Writers logo

Ten Questions-A Self-Interview

A RHC Prompt

By Mother CombsPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
Ten Questions-A Self-Interview
Photo by Maranda Vandergriff on Unsplash

Rick Henry Christopher did a self-interview of himself and gave everyone the prompt to interview themselves as writers. I have decided to play along. You can read more about his prompt at the link below.

** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** **

My interview is as follows:

What type of writer do you feel you are?

I am not the best writer, but not the worst writer. I am somewhere in between. I am mediocre. I have a lot of room for improvement. A lot of room

What type of writer do you not want to be?

I just want to be a writer who can entertain my readers while they read my works. I want readers to know that whatever I write will be something they will enjoy.

What do you like about yourself as a writer?

My ability to sit down and write anything that comes to my mind. Except for romance, I’m not that good at romance. But everything else I am pretty decent at.

What do you look for in other writers?

I am looking for other writers who can write a gripping tale. Who can draw me in from the first to the last word. Those who write from the heart. I especially have a soft spot for new writers. I can not stand a writer who is egotistical about their work.

What do you not like about yourself as a writer?

The fact that I struggle with romance. Even when I write just a small scene, it feels stiff. Romance doesn’t feel real to me when I write it.

Which writing genre or category do you feel is your best?

I write a pretty mean microfiction horror story, with a twist.

In which genre or category do you feel the most challenged?

Romance of any sort. I just have a hard time with that mushy stuff. Do people really act like that?

When did you first start writing?

My sisters and I used to write stories together as children.

Why do you write?

Because there is something inside of me that has to write.

This last question is off-topic. If you could be part of any television sitcom family, which one would it be and why?

So many to choose from. Supernatural would be a great one. So would Full House. But I'd say Mama's Family if I had to settle on just one. Vicki Lawernce reminds me of my grandma, and I feel I’d be the most at home in that sitcom. I’d even get along with Eunice. I’d laugh at her, but I’d still get along with her.

** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** **

The following are the questions without the answers:

What type of writer do you feel you are?

What type of writer do you not want to be?

What do you like about yourself as a writer?

What do you look for in other writers?

What do you not like about yourself as a writer?

Which writing genre or category do you feel is your best?

In which genre or category do you feel the most challenged?

When did you first start writing?

Why do you write

This last question is off-topic. If you could be part of any television sitcom family, which one would it be and why?

** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** **

Writing ExerciseVocalShoutoutPromptsLifeInterviewsCommunity

About the Creator

Mother Combs

Come near, sit a spell, and listen to tales of old as I sit and rock by my fire. I'll serve you some cocoa and cookies as I tell you of the time long gone by when your Greats-greats once lived.

Admin = ViM

PViM

Mike Judey Dharr Grz

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (14)

  • L.C. Schäfer6 months ago

    Thank you for sharing! I hate romance as well, which is a bummer because apparently it sells terribly well 😁

  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    Missed this when it was originally published. Sorry about that...but this was a wonderful read. As Novel said, very honest and that's why I think people enjoy reading your work. You are far from mediocre, in my opinion, though!

  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    This is so MC. Precise and to the point. The answers are so honest. I love the self interview, it is so much more comfortable to do. Just found it. Hope it is not too late to play.

  • NICE INTERVIEW. WE AS WRITERS HAVE IUR DOUBTS AS WE TYPE ON OUR PCS WONDERING IF ANYONE WILL READ THE STORY. WE REJOICE WHEN WE ARE RESPECTED AS WRITERS.

  • Hope Martin7 months ago

    Also how do you make your links into the vocal pictures of other people profiles? Or make your pictures into links?

  • Hope Martin7 months ago

    Oh, and I also struggle with romance. I try to avoid it. There is romance in my published book, but I had a REALLY hard time getting it to feel natural. As I'm dragging it through a re-edit and adding more meat to it, I am able to do it a little better now that i have some genuine romance in my life (as embarrassed and weird as it is for me because I've lived a life of abuse, he does romance me enough to where I have a safeword: If I say "You're such a cheeseball" it means I'm about to die from all this love I'm not used to calm down!) lol my personal calamities did not make me good at it. so I understand :P

  • Hope Martin7 months ago

    It was great to read this! I like it. I may try it too.

  • I have a soft spot for new writers too! Also, I too struggle with romance. I enjoyed learning more about you!

  • Rene Peters7 months ago

    I agree... Romance is hard and uncomfortable to write. Also, I agree your horror microfictions are absolutely amazing!

  • I love it. Romance is a tough one for me also, simply because I'm just not interested in the genre. I love your Mama's Family. That would be a family I'd have a whole lot of fun being part of.

  • Daphsam7 months ago

    Wonderful answers! This is a great idea. Thank you for sharing.

  • Denise E Lindquist7 months ago

    Great idea! Will probably give this a try too. No promises😉

  • Test7 months ago

    Super fun idea! And I really enjoyed your answers. I have neve tried to write a romace. But I seem to be doing rather a lot of stuff I haven't done so never say never 🤍

  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    I have to try this! I love your micros!! 😁👏

Mother CombsWritten by Mother Combs

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.