Humor logo

No one Cares!!!

Stupid humor to feed the brain.

By Lamar WigginsPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
Courtesy of Adweek.com

Beavis and Butthead are the poster teens for immature ridiculousness. Maybe that's why they became so popular with people of all ages.

I saw them for the first time ever in the early 90s on an MTV show called Liquid Television. I didn't know how to feel at first... That was until the synapses caught up and I had to see it again. Lucky for me I had a VCR (TIVO wasn't a thing yet) and taped every episode of Liquid Television. "Frog Baseball" was the title of their pilot. As you might have guessed, it was stupid, but I laughed! And so began the relentless onslaught of dumb humor in the age of Idiocy...

Yes, they were definitely fans of Halloween... Where they lacked creativity, they made up for it with stupidity. Check out this edited clip (2:09) from a Halloween episode.

It's controversial, it's witless, it's morbid, it's asinine but above all, it generates laughter, and I loved every bit of their show. What does that say about me, or better yet, the hordes of followers who couldn't get enough. It says nothing other than being a bold new take on adult animation. Not just adults though! It of course appealed to impressionable kids who willingly took parts of the show literal, sparking censorship from parents across the globe. Even the FCC censored words they could no longer say (that has since changed). I recall a friend saying they wouldn't let their kids watch it until they were 14. I get it! With all the references to fire, boobs and penises, it was damn near rated R.

pinterest.com

Who Is Beavis and Butthead?

Who the hell knows!!! What we do know is they are the perfect antithesis to what you don't want your children to grow up to be. They never graduated from High School, will never marry or have kids and will never hold down a job (although there was at least one episode that featured their offspring, it was more like a 'what if ' moment). Their personalities are straight out of the short-bus dumpster, probably the result of inbreeding. Is that mean to say? I don't know and don't think anyone cares.

Can't lie though, I was one of the first people in line to see their debut on the big screen. "Beavis and Butthead Do America." As expected, it got mixed reviews. The followers loved it. The critics hated them to being with. Some people called it a waste of film. For me, it was interesting to see what happens when the writers of the show are faced with producing a much larger story with an actual plot. I was satisfied with contributing 4 bucks to their box-office gross. Movies were cheap back then.

The following (2:08) clip shows how stupidity can also be beneficial.

Would you ever want to hang out with them?

Hell no!!! The only place they can hang is on my tv screen when I crave idiotic, numbskull gibberish. It helps me feel better about myself when I'm being a dumbass! Their inability to place nice with others is why they didn't have many friends, except Stewart, who took the brunt of their verbal abuse and moronic pranks. No one else wanted to hang with a couple of knuckleheaded, Nimrod, dimwitted, pillow-humping, good-for-nothing half-baked losers. Phew!!! That felt good!

Aye Aye Captain! Pinterest.com

Do we still love Beavis and Butthead or have we ever?

Well, yes, we do and yes you will! We wait in anticipation to what their underdeveloped brains will think of next - or the lack thereof. We love their stuttering laughs and can't help but to imitate them when an appropriate encounter prompts us to do so. And let's not forget the unforgettable, biased critiques they gave to music videos. No matter how unfair and brutal they were toward the songs, some artists saw a spike in sells after being featured on the show.

I have seen some of the newer episodes, but have to admit, I've sadly grown out of following their socially awkward and crude ways but rarely turn the channel away if they come on during a midnight bout of mindless channel surfing. At the least, I'm guaranteed a laugh.

Speaking of laughs, this final 79 second clip is from an episode where they were forced to be quiet, which meant no laughing. The clip is very juvenile but good to see them faced with some authority... And thank you kindly for sitting through this walk of shame-fame with me. I'm not even sure where the inspiration came from to write this 🤨😅. Enjoy!

No one else to marry. Pinterest.com

Thank you for stopping by 😍.

LaughterFunnyComicRelief

About the Creator

Lamar Wiggins

Creative writer in the Northeast US who loves the paranormal, mystery, true crime, horror, humor, fantasy and poetry. Take a chance, you'll be thoroughly entertained.

"Life is Love Experienced" -LW

LDubs

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

  • Naomi Gold8 months ago

    I LOVED this! 💗 The show came out when I was in junior high. My best friend and I were fanatics. I even did this huge charcoal pastel drawing of them and framed it for my 4-H art project. I loved the movie too, and the spin-off of Daria. Yes, I still to this day find them funny. I’m so glad you included the clip from “Sex Education Week”—that’s my all time favorite moment from the show, and lives rent free in my head. It was my first thought when I saw your story… “Wonder if Lamar saw/remembers that episode?” Your 50 word critiques were so good, but it was amazing seeing a longer piece from you about this pop culture phenomenon.

  • Test9 months ago

    Haha. I've never seen them, so I'll have to look. I like the occasional stupid funny thing. Enjoyed your trip down memory lane, stupid street, boob blvd? 💙Anneliese

  • I have to admit, I've never found them to be funny or remotely watchable. But then, I wasn't a big fan of Seinfeld either (though the surrounding cast was quite good).

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    What a blast from the past! Awesome work!

  • I lost it the "THE SCROTUM!!" 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 I've never heard of them but they're hilarious!

  • Shirley Belk9 months ago

    I so remember their antics. Now, it seems to me, that Beavis & Butt-Head have cloned themselves into our modern-day to day culture, fast food chains, Wal-Marts, etc. I hear the snort snorts of their laughter all around. Thank you for the trip down memory lane.

  • J. S. Wade9 months ago

    Great review of the shock comics. I had to be in a certain mood to watch. They are the modern day version of Jerry Lewis unhinged. 😎🤣

  • Mark Gagnon9 months ago

    I don't need to watch the show. I just need to watch the ball teams that check into the hotel where I work.

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    great critique on a classic. Love watching these two idjits

  • Real Poetic9 months ago

    “Their personalities are straight out of the short-bus dumpster, probably the result of inbreeding.” It’s not mean lol. It’s funny and true! 🤣👏🏼👏🏼

  • Haha 😂, They made up for it with Stupidity 😁Sounds about Right💯✌️📝Great Job Bro, Lol 😆 ♥️

Lamar WigginsWritten by Lamar Wiggins

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.