Interview logo

alter

(ego)

By Sara Published 4 months ago 3 min read
5

https://vocal.media/interview/ten-questions-with-rick-henry-christopher-9p2pu05jv

written for the challenge linked above ⬆️

I initially did not want to attempt to answer these awesome, reflective questions. Because here’s the thing. I hate labels. I do not like putting myself into categories or boxes or writer types or stereotypes. I just write. But I read some entries that really got me thinking… and supposed I could start with a disclaimer: subject to change ;) - lots of it.

1. What type of writer do you feel you are?

I feel like am a poet - the dark, confused kind… (so much for avoiding stereotypes;)). Charles Bukowski is my inspiration - the whole troubled/drinker/what is life type thing. I have attempted other forms of writing - mostly in the academic realms and I have learned to appreciate that as well.

2. What type of writer do you not want to be?

I do not want to be the kind of writer that leaves you feeling bored. Art should be evocative. If it doesn’t upset or evoke emotions or provoke somebody, somewhere I don’t want to write it.

3. What do you like about yourself as a writer?

I like my honesty. I like my brutality. I like my brevity.

4. What do you look for in other writers?

I look for genuine work. I look for work that is written from the heart - not to impress or win. I look for pieces by people who truly love what they are doing and that always comes through.

5. Where do you feel your opportunities are as a writer?

I do not write professionally. I literally only write in my little notebooks and on vocal. I don’t care who reads it. I just write ;). All my electives in college are English classes, though - and I’m a science major haha.

6. Which writing genre or category do you feel is your best?

Poetry. Free verse poetry just makes me feel like I can breathe.

7. In which genre or category do you feel the most challenged?

Anything with rules. I hate rules more than I hate anything. Therefore I mostly stick to free verse, non rhyming poetry. However, in academic writing I have learned that rules do come in quite handy. And surprise, I appreciate them - in the right form and context.

8. When did you first start writing?

When I first started breathing. I was born into a world where I was severely misunderstood and the only thing I always had was my words. I have many journals (that I should probably burn) from the time that I was in middle school. My teachers always told me I should write a book but I am too saddened by the current industry to do something with that idea.

9. Why do you write?

The same reason I breathe. To stay alive.

I don’t talk about my emotions easily and writing helps me express what I cannot say out loud.

10. This last question is off-topic. If you could be part of any television sitcom family, which one would it be and why?

I didn’t grow up watching TV (it’s a long story) but I have done some catching up once I transitioned to my present life. I’m not sure this counts as a sitcom but I would love to be part of Nikita. Something about a woman assassin’s power allures me… and the knowledge of her womanhood and the way she uses that to her advantage. I’ve always pondered the delicate relationship between sex and power and I feel like that series explores the dark side of it.

Creators
5

About the Creator

Sara

Don’t look for love.

Be love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm4 months ago

    Good one! I still write in notebooks too! And I feel exactly the same about free verse poetry! 🙂 Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us.

  • Paul Stewart4 months ago

    Oh man, your answer to why you write was way better than mine lol. All the reasons you love your writing are the same reasons we all love reading your work, Sara. Your honesty, brutality (because sometimes you can't avoid that) and brevity. So succinct with your description. I like that you understand where your strengths are, it's inspiring really. Thank you for this insight...it felt like it was a bit more behind the curtain's look at you. Nikita is cool af. And I totally get that idea for you as a woman, finding the idea of a sexy assassin, powerful type. That's the thing...it was like...with all versions of that (there was a film and two different series I believe) is that yes, she's a woman, yes, she's super sexy, but also she's really good at her job too. Thank you for taking part in this! You did a brilliant job! Was so excited when I read you had done it hehe:)

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    I too would find these hard questions to answer, well done!

  • I love the reason you write, to stay alive. I enjoyed learning more about you!

  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    Glad you decided to do this little exercise. I'm thinking about it. I really loved the brief answer you gave here: 9. Why do you write? The same reason I breathe. To stay alive. Awesome answer!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.