Interview logo

Meet The Author!

Getting to Know Colleen Millsteed, Author of Battle Angel

By Colleen Millsteed Published about a year ago 7 min read
Photo courtesy of the Author

I have been writing poetry most of my life, as I found it a productive way to deal with my emotions, beginning in my teen years. Poetry has been my go-to when life gets a little tough and it is through these hard times that I have polished my skill and my writing has evolved.

As a result, I recently published my first book of poetry. 

Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior

Photo courtesy of the Author

QUESTIONS:

Tell us about your writing journey. (When did you start writing? Have you always wanted to be an author? What made you decide to actually sit down and write a book?)

I began writing when I was 12 / 13 years of age. This was a difficult time in my life and I needed an outlet to purge and deal with my emotions. Poetry became my best friend and confidante.

I never thought about becoming an author as my writing was always intended to be private and I never believed I'd be brave enough to allow others to read my work. The idea of publishing or allowing others to read what I had written only began to form when my big sister, Marie, consistently told me I should. Of course, I didn't listen and it took me over 40 years to find the courage to make the decision to publish my own work.

As I have an extensive portfolio of writing, I was able to compile the poems that have now become my own personal 'Battle Angel' inspiration and finally the end product of this book.

What is Battle Angel about?

Battle Angel is a collection of poetry that I have written during my struggles over the years. This collection of words became my inspiration when the going got tough. They are a group of poems that describe my emotions through my life's lessons and my feelings of losing control. They are about not giving up when you most want to curl up in a ball and stop feeling. Words to encourage and remind us to find our inner strength, our very own 'She Warrior'.

What inspired you to write this book?

The inspirational credit all comes down to my big sister. She consistently showed me she had more faith in me than I did in myself. Not only is she the biggest inspiration behind this book but she is my rock, my guaranteed support system and the best sister anyone could have.

We love the title! What is the significance behind it?

My life has not been an easy ride and the poetry in this book has arisen from those hard times. The title has a special meaning to me because as I have constantly had to fight to get to where I am today, my life was one battle after another. The strength I had to find at times felt like I had to dig so deep to survive that I was certain that I had at least one Angel on my side. Hence the reliance on my own personal 'Battle Angel' to get me through.

Who did you write this book for (who will benefit from reading Battle Angel)?

Originally this collection was written for me, to process my feelings, my emotions and to help me live one day at a time. It was only after I put the collection together that I realized they also may help other women, those who find life's troubles are wearing them down at times.

It was then that I decided to publish this book in the hope that I could encourage women of all ages, to stand tall and find their own inner strength. My deepest desire is to personally tell these women that they are not alone and I hope my words will achieve this goal.

How did your collection develop?

One personal struggle after another saw this collection grow until it finally metamorphosed into Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

What are some of the different poetic forms used in Battle Angel? Do you have a favorite? Are there different forms do you want to explore going forward?

The bulk of the poetic forms in my book are very simple and mostly rhyming poetry. As a self-taught poet, I found this the easiest format. Over the last few years I have begun to challenge myself with learning different forms of poetry. However, the rhyming format will always be my favourite as I have always loved the flow it gives the words. A little like song lyrics.

Are all of your poems based on personal experiences? What stages of your life have most influenced your writing?

Yes, all of these poems are based on my own personal experiences and are inspired throughout my late twenties to mid-thirties.

What challenges have you encountered when writing such vulnerable themes, and how have you worked to overcome them?

At the time of writing these words I didn't find them challenging, as I believed that they were for my eyes only. The greatest challenge was coming to the decision to allow others to read such personal pieces. It was only through the hope that they will help others, as they helped me, that I battled through those challenges.

Do you have a favorite from your collection? Which one is it and why?

My favourite poem within Battle Angel is the one titled

'She Bleeds Love, War and Tempered Passions'

This was written when I felt that I was not born to succeed and made me realise that the world could never conquer me, not while I leaned on my own inner strength and just took things one day at a time.

What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your book?

I have been pleasantly surprised that there is a bigger world out there, one in which poetry still has a place. For a long time I have felt that poetry is 'old school' and it has been a pleasant surprise to find that there are others who love this form of writing and enjoy reading as much as I do.

