Humor logo

Learning to Shut Up

On the Inside

By Dana CrandellPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 7 min read
22
Learning to Shut Up
Photo by Ashes Sitoula on Unsplash

A quick note: The original version of this story was written for the Passing Ships challenge and abandoned because I couldn't find my old survey crew photos. I still haven't found them, but rather than let this go to waste, I dusted it off today and after some inner debate, decided to share it, in the hope that someone gets a kick out of it.

A little bit about younger me:

In the late 70's, I was hired as a member of a four-man survey crew for a natural gas exploration and distribution company. I would end up staying with the company for almost ten years, but a promotion to a position at a new plant in Wyoming would end my stint as a surveyor, or “Field Engineer” as the official title read, after only two years. This is the story of one chance encounter during those first two years and the weird way it changed my perspective. (Did I mention it was the 70's?)

Yes, I was a writer in those days, too. In fact, I would eventually take on an unpaid role as a photojournalist for the company magazine. The corporate career, itself, was a welcome opportunity for a kid who had become a dad at the age of 18 and had every intention of supporting his family. In the long run, it would end up providing a world of adventures and plenty of opportunities to exercise my creative skills along the way. There are countless stories to tell, but I'll get back to this one.

A little bit about the job:

Now, I'm not going to bore you with a short course on how pipeline surveys worked in the pre-GPS world, but a little bit of setup will help you understand what was going on. The Party Chief, aka Boss of the crew and I were doing a preliminary survey to map out a proposed route for an underground gas pipeline, to connect a new well to the gathering system. Put simply, we had to establish the starting and ending points, then, using a transit (basically a telescope with cross-hairs, mounted on a fancy compass), mark the best route from point “A” to point “B” with flags made up of four-foot, sharpened pieces of lath, each with a good length of orange plastic ribbon attached.

Trust me when I say that the description above is a gross oversimplification. Point “A” and point “B” were often many miles apart and probably well-hidden from each other by the terrain. The “straight line” approach often had to be abandoned due to obstacles or potential archaeological finds. Additionally, there were usually a limited number of access roads, and the only way for the “flagger” to cover the route was on foot.

The “instrument man” would set up the transit over one point and line it up with some point established on the route, either the end point or a “P. I.” or Point of Intersection, meaning a turn. Once that line was established, the flagger would walk the route and determine where the next flag should be, then signal the instrument man, who would wave large orange flags to “bring the flagger on line” at which point the flag would be driven and the flagger would move on to the next point. The result, of course was a nice line of pretty orange ribbons that the ditching crew could follow.

Ready? Let's go!

Sounds pretty simple, right? It would be, in a perfect world. This particular day, we were working in the sand hills of Kansas, and there's nothing perfect about that world. We had driven into the starting point on one rise and established a line to a point on another about a mile away, across a valley and two fences. Yours truly loaded up two shoulder bags of laths and went on his merry way across the sage and snake-covered prairie.

After reaching and climbing the far hill, I found a point where the well head to be connected was visible, drove the last flag of that leg and “waved off” my instrument man. That meant he would need to pack up his transit and tripod, load everything in the Suburban, drive back out to the main road, then find the road nearest to the last flag and “make his own road” to the new starting point .

That meant I probably had about an hour to kill. Fortunately, it was a beautiful day and I had a great seat on the edge of the bluff I had just climbed. I dropped my bags, took a long drink from my canteen and sat cross-legged, looking back across the expanse. The sun and the stillness washed over me and I helped myself to a big dose of peace and quiet. I have no idea how long I sat there, thinking about - nothing.

The shit hits the fan.

A sudden blast of warm, moist air slammed into the back of my neck, accompanied by a low, whistling noise. In that moment, I learned what “jumping out of your skin” means. In my mind, can see myself doing just that, in some sort of weird, Wile E. Coyote-style animation.

