Writers logo

What You Read is What You Get

A self-interview prompted by Rick

By Dana CrandellPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
19
What You Read is What You Get
Photo by Juan Rumimpunu on Unsplash

What type of writer do you feel you are?

There are many answers that come to mind for this one, and not all are complimentary. Overall, though, I think I'll have to go with "undisciplined."

What type of writer do you not want to be?

Pretentious.

What do you like about yourself as a writer?

I think I'm learning to believe that I have a gift for storytelling. I owe that to the support of other creators in this community.

What do you look for in other writers?

Authenticity.

What do you not like about yourself as a writer?

I could burn up a lot of words on this one. Diffidence stands out. After all these years of writing, self-confidence in strictly creative writing still hasn't set in. Following through with publishing plans isn't an easy thing for me.

Which writing genre or category do you feel is your best?

Creatively speaking, I like to think it's poetry. I enjoy meter and rhyme and the challenge of creating them.

In which genre or category do you feel the most challenged?

Fiction. Frankly, if not for the Vocal community, I might never have strayed in to it, but now that I have, I'm determined to wring more of it out of my brain.

When did you first start writing?

Before kindergarten. Reading and writing were very important in my family, thanks to Mom. Yeah, I was that kid who was always called upon to read his essay in front of the class. That's not as fun as it sounds.

Why do you write

I simply love words.

This last question is off-topic. If you could be part of any television sitcom family, which one would it be and why?

Well, I really dislike most sitcoms, especially the more recent ones. The last one I really enjoyed watching was Cheers, so let's go with that.

***

This is my response to the self-interview prompt from Rick Henry Christopher, a very talented and supportive creator, and a fine human being. Thank you, Rick, for the opportunity. Check it out here:

VocalInterviewsInspirationCommunity
19

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock4 months ago

    I have to ask: the Diane years, Rebecca years, or all-inclusive?

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    These interviews are bringing out the beasts and the honest truths, I think they are really wonderful. Undisciplined, pretentious and authentic...great attributes for a writer, pretentious takes you right to the edge, you have to know how to balance it just right. Love the honesty.

  • You did a great job with this Dana. I enjoyed your responses. Thank you for the compliments at the end.

  • Test4 months ago

    Great answers Dana. You are the least pretencious writer ever. You gave my newbie self so much encouragement when there was absolutely no reason for you to bother! And your storytelling skills are fantastic! Happy New year to you and hope this year brings us all many more of your poems!

  • Paul Stewart4 months ago

    You are the least pretentious person I know, probably! I remember the first time reading something by you and thinking "this guy is light years ahead of me" and then there's always that stopping moment when you think "I don't know this guy...maybe he's going to be some arrogant dickwad!" fortunately, you weren't. I kinda had guessed that anyway, because I think the very first thing I read by you was about your late, great nephew! And since then you've always been a great supporter to me personally and a pal. But, I've always noticed you there in the comments section. It aggravates me sometimes, lol, that sounds threatening, but, that you don't see the quality of your wonderful words, sir. You are a great writer and the fiction I have read by you, is well worth you digging into more. Your poetry is sublime. You are among a list of people whose work really inspires me and is what I aspire to write. Anyway, that's way too many compliments for you sir. Thank you for taking part in this as I knew you'd pull it out of the bag with the Crandell charm. I can see you in Cheers too, actually. Sitting at the bar with Norm lol. Well done!

  • I'm not a fan of sitcoms either. I like a show to be thrilling, suspicious, and it has to have murder in it. But I digress, lol. I enjoyed reading this!

  • Grz Colm4 months ago

    😁👍 I alway like your poetry!!

  • Mother Combs4 months ago

    Love your answers, Dana Thanks for sharing with us

  • Kristen Balyeat4 months ago

    Great answers, Dana!! Authenticity! Yes! Pretentious? You’re the absolute furthest thing from that word. You do have a gift for storytelling and I can’t wait to read more of your tales. It also makes sense that you think your best category is poetry—the rhythmic words that flow from your brain are simply sublime! 💫💞

  • I agree with Hannah. Enjoyed reading this Dana

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    We all want the authenticity!

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    I love your writing!

  • ITS YOUR DESTINY 4 months ago

    Keep up the great work!

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Awesome!!! Loved your responses to Ruck's prompt questions!!!❤️❤️💕

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    Reading in front of the class is a special kind of torture in my opinion. Someone else reading it out loud for everyone is nearly as bad. Pull my underpants down in front of everyone, why don't you 😣

  • Alexander McEvoy4 months ago

    Very insightful! I also generally dislike sitcoms, never enjoyed the Office or Friends very much, but Cheers was always a good time!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.