What is one thing you wish you knew when you started out?

That people wanted to read my work and would enjoy doing so. This would have allowed me to publish a lot earlier in my life if I had known this simple truth.

What do you like to read and which authors have inspired your own work as a poet and a writer?

Funnily enough I have never read a lot of poetry myself as my writing was only ever to deal with my life experiences and I never dreamed that I would be a published Author. Therefore, my poetry is strictly self-taught and not inspired by any other artist.

On saying that though, I am an avid reader but more along the lines of horror, good life stories and true crime. My favourite authors are Stephen King, Danielle Steele, Susan Jeffers and Dean Koontz.

What do you enjoy most about the creative process? And the least?

Writing to me is a necessary part of life. As an introvert, I have had to rely on my own coping mechanisms and writing is an integral part of this process. At times it is so much a 'need' that I feel like I'm just the fingers that hold the pen and it is the words that write themselves.

My least favourite part is the editing side of the process. I feel like I'm destroying an important part of me every time I change what was originally written.

What is one thing you hope readers take away from Battle Angel?

I hope sincerely that my readers will realise that Battle Angel is a companion for life. Not just a read and place on the bookshelf type of book, but a book that can be pulled down from the shelf, each and every time a reader needs to know that she is not alone. Every time she needs to be reminded that she has the strength, resilience and power to beat back every life challenge sent her way.

What kind of feedback on Battle Angel have you received from your readers?

All the feedback received has beat my wildest expectations and so far, I feel I have succeeded in my goal in supporting my fellow women. I am in awe of the readers that have let me know that they can relate to my words.

How can readers connect with you?

I can be found in a myriad of ways online, from my website to social media. My link to my website is below and all my social media links are included on this site. I would love to hear from anyone that has read my book.

https://colleenmillsteed.com/

So, what's next for you? Are you working on something new?

I haven't gotten as far as to thinking about what is next for me but as I have an extensive number of poems already written over the last 45 years and the need to continually write, at times on a daily basis, I feel there may just be a second book on the horizon. I guess time and receptiveness from my readers will make that decision for me at some stage.

What is the best piece of advice you've ever received, as a writer or regarding life in general?

The best piece of advice I have ever received and one that has become my motto in life over the last two decades is, 'feel the fear and do it anyway'. It's how this entire book come to be!

Do you have any advice for aspiring or emerging poets?

Yes, my advice is very simple. Keep writing!

That's it, as I learned from experience that the best way to excel at a subject, is to do and to do and to keep on doing. With writing, I guarantee if you do keep writing consistently, you will find your own voice and it will ring true.

Is there anything else you'd like to add?

I would like to take this opportunity to thank all my readers; past, present and future. Without you, I would not have a reason to head down this path.

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Image courtesy of the Author

Originally published on Medium

Authors

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knockabout a year ago

    Thank you for sharing this part of yourself with us, Colleen. I'm curious about your final thoughts. Earlier you said that the reason you wrote was for yourself. But in your final thoughts you intimated that without your readers you would not have a reason to follow this path. Does that mean you're feeling the nudge to publish another book &, if so, any idea what the theme of it will be?

  • I knew that you were a Warrior👀😊❤️💯🎯✨📝😉 Thanks for sharing this❗

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Terrific!!!! Left some love!!!💖💖💕

  • Excellent answers and enjoyed learning more about you and your work!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Wow, what an example of perseverance and strength! I loved getting to know more about you and how this book came to be!! Congratulations on being a published author and striving to help other women. Loved it :)

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Yahhhh❤️👏I read a lot of your works, Colleen. You are a true warrior in my book. I am a fan. I wanted to interview you but you beat me to it like a real warrior that you are . Enjoyed this . 🥰🤗🎊

  • I'm so grateful to your sister because without her, I wouldn't have been able to read any of your writings. And now look at you! A published author! I totally agree that your book would be a comfort book of many girls and women, where they can read it each time they need to know they're not alone. I loved this interview my friend. It was so joyful and uplifting!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Excellent interview. Well done, my friend.

Colleen Millsteed Written by Colleen Millsteed

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.