Somehow, I sprang up and spun around into a crouch, all in one motion. I was ready for anything – until I found my bad self nose to nose with a young pronghorn doe, frozen in place, just as I was.

Neither of us had planned well, but she was definitely the quicker thinker. That spry little minx took one backward leap (I didn't know they could do that and I don't think she did, either.) and put about six feet between us. She turned to the side and eyeballed me for a long moment, defecated, then moved her fluffy butt with the getaway speed her species is known for and disappeared over the opposite edge of the bluff. I just stood there for a minute, wondering how I'd pulled off that cool kung fu move.

By David Thielen on Unsplash

Taking it all in:

Needless to say, my Party Chief and I had a good laugh about it while we set up his transit for the next shot, as did the rest of the crew when I told the story at dinner. Later, as the local news droned on from the TV in my motel room, I had a minute to put the whole thing together in my head.

I had been so still and quiet that the little antelope had given in to her curiosity and crept up to take a whiff of the thing on the hill. Pronghorns, like many wild things, will clear their nostrils with a snort just prior to sampling a scent. That's what had startled me, and the rest is comedy history. The interesting thing, though, is how my oblivious state had created the whole scenario.

The weird 70's stuff:

It was one of the rare times in my younger life when I had unconsciously stopped my internal dialogue. It's a subject that's been addressed by philosophers, psychologists and others in numerous texts. As luck would have it, I first heard of it when reading Carlos Castaneda's series of books that started with The Teachings of Don Juan. Wouldn't you just know that a goody-two-shoes kid like I was would get wrapped up in the tales of a peyote-chewing shaman-in-training? Tales which, by the way, turned out to be mostly fabricated?

Regardless of Castaneda's tenuous credibility, there's a reasonable amount of evidence that suggests “clearing your mind” can open doors to new creative pathways, as well as some other, more “far out” experiences. For those of you that know of his books, no, I don't do drugs and I don't go for trips on “the lines of the world” or pass out for days at a time. I have learned, however, that I can stop my internal dialogue.

Easy to preach; hard to practice.

The problem, at least from my perspective, is that it isn't easy to do. I'm always writing in my head. I almost always have a song playing up in there, too. Meanwhile, I'm constantly nagging myself about the next bill that has to be paid, yard work that needs to be done, and so on. Not to mention pondering things like, “What the hell does 'goody-two-shoes' actually mean?”

Anyway, regardless of the importance of shutting down thought processes and inner peace and particle physics and a whole lot of other stuff that's too deep for a shallow mind like mine, that encounter on top of an arid, sunlit sand hill in Kansas was one of the most memorable of my life. I'll wager it was the same for her.

GeneralFunny
22

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (23)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    Just wanted to say a little bit of this managed to work its way into a story I did recently 😁 I'll go and put a shout put on it somewhere 😁

  • Laughing out loud at your goody two shoes questioning. 35 years and I’ve never thought to 😆👌✨

  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    LMAO… oh my. I love reading about your brushes with wildlife. This reminds me of the snake story. 😆 “I'm always writing in my head. I almost always have a song playing up in there, too.” The most relatable thing I’ve ever read on Vocal. 💗

  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    I can relate to that notion of always writing up there, and always having a song playing. My brain can be described as "too many tabs open".

  • Donna Fox (HKB)9 months ago

    Dana I appreciate the insights into your life and journey that you shared with us! I also appreciate the sentiment of revamping a story rather than dismissing it, that really shows how much care you put into your work and the love you have for what you write! The antelope story was funny, I loved the reference to Wile. Coyote. Thank you for sharing that bit about your inner monologue and how you can kind of shut it down. I also have one of those but have no control of shutting it down like you do. I just have to write until I’m “empty” and then I can have a little peace! Overall this was a great read and I am so happy to have finally gotten to it! 😊

  • ThatWriterWoman9 months ago

    Awe, what a beautiful moment for you both! I really enjoyed this one Dana! Well Done!

