Humor logo

I am NOT Funny

I may be situationally humorous

By Judey Kalchik Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
https://pixabay.com/users/akadarcee-76024/?utm_source=link-attribution&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=image&utm_content=7856777

Listen; I know I am not funny. It's OK. Really. I've tried and failed to tell every joke that made ME laugh. There is NO joke so hysterical, so foolproof that I can't grab it by it's shorthairs and wring the chuckles out of it.

If there is a punch line I'll just tap it. If it's a killer story I'll just maim it. I OWN my unfunniness.

But I may be situationally humorous. Especially if I am tired. When I am tired the little guardian in my head goes sleepy-bye and random stuff comes out in my words.

A case in point is the past week. For example:

I am at a meeting for work. I've been on a plane (late), in a Lyft (polite but not afraid to take the curves at top speed, locked out of the hotel room (card didn't 'take the scan') and trying to find something I am 'allowed' to eat ('cause I'm keto and it's boring to explain to people why I am looking for salad at breakfast). And- I'm tired. Really really tired. And that mini guardian is fast asleep.

I'm poking at lettuce and wishing it was something else, when two people walk behind me, with one of them saying "Oh- do we have to sit with the guy that knows everything?", and I whip my head up and say "Is my ex-husband here?" in my out loud voice, looking around as if the man would have, after 16 years, followed me hundreds of miles away from his home.

Of course, this WAS ridiculous. He was never the guy that knows everything. He was only the guy that thought he knew everything. That is an entirely different matter and I should have known better.

Or just a few minutes ago: I'm sitting at the airport searching for an outlet to power my laptop and phone. I need to do this because my flight is on its third delay, and laptops don't run on happy thoughts alone. (BTW: Why? Why are all of the outlets situated directly beneath the speakers in airports? if you have to take a zoom call, check on your pet sitter, or wheedle an airline representative into doing something that won't get you home any faster anyways (maybe this is a personal example, IDK), you need to be prepared to let Marge-the loud patient voice-be part of the action at regular intervals.)

Well, Marge did her stuff- repeating the same message three times (because: policy). On the third time through I realized she was asking "Will Susan Smith (NOT a name I made up- it's what she really said!) please return to security checkpoint 18 and retrieve the abandoned Roomba?"

That, I thought, now that is interesting. As I thought that I said "Now, somehow I have a hard time believing that a woman would both bring and subsequently forget a Roomba at airport security." The man sitting across from me looked up, and looking me right in the eye, said that he didn't use Roombas. I nodded, and solemnly said that Susan had probably ruined that chance for all of us. He gave me the look usually reserved for women that pay with too many pennies and paper checks, and moved over a row.

This made me happy, because he was sitting in front of the only double outlet. Sometimes I guess I really am lucky.

One more example: Again, a business function, a dinner with out of town coworkers. I was trying to hear everyone's conversation at once, which isn't easy when you sit at the right hand of the foot of the table. Bits and pieces of conversation drifted over me, and I was struggling to pull out an intelligible thread. I was going to jump in with both feet in my mouth, and started to say something then thought better of it. The people I was with are so polite- they noticed and asked if I'd said something. No, I replied, I was going to say something but thought better of it. It's like other people's dreams- they are just things that people pretend are interesting but aren't.

Except- they were talking about the particularly vivid dreams they had experienced the other night. So, in this example it really wasn't funny. Unless I accept that sometimes I'm the one with egg on my face and the joke's on me.

~~

This actually is a terrifyingly hysterical example of something that happened when I traveled to Chicago for business. Learn from my mistakes, please!

I appreciate you reading my non-AI-generated thoughts! While you’re here, please choose one or more of the ways below to interact with me and the other writers on Vocal.

FIVE ways to interact with writers on Vocal:

1. Leave a comment and share your thoughts. Funny or no??

2. Click on the little heart to let me know that this clicked with you.

3. Click on the subscribe button and get a FREE notification when my next post goes live.

4. Feel free to share a link to anything I write on your social media.

5. A one-time tip or even a monthly pledge to support my writing is always appreciated if you are so moved!

Standup

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (14)

  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    You grabbed me by my short hair and Rang the chuckles outta me 🤣💯❗Great job📝

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Great story and funny. Wit and observational intelligence is the real humor of which you are gifted with. Let loose. 😎🤣

  • This is great for humour Judey, IThis will be another Top Story

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    There's a guardian? I'll have to check into that. I enjoy your sense of humor and I enjoyed this story.

  • Gerald Holmesabout a year ago

    Sorry Judey but I disagree with your Title. I have always found that you have a kind of intellectual wit that I love. You had me laughing out loud a few times in this story. Well done.

  • sleepy draftsabout a year ago

    This was so funny! 😂 Well done, Judey! The bit about your ex cracked me up 😂 And I loved your attitude when the guy made a weird face! You have a great sense of humour!

  • Misty Raeabout a year ago

    Situational or not, I think you're hilarious! It's the best when the filter goes bye-bye. I especially love the ex-hubby crack! :)

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Fantastic standup comedy routine!!! Laughing all the way and dropped a heart!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Hey, I like that those random thought pop into your head situationally. It is funny. I especially liked the one about your ex.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    LOL, I love that your filter goes bye-bye! What a crack up. You ARE funny :) Thank you for sharing, it made me chuckle.

  • Lana V Lynxabout a year ago

    This was hilarious, don't sell yourself short. As long as you have a great sense of humor and can laugh at yourself (which you clearly can) you are a fine, admirable human.

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    Situational humour has made a lot of people a lot of money. Think Mary Tyler Moore, Jerry Seinfeld, Tina Fey or Ricky Gervais. The kind of spontaneity you describe here is a gift IMHO!

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    I think you are funny in your own special way, remember your Chapstick Facebook post . 😃 I can relate jumping in a conversation and thought better not too. You seem to have a lot of adventure on you plane travels

  • Andrei Z.about a year ago

    Haha, 'Non-AI generated thoughts!' - yes, your thoughts are appreciated too! I guess some like to travel with their pets, some with Roombas...

Judey Kalchik Written by Judey Kalchik

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.