have the full story planned out hahaha I enjoyed reading this my friend!

  • Totally I would escape from reality through reading or writing 📝 all the time...❤️😉💯

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Colleen, loved reading this. Splendidly written!!!💖💖💕

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Nice to get a little more insight into that brilliant mind of yours. Nicely done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.