Interview logo

My Interview with The Lovable Tiffany Gordon

Mariann Carroll’s Interview Vocal Blog

By Mariann CarrollPublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 7 min read
30
Tiffany Gordon ‘s Photo

Tiffany Gordon is one of the nicest people you will ever met. I love her heartwarming poetry. She is very creative in making humorous stories as well.

Tiffany Gordon is a spiritual and inspirational writer on Vocal. Who aspires to be an young adult author. She is a big Barbie doll collector, several of her barbies had been featured in a few of her stories.

Fun Fact: Tiffany Gordon has collected over 150 Barbie Dolls

“ I enjoy collecting dolls because they bring me joy. They are like beautiful little statues. They remind me of the carefree days of my youth and it's so much fun to create funny stories and "fabulous" fashion moments with them.” Words from Tiffany Gordon.

Barbie Charisma

Fun Fact : Who is Tiffany’s Favorite Barbie, you asked. Tiffany respond would be,

“I am proudest of my babygurl Charisma-Hayley. I love her vibe! She is my little Upbeat-Why Can't We Just love each other, Carefree flower child. I fell in love with her vibe when I first saw her. She came with fuchsia hair/ eyebrows, an alien purse and Pink Moon boots. I loved her funky style & confidence. I decided to dress her in hippy gear so that I could project her "Charisma" and loving countenance to the world.

Mariann(New York): Where are you from?

Tiffany : I grew up in Tacoma, Washington, a military town approximately 35 miles south of Seattle.

I've been there since I was twelve months old but I have deep southern roots. Both of my parents are from a small town (of only approximately 1,100 residents) in East Texas near the Louisiana border.

Mariann: When did you realize you wanted to write?

Tiffany: I realized that I was interested in writing when I was 8 years old. We were asked to choose an extracurricular activity in elementary school. My best friend and I both chose The Young Authors Club.

I loved watching movies . The thought of getting to tell my own stories really appealed to me.

The Young Authors program was really neat. It was a great outlet for the creativity that always seemed to run through my veins, as an extra busy only child.

I remember the Young Author's Club staff was made up of adult volunteers. They were a very dedicated bunch and a real godsend to us little ones.In fact, each time I finished writing a story, an adult volunteer would type it up for me.Then, allow me to pick out my cover design, help me to bind it, then help me to write my About The Author section."

My little creation would then be offered in our school library for future check out.

One time I distinctly remember, being quite embarrassed, when one of my fellow classmates checked out one of my books. He did a book report on it. Oh...the torture I felt at that age. I was used to laying low and my classmates were blowing my cover. LOL

Mariann: What did you first write about ?

Tiffany: I remember writing three books in elementary school. One about a family adventure at the beach. Another was a fantasy about a young girl who has a duel with a mean witch.

The last and most sophisticated story that I wrote in 5th grade was called: Skiing in Terror Town. It was about a group of friends being terrorized by a deranged woman at the ski lodge that they are vacationing at.

It's so funny what our minds will come up with at that age.

I've been recently thinking of publishing the original Skiing in Terror Town story, from back then along side a new rewrite from my current adult viewpoint. I think that it would be fun to see how much my writing, vocabulary and storytelling have changed over the years!

Mariann: What are your hobbies?

Tiffany: In addition to reading thrillers and writing for fun my main hobby right now is Barbie doll Restyles. I redress them, do their hair, makeup etc. I even pierce their ears and sometimes repaint their hair.

I also enjoy coming up with names and personas for them.

Fun Facts : Tiffany’s recent restyles Barbie dolls

A few of Tiffany’s Restyled barbies2023

On the left is Midnight. I named her that because of her beautiful dark complexion and that is Brandon-Marshawn on the right.

I started my collection in January 2022 and it has grown quite a bit since then. I have approximately 151 b-dolls. I call them my babies and they are my mom's grand dolls! 😊

Recently, I've been watching Barbie crafting videos on YouTube and am currently building a Barbie Night Club out of Cardboard. Please wish me luck! LOL

My Barbie babies have been a blessing. They definitely chase the stress away.

