Humor logo

Ih: The Creation of a New Word

We humans, we love our simple noises.

By Stephen Kramer AvitabilePublished 5 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - January 2024
28
Ih: The Creation of a New Word
Photo by Yannick Pulver on Unsplash

We humans, we love our simple noises. Isn’t it great to be able to grunt and get a point across? Minimal effort. That’s what the human experience is about. Minimal effort for maximum output. In the English language, we have a lot of these. Ever notice a lot of them are two letters and end with an H?

Ah. Eh. Oh. Uh.

Hold on a second, I’ve noticed something. Something is awry.

We have five vowels in the alphabet. A, E, I, O, U. And we used all but one of those vowels, paired with an H, to create different words with different meanings.

Ah = A sense of discovery or enlightenment.

Why was I late?! I was late because you boxed me in with your car!

Ah.

Eh = Expressing dissatisfaction or feelings of something being mediocre.

I worked very hard on my short film. So, what did you think?

Eh.

Oh = Moderate surprise.

No, I won’t be showing up to our second date because you are an asshole.

Oh.

Uh = Pondering or buying time so that you may think of an answer.

Did you think you would get away with this?

Uh.

We used A, E, O, U… but we didn’t use I.

I see room for improvement. Room for creation.

We need the word, ih. Ih.

What is a feeling we would love to be able to convey, but with just one syllable? Something that hasn’t already been covered with our plethora of words?

I feel each of the words, ah, eh, oh, and uh all sound like the emotion they convey. That is why we use them. They sound like what they mean. So, I think… what does ih sound like? Ih being pronounced as the first syllable to igloo… of course.

It sounds similar to eh. Eh is used in a negative sense. Something isn’t up to standards or you don’t want to participate in something. Want to come to my improv show? … Eh. See, here, the person speaking “eh” doesn’t want to come to the improv show… and they are not going to go. You can tell. They are content to sit at home on the couch and watch reruns of Golden Girls on the Hallmark Channel.

Ih sounds similar… with some negativity… but less so. Ih, to me, sounds like you aren’t thrilled about something, but you will do it anyway. However, you want people to know you aren’t into it.

Want to come to my improv show?

Eh.

That guy doesn’t want to go to the show AND he is not going. Don’t bother asking him follow up questions. You will not get a “yes and” you will get a flat out “no.”

Want to come to my improv show?

Ih.

That guy isn’t thrilled about the idea, but he will likely go. Maybe he is a good friend of yours and will support you. Or maybe he says this to let you know he doesn’t want to, but you can persuade him… with a beer… or a free meal.

If you speak “ih” you are not interested… but you can be bought.

Will you be my date to Thanksgiving? Everyone in my family thinks I am such a loser because I never have a date to bring.

Eh.

Will you be my date to Thanksgiving? Everyone in my family thinks I am such a loser because I never have a date to bring. I will steal several plates of leftovers at the end of the night and they are all yours.

Ih.

That guy better follow up on his promise to steal leftovers for his new date.

Would you also like to come to my family’s Christmas gathering?

Uh.

Watch out, she’s planning her escape.

I’ve already told them about you, they’re so happy I’m in a relationship.

Oh.

Dude, she is surprised, since you guys are NOT dating.

It’s cool, I don’t think we are actually in a relationship. It’s a ruse so my parents will leave me alone.

Ah.

You saved that one! She is relieved you aren’t delusional.

Yeah, I am waiting until New Year’s to ask you out… just before the ball drops… it will be so romantic.

Oh. Uh. Aeaaaaiouaaahhhhh!

And you lost her. She is running away and she will never return.

But at least I created a new word!

**************

If you enjoyed this story and want to read more of my work, then please come check out my website where I post all my latest work, plus you can even subscribe for updates!

HilariousGeneralFunny
28

About the Creator

Stephen Kramer Avitabile

I'm a creative writer in the way that I write. I hold the pen in this unique and creative way you've never seen. The content which I write... well, it's still to be determined if that's any good.

https://www.stephenavitabilewriting.com/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 4 months ago

    What a great piece, loved it!❤️

  • Real Poetic4 months ago

    I apologize for being so late. I’ve been quite busy this new year. This story is hilarious and i love how well you’re able to tell a story using subtle humor that tickles me for the rest of the day! Amazing story once again and congrats!

  • Benjamin Carter4 months ago

    My name is Benjamin Carter.I love playing this lottery game and I have been buying lottery tickets for the past 3 years. but i have not been lucky enough to win a very big amount. So i have to make a research online when i saw a testimony of people talking about DR Kuda for giving them the right lottery winning numbers, so i contacted DR Kuda for him to help me with lottery winning numbers after i provided his requirements to cast the lottery spell and after which Dr Kuda give me a six-digit winning numbers to play the game and i went to the store and play the six Mega Million, after i finish playing the game, i waited for the result to come out and i was named the winner i won $200 Millions Dollars. I am so happy that my name is now on the Mega Million winner List. Dr Kuda did it for for me and made me who I am today. You can also contact Dr Kuda if you want to win the lottery Mega Million contact: [email protected]. i promise you that you are in the right place when you contact Dr Kuda for him to give you the right lottery winning numbers to play and win any amount of money. Call/Text Number +1 (346) 478-1991

  • ROCK 5 months ago

    Totally relate; I think you could take on the Swedish and Scandinavian languages quite well! To become familiar with ÄÅÖ is very complicated so many people just make a hoovering sound similar to sucking in a toddler's sock. Eh?

  • Suze Kay5 months ago

    lol I can totally see myself using this from now on!!!! Such a functional word, I love it.

  • Great word/expression. So why do I always get that last one, though?

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    That was great. Gave me a few chuckles. I must say though, as a Canadian, I'm having difficulty with with the negative connotation of "eh." To me, it's just thought ending. "That was a really good story, eh?" 🤣

  • Kristen Balyeat5 months ago

    Haha! Perfect! I love it. Totally adding ih to my word bank. Great article, Stephen—made me laugh! 😂

  • Shalom Elkin5 months ago

    Great job, I couldn't stop reading! Congratulations on achieving top story status!

  • Dana Crandell5 months ago

    Well, I'm sold and have added it to my live dictionary. You almost covered all the vowels. Now you need to come up with one for "and sometiimes Y." Great story, Stephen!

  • I thought "ih" was me but upon finishing reading, I know for a fact that "Aeaaaaiouaaahhhhh" is me 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • Mackenzie Davis5 months ago

    Absolutely sold on this word! I was viewing it like you described, but also a kind of non-committal sound, not quite as apathetic at “eh.” I very much enjoyed your article! Hilarious and interesting!

  • Lamar Wiggins5 months ago

    Oh my lord...😂 And somehow you sold it... I totally understood your explanation of how ih should/could be interpreted. I also loved the sentence examples. Awesome read, Stephen!

  • Scott Christenson5 months ago

    Interesting! Ive never heard or thought about this one, and so true, we are missing an ihhhhh. I can see your idea being a great standup joke! Maybe this will catch on.

  • L.C. Schäfer5 months ago

    This has led me chuckling 🤣 What 😁

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.