Writers logo

Dear Paul

A very late reply to a letter from a favorite creator.

By Dana CrandellPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 4 min read
13

Dear Paul,

I was completely blown away by your letter. The fact that an author whose words I very much admire would spend so many of them on a personal note to me had me beaming from the moment I saw the notification. Your expression of fondness for me, even though we only know each other through our stories and interaction via comments means more than you know, Sir, so let me start this off by saying it's mutual. Now, before our wives suggest we move in together, I'll move on to the reply.

To be included in the group you've chosen to write letters to is an honor, even if I wasn't at the top of the list, or even close, apparently. The names you've mentioned are also creators that I respect and admire. If I could choose a group of writers to learn from, you and those creators would be among my first selections. As a matter of fact, the same would apply to a list of people I'd like to have lunch with. If I am, as you say, generous with my time and feedback, I assure you, it's time well spent, in my eyes.

While I'm thinking about it, let me apologize for my very American treatment of the English language, using words like “honor” rather than “honour.” We are a lazy, inelegant bunch on this side of the pond.

As you know, I decided to write this reply in lieu of answering your questions in comments, so let's get down to it!

“How do you come up with ideas for your writing work?”

As you already know, I take inspiration from my photos fairly often. When I'm not doing that, inspiration may come from anywhere. Prompts are always helpful, of course, or something I hear in a conversation or read in a story. People in certain situations sometimes inspire me, for instance I am working on a story you have seen the preliminary version of, inspired my a homeless woman in my alley.

My wife often inspires my poetry and I see from your work that's another thing we have in common. Reflecting on life experiences can often lead to stories. Pets, plants, skies, landscapes, seasons, genius, stupidity – it seems there's always something to draw from.

Yes, I do sometimes live out an entire story in my head before I “put pen to paper.” Oddly, it seems those aren't always as well received as those that evolve as I'm writing them.

By the way, if I ever meet “The Great Crandell” I'll be sure to ask him on your behalf.

“What is your favourite fish to catch?”

By Brian Yurasits on Unsplash

For the pure joy of catching, I'd have to say wild brook trout. They're rarely huge, but pound for pound, they're the toughest fighters and among the most bright and colorful. They also have a marvelous flavor. Brookies and eggs is my favorite breakfast, especially when cooked over an open fire at streamside. Aside from that, any species of trout on the fly rod is a thrill.

I may have been somewhat younger in this photo.

“Is there a fish you have not caught yet but would love to?”

A few species come to mind, but the top choice is probably sturgeon. I have seen them while fishing the Columbia River, but have never caught one. I have to qualify that choice a bit, because fishing for them isn't very exciting and reeling one in can be a long, exhausting process. That said, 7 to 10 feet in length is a common catch, and they've been known to grow to 25 feet in length and more. It's illegal to keep any that large, but it would be interesting to bring one up to the side of the boat. They're not beautiful, by any means, being living dinosaurs. So, you see, I have 2 things in common with them.

By Ben Wicks on Unsplash

I may yet have the chance to catch one. I was able to mark one such “bucket list” fish off the list several years ago on the aforementioned river, with a small King salmon. (I've unabashedly used it for the cover photo.)

“Do you think I would look good in a sombrero?”

I think you could easily “rock” a sombrero, with only two conditions: 1) Choose the traditional, everyday style, rather than the ornate formal style, and 2) Grow your mustache out a bit, in Pancho Villa style. I think the proper term is “Zapata.”

Public Domain Photo, By D.W. Hoffman, an El Paso photographer - https://www.getty.edu/news/faces-of-the-mexican-revolution/, Public Domain, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=132726856

I must say, however, that I see no shame in your traditional bonnet. A man should honor his heritage, always. The baseball cap is also a good option (I have a good collection of them myself.), and if I may offer one more, I highly recommend the hat that was gifted to me by a very large concrete worker because I told him I had been admiring it over the fence as he was working at a neighbor's house. He insisted I take it.

I'm not sure there's a name for this style, but it's lightweight, breathes nicely and shades not only my ears, but my shoulders, nose and back. It's been my gardening hat for a number of years now. This particular one has a flag and the word, “Guatemala” on the front of the crown, so that may be a clue as to where you can find one of your own.

The brim of this hat is 21" wide and 24" front to back. Photo Credit: Pamela Crandell. (She got my good side.)

I hope I've answered your questions well. In closing, let me repeat how honored I am to have received the letter from such a talented and prolific creator as yourself. I'll also leave a link to Heather's challenge, as the original inspiration for your letter. I'm sure you'll agree that she's a constant source of inspiration for us all.

Sincerely,

That Guy from Wyoming Currently Stuck in Texas

***

This is a reply to a letter from the amazing Paul Stewart:

Which was inspired by a challenge from the amazing Heather Hubler:

ShoutoutLifeCommunity
13

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Kristen Balyeat6 months ago

    What a fantastic reply to Paul’s letter!! Dana, this was so fun to read and it was great to get to know a little bit more about one of my faves! Thanks to Paul for such great questions!!! Your storytelling and humor are always such a joy to partake in. Lots of giggles in this one. This is truly a fun spin off of Heather’s great challenge! 💫🫶🏼💫💞

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    This is wonderful response to Paul's letter, (which I now need to go read.)

  • Heather Hubler6 months ago

    Aww, such a lovely response...so when are you two sneaking away for a bromantic trip? LOL, just kidding. It's wonderful to see two great people lifting each other up and sharing life :) I love to be inspired by photos as I'm a very visual person, and your photography is very inspiring. Loved this piece (and thank you for the kind words and including my story).

  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    Well now. I will write a bigger reply to this later on, but wanted to stop by and say I was truly honoured you took the time, see used honoured, correct spelling and all, to write so fully and love the photos you've shared. Sturgeons are ugly things, but like others, didn't realise they could get quite as big. That salmon in the main picture is a beast! Thank you again for participating and it seems apart from the fishing thing (always been interested...never tried...would only do it for cooking though...not keen on throwing them back - no judgement there, just personal feeling) that we do have a lot in common, I think that's why we've always got on Anyway. Will reply to this more fully, even though this is quite a full reply. Thank you again, sir!

  • Whoaaaa, I never knew that sturgeons could grow that hugeeeee! And lol, I love your sense of humour! I enjoyed reading this!

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    Aw. Feel like I'm interloping.

  • Test6 months ago

    OH I am loving this *bromance. Genuinely lovely to see supporters supporting! Made my evening! 🤍

  • Mackenzie Davis6 months ago

    I read Paul's first, then came back. This is so wholesome, and I loved reading your answers to his questions. Great photos, too. Imagine catching a sturgeon; that would be amazing. They're quite unsettling to look at, though, eugh.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.