Humor logo

Sticks and Stones May Break Your Bones

But names will REALLY hurt you!

By Brendan DonaghyPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 3 min read
5
Image Licensed by Alamy Ltd

Do you know what alexinomia is? No sweat if you don’t. I only found out myself about forty minutes ago. It was an article in Vogue that got me looking. The article covered some of the quirky names given by celebrities to their children. I say ‘quirky’ but I’m thinking something different, something pejorative. I use quirky because I’m polite. I try to avoid giving offence where I can. Life’s tough enough, right? Why pile rudeness on top of that?

No balls, you’re dead right.

Quirky names. If you’re of a certain vintage, you’ll remember the likes of Rolan Bolan, Zowie Bowie and Dweezil Zappa. And now that I’ve poked your memory cells, you’ll be wondering what became of these sons of music legends.

Thanks for asking. A quick internet search tells me that they’re doing okay. Despite being saddled with quirky (cough) names by their parents, they’ve gone on to have productive lives and careers. Quite possibly a lifetime of counselling, too, but hey. Them’s the breaks when you live on Planet Celeb. Oh, and Zowie Bowie is now better known as Duncan Jones.

If true happiness is found by embracing the mundane, then Zowie must’ve grabbed himself a big lump of the stuff with that switch.

The fact that they’ve turned out well must be a comfort to the current generation of sons and daughters mentioned in the Vogue piece. At least, it will be when they’re old enough to worry about this kind of thing. People like Lyra Antarctica, daughter of Ed Sheeran and his wife, Cherry Seaborn. Not forgetting Lyra’s younger brother, Jupiter.

Or how about Exa Dark Sideræl, daughter of Elon Musk and Grimes? They call her ‘Y’, by all accounts. Their son is called X Æ A-Xii. He gets called ‘X’.

Of course he does.

But listen, if you think this piece is just about taking cheap shots at celebrities, you’re wrong. I like to spread the cheap shots around. And let’s be honest, the rich and famous don’t have a monopoly on odd names; I used to live across the street from a man called Myles Long, and his parents were dirt poor. Not that I knew them, but Myles told me his dad used to sell clothes pegs from a suitcase. Honest work, sure, but not something that’s going to have you researching offshore tax breaks.

I’ve also encountered a Rhoda Book and a Rose Daley. These are no-blame names, however, as they came as a part of a package that included their husbands. Yeah, yeah, victims of the patriarchy, should’ve kept their own surname after marriage. I hear you, sister, but that might not have been the easy solution it appears to be.

I mean, we don’t know what their names were before their nuptials. Rhoda Dandron, perhaps, in which case marrying Mr Book was probably an improvement. And maybe Rose née Earley didn’t see much of a difference up ahead.

Anyway, to cut a short story even shorter, the Vogue article got me thinking about why some people might suffer from alexinomia. That’s the fear of using personal names if you haven’t already checked. I think it’s a perfectly rational reaction if you’ve been lumbered with some of the names we’ve looked at here.

And we’re only scratching the surface. So, a big group hug to all the people I’ve never come across but who are out there somewhere, I’m sure. I’m talking about you, Penny Lane. I share your pain, Kanye Diggett, Summer Halliday and Noah Lotte.

Just thinking about what you all go through brings me out in a Cole Swett...

SatireFunny
5

About the Creator

Brendan Donaghy

'Anyone can be confident with a full head of hair. But a confident bald man - there's your diamond in the rough.' Larry David

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming19 days ago

    So funny! I heard a story of someone whose surname was Pea calling their son Drew.

  • Anna 4 months ago

    Wow, incredible work! Well done my friend!🥰

  • S. A. Crawford4 months ago

    This is a fantastic piece; you have such a unique and distinct writing style. Names are a funny thing, people think so much about making sure their child is distinct that they sometimes forget that you can stand out like a sore thumb as well as a firework, if that makes sense.

  • Test4 months ago

    Brendan Donaghy your piece cleverly explores the theme of unique and sometimes unconventional names, blending humor with an understanding tone.Great job! Keep up the fantastic work

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.