Last year, I also wrote three stories involving my Barbies. They are: Skate Park, Not On My Watch and Mischief's Plea. They were a lot of fun to create!

Right now, I have a few new Barbie stories running around in my head. I also have big plans for my Barbie babies this summer but I'm keeping that project under wraps for now.

Mariann: How many Top stories?

Tiffany :I have been blessed with six.

Mariann: What’s your writing space look like?

Tiffany: I don't really have a formal writing space carved out. I tend to write in bed with my cell phone, mostly at night time. I am a hard core Night Owl. They say whether you are a morning person or a night owl depends on the time of day that you were born. I was born in the evening so that may be why I prefer evenings. In fact, my personality doesn't truly come alive until 2 in the afternoon!

Mariann: What are your three favorite stories on Vocal?

Tiffany: My Three Favorite story I wrote : 1.) Dear Depression 2) Help from an Unexpected Place and 3) Make Kindness Boss Again!!!!.I chose Dear Depression as my favorite piece because of its wordplay and the empowering feeling I gained from writing it. My writing is a tangible way for me to encourage, uplift and fight societal injustices.

Over the last 5 years, I have lost 2 close friends to clinical depression and my Dear Depression piece was my way of taking the power back from the disease while encouraging those in the battle and to even potentially keep someone here.

Mariann: How long does it take you to write your stories?

Tiffany : My stories usually take about 4-5 days on average to write because I write in bits and then maybe another two days of editing.

Mariann: If you can interview anyone on Vocal, who would they be and why?

Tiffany : It would be both you, Mariann Carroll and Babs Iverson. You both are like the glue that holds our Vocal Family together. You are both the first to comment and encourage in the FB groups and I'd love to know more about your background, writing lives, and what influences helped to shape your lovely personalities.

Mariann: If you were a book, what would your title be and why?

Tiffany : You almost had me stumped with this one. LOL

It would be I Care. I received the biggest compliment from one of my old college friends. She said: You're one of the people that when you pass a stranger on the street and casually ask them how they're doing you actually care about their answer. That was one of the biggest compliments that I have ever received. Recalling that statement truly warms my heart and always brightens tough days.

Mariann: What are your goals in writing?

Tiffany : I 'd love to write a contemporary young adult fiction novel with faith elements one day--An urban Judy Blume-esque novel with a protagonist of faith. Right now, in pop culture, it's becoming uncool for teens to believe in God. I'd like teens to know that that doesn't have to be the case but not in a preachy or corny way just through beautiful, captivating storytelling.

Mariann: What are your most proud accomplishments?

Tiffany : I am most proud of taking over caring for my mom after my grandma who raised me passed away and could no longer do it. It's been over 20 + years and I'm proud of my resilience. I'm also proud of attending college and grad school and for having the courage to publish on VOCAL.

Thanks so much for this amazing opportunity Mariann! You were a wonderful hostess! The skies the limit for you.

Thanks again.

I'm Outtie

I had fun interviewing the lovable Tiffany Gordon. ❤️Summer is almost here. Here are a few of her stories, I love to share with you. They truly show what a fun loving person Tiffany is. I love her sunshine personality.

Authors
30

About the Creator

Mariann Carroll

Proactive for positive change.Born in the City of Chicago ,Illinois.

Multi race .Studied in a foreign country .Fluent in several languages .

fascinated by diversity.A Romantic and a dreamer.Interest in healthy living

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (28)

Sign in to comment
  • The Dani Writer12 months ago

    Such a lovely interview about a sweet and lovely soul! Beautiful!

  • J. Delaney-Howe12 months ago

    What a great interview! Nice job!

  • Sandra Tena Cole12 months ago

    Congratulations to you both!! ❣️ I also have Barbie dolls, with which I used to create stories of my own. Also, Dear Depression is also a personal favourite of mine, Tiffany!