  • Teresa Renton9 months ago

    I love the conversational tone of your writing Dana, so engaging 😍

  • Test9 months ago

    You tell the best stories. A little doe. So cute. I meditate all the time, but the wild bunnies still won't come near me 💙 Anneliese

  • An amazing & delightful story, Dana! One of those once in a lifetime moments. (And you didn't make a mess in your pants in the process!)

  • Kristen Balyeat9 months ago

    Oh, Dana! Your storytelling it the absolute best!!!! I get totally lost in your stories as your words transport me right to that moment. So very happy you dusted this off!! Love that interaction– you must have been quite still for that doe to approach you like that! Thank you for the laughs, and for sharing the beautiful lesson on quieting thought and finding presence! Always love reading your words! 🩷💫

  • Celia in Underland9 months ago

    This is brilliantly written, love the reference to Wile E. Coyote! The humour mixed with nore of the techical details was great! Thank you so much for sharing-Loved it!

  • Hahahahahahahaha your kung fu move! Omggg that part was hilarious! I enjoyed reading this so much!

  • Scott Christenson9 months ago

    Really learning something while reading the story. This was a good one!

  • ARC9 months ago

    Dana (you're gonna be real surprised by this, I'm sure) I absolutely love this piece. The content that I first love is the education on surveying! That was so cool 🤓 I had no idea that telescope-with-crosshairs-and-fancy-compass was called a "transit". I had no idea about any of the context you shared with us in your incredibly efficient overview section, and I very much appreciate being more learned now than I was before I read your beautiful piece. Your experience with the pronghorn was absolute majesty. The inner quiet you refer to (your subtitle cracked me up by the way - great juxtaposition with the title) is such a special place, and I love that not only did you experience it, but that you can still articulate it so clearly all these years later. Speaks to your Presence in that moment. A power operating outside of time, at least to some extent, it would seem. Thank you for sharing this beautiful episode and your perspective with us. Loved every word.

  • Judey Kalchik 9 months ago

    This is gold. I am not good at letting my thoughts go. I like to hang on and feed them 🍪

  • Jay Kantor9 months ago

    Dear D-Bud - You always seem to 'Pipe-Me-In' with your 'Schtick' - No need to 'Shut-up-Here - J-Bud Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Author Community -

  • Mark Gagnon9 months ago

    Even without all the electronic chatter that we have today, the seventies were not known for their peace and quiet. Maybe more than the sixties but not by much. I enjoyed the story. It reminded me of a similar incident I had with a bull moose while fishing in Maine. BTW you owe me a right arm and a nose(yuck) for finishing Stay Awake Stay Alive.

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Lol, sir, thanks for the brain food and the laughs! Always enjoy your musings an thought pieces! This was a great little anecdote and lovely experience with nature. I was going to sound cool like RP and say, I wasn't alive in the 70s too, but that's only cos I missed the cut-off point by 28 days. lol!

  • Hannah Moore9 months ago

    I really enjoyed this - it was interesting, the description of a task I have no experience of, it was funny, and it was magical.

  • Real Poetic9 months ago

    I wasn’t alive during the 70s, but the way you described your experience growing up, it really took me to that place with you. Thanks for sharing this. It was nice to learn more about the younger version of yourself. Great writing. I predict this being a top story for sure!

  • Suze Kay9 months ago

    This was such a pleasure to read, Dana. What a cool job and a very cool encounter. I’m so glad you decided to dust this piece off - but I really would like to see those photos sometime, too! I hope they materialize one day.

  • Kendall Defoe 9 months ago

    I have read one Castenada book, and it's the one you mentioned. Not sure I'd go back for more, but I can see why he was so popular. Your encounter makes me think of the deer I once saw late at night on the university ca.pus from the bus stop. I just took in the moment and let myself enjoy it. A wonderful piece of your history to share with us!

  • This was such a good read! I liked the part about how your internal monologue is constantly nagging about bills and such! Mine does too! Goodness. Great read!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.