Interview logo

Ten Questions with Rick Henry Christopher

Self-Interview: Rick Henry Christopher

By Rick Henry Christopher Published 5 months ago Updated 4 months ago 4 min read
26

The Following is a ten question self-interview. I figured it was time for me to interview myself.

I invite you to copy these questions and publish your own answers to Vocal Media. You can use my image if you wish. Have fun!!! 🤪 (At the end of this interview I have published the questions without answers to make it easier for you to copy and paste into your Vocal editor) If you do a self-interview please post a link in the comments so I can read your interview.

1. What type of writer do you feel you are?

I feel that I am a fairly decent writer. I am an unlearned writer. I've never taken any classes or courses in writing. I just write what I feel. I call myself a contemporary writer. And that I like writing in language that the everyday person can understand. Even when the story is complex I still like to use language that is easy to understand.

2. What type of writer do you not want to be?

I want to be a writer whose style rings true. I don't want to be fake, trendy, or sensational. I want to be real and develop characters that people can relate to.

3. What do you like about yourself as a writer?

I like that I am down-to-earth and honest. I try to make my characters very relatable and believable. I like that I take the time to research my subjects. Even for fiction stories I use real locations (cities, counties, etc) and I research topics that will be in my stories so that everything is factually correct.

4. What do you look for in other writers?

I like writers who are honest. I'm not one for flashy writers who overuse catchphrases, cliches, and sensationalism. Humor is nice until it becomes fake.

5. Where do you feel your opportunities are as a writer?

I think I could use some writing lessons so I can learn how to streamline my writing. Maybe simplify things, and leave out the excess clutter. Writing lessons can also teach me how to set up a scene properly and how to keep the reader involved in the scene.

6. Which writing genre or category do you feel is your best?

Psychological thrillers, youth fiction, and reality based fistion.

7. In which genre or category do you feel the most challenged?

Fantasy fiction / High Fantasy - I have absolutely no clue and have not tried. Although I would like to try my hand at an interlace narrative structure. That would be an interesting challenge.

8. When did you first start writing?

It's hard to say but maybe age twelve. I put together a handmade book of etiquette for the kids in my neighborhood. I got the idea from soemthing I saw on TV and I wanted to emulate it. I made something like half a dozen of the little books. I stapled the pages together with a handmade cover.

9. Why do you write

I am led to write. It is a calling for me. I feel that I have something to communicate. I love to create. I have always had an artistic nature of myself. Writing is an escape. I can be whoever I want to be when I write.

10. This last question is off-topic. If you could be part of any television sitcom family, which one would it be and why?

Oooh this is a tough question. There are several. But, I think I would want to be part of Taxi. I know they arte not a family in the sense of parents and off-spring, siblings, etc. But they are a family. I would fit well with this cast of crazies. Somehow I can relate to Jim. He is so far-out. I know I would get into it with Louie. He would probably rub me the wrong way. I would most likely get along pretty well with Alex, Tony, and Elaine.

The following are the questions without the answers:

What type of writer do you feel you are?

What type of writer do you not want to be?

What do you like about yourself as a writer?

What do you look for in other writers?

What do you not like about yourself as a writer?

Which writing genre or category do you feel is your best?

In which genre or category do you feel the most challenged?

When did you first start writing?

Why do you write

This last question is off-topic. If you could be part of any television sitcom family, which one would it be and why?

❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

With Love, RHC ❤️

VocalCreators
26

About the Creator

Rick Henry Christopher

Writing is a distraction to fulfill my need for intellectual stimulus, emotional release, and soothing the bruises of the day.

The shattered pieces of life will not discourage me.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (28)

Sign in to comment
  • Scott Christenson4 months ago

    I remembered I had something in the pipeline for 10 questions, which was getting increasingly buried under my "draft" ideas, so thought I'd get it out there! https://vocal.media/interview/ten-questions

  • Mackenzie Davis4 months ago

    I may give this a go! Great idea, Rick! And I love that you made little pamphlets as a kid. I did similar handmade book thingies in elementary school with my friends!

  • rose amy4 months ago

    Nice

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    I think this is a great idea and I love how so many other writers have jumped on board. If I have time, when I'm not keeping my head above water with writing a story every day, getting a new oven fitted, reviewing books to deadline, doing laundry (why does it never end?) and most importantly, playing NHL with my son, I will attempt to ruminate like my other Vocalists. By the way, any spare copies of that etiquette pamphlet?

  • Tommy Ballard4 months ago

    This was really interesting Rick, thanks for the challenge, gave it a go myself here: https://vocal.media/stories/ten-questions-7gh6s0aka

  • Zara Blume4 months ago

    Hi Rick, nice to meet you! I saw this on Paul’s page and gave it a go. https://vocal.media/writers/zara-in-the-hot-seat

  • Paul Stewart4 months ago

    This was a great bit of insight into you and your wriitng, Rick. Watch this space for my own take. lol. Fair warning lol.

  • J. Delaney-Howe4 months ago

    This is great Rick! I don't know how I missed it. I'm going to use this prompt for my first new piece in a couple months.

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    Well I did a quick selfie interview. I figured just get it over with. https://vocal.media/interview/the-interviewing-of-myself

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    This is great Rick. I assume there is no deadline here. Cause i am so late to the table. Your interview is so raw and honest. I withdrew very deep into my shell when Mariann asked to interview, (Sorry Mariann). But a selfie is right up my alley. My Introvert goes deep.

  • Grz Colm4 months ago

    Hey Rick, I don’t know if anyone was still doing these but sorry for the lateness. https://vocal.media/writers/rick-s-writing-questions

  • Nicely done, Rick.

  • Mother Combs also did her Ten Questions interview!!! https://vocal.media/writers/ten-questions-a-self-interview

  • Just as an FYI... Shirley Belk write her own self-interview which can be found at: https://vocal.media/interview/in-reply-rhc

  • Shirley Belk5 months ago

    Good questions, Rick!

  • Denise E Lindquist5 months ago

    Nice!! I saw Mother Combs story first. Enjoyed your self-interviews.😊💕

  • Test5 months ago

    Liked the questions and the honesty of your answers was evident. Great self-interview 🤍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.