  • Dana Stewart12 months ago

    Tiffany is a talented writer, I love her poetry. She is a lightness, bubbly and caring! I absolutely love the Barbie doll collection!! So wonderful to get to know more about Tiffany!

  • Gina C.12 months ago

    Amazing interview! So fun to learn about the spectacular Tiffany!! 😍😍😍

  • J. R. Lowe12 months ago

    Great interview! Love that Tiffany mentioned Babs too - have you done an interview with her yet?? Would love to read it if you do 😊

  • It;s really great to know more about Tiffany and her writing, I enjoyed this great interview!

  • Misty Rae12 months ago

    Awesome interview with an awesome person. I love the Barbie collection!

  • Thank you Mariann for bringing us such a wonderful interview. I love my cousin Tiffany!!!

  • Loved finding out more about Tiffany! The book program adults ran at her school should be copied everywhere

  • Caroline Jane12 months ago

    ❤❤❤❤❤ This is wonderful for many many reasons.... all of them uplifting! Tiffany you are an inspiration and Mariann you are a superstar interviewer!

  • Novel Allen12 months ago

    Tiffany is probably my fav person on Vocal. Her smile is unforgettable. Even her interview is a breath of fresh air. Her personality shines through everything! Go Tiffy.

  • Leslie Writes12 months ago

    Great questions, Mariann. I love the Young Authors Club thing. That is so cool! And I hope you do rewrite that Skii Town story from an adult perspective. That would be so awesome to see! 💖 Also love the Barbies!!

  • Heather Hubler12 months ago

    Aww, a wonderful chance to get to know more about the awesomeness of Tiffany! I love your enthusiasm in life and how you embrace the things that bring you joy. And I love your writing too!! Great interview by the both of you :)

  • Cathy holmes12 months ago

    Wonderful. Tiffany is great.

  • Heyyyy my girl Tiffy!!! Whoaaa you have more than 150 Barbie Dolls! Lol, I am only child too but I wasn't extra busy. I wasn't even busy to be honest. I was lazy. But school made me be busy. Lazy me didn't like it but life ain't fair, lol! Oooo, I would love to read Skiing in Terror Town! Midnight is gorgeous and I love her red dress! Good luck on building your Barbie Night Club! Thank you so much Mariann for interviewing the ever so sweet Tiffany!

  • C. H. Richard12 months ago

    Loved this interview. Tiffany is an amazing inspirational writer and so supportive of others. Her doll collection is also extraordinary. I enjoyed getting to learn more about her. Well done Mariann ❤️

  • Tiffany Gordon 12 months ago

    It was such a blessing to be interviewed! Thank you for the honor Mariann! You rock! I'd also like to send a very special thank you to everyone who took the time to read this piece! I appreciate you all! Happy Writing My friends!😊 P. S. & Thank you so much for your kind words everyone! They mean a lot! 😍

  • Phil Flannery12 months ago

    I am really enjoying meeting the people you speak with Mariann. I love reading how different we all are but connected by the same creativity

  • This is a great interview, so nice to dig a little deeper into these people we are spending so much time with

  • Nice interview with my Adorable Big Sis💖✨😉I really enjoyed reading the Positivity from this interview❗

  • Babs Iverson12 months ago

    Fabulous interview!!! Thank you Mariann for interviewing Tiffany!!! Tiffany's positive vibes, kindness, and encouraging support has helped me over the past two years. She is a true blessing. Sending you both hugs & hearts!!!💖💖💕

  • Melissa Ingoldsby12 months ago

    I LOVE Tiff’s warm & electric poetry! She has such a sweet and loving vibe, awesome 🤩 interview I love 💕 it

  • Naomi Gold12 months ago

    Wow, I’m not familiar with Tiffany’s work, but she’s so interesting. Already thinking up wild story plots like that in elementary school! I love the Barbie restyles, and I’m a big fan of young adult fiction. The world needs an urban and modern Judy Blume so bad!

  • Grz Colm12 months ago

    Another terrific interview Mariann with Tiffany! 😊✨

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.