Humor logo

Department of Licensing

Take a number

By Melanie warman Published 11 months ago 3 min read
2

Opening shot: The Department of Licensing building with a sign that reads "Driver's License Testing Center." Our slogan is, “ click it for your ticket, we pass everyone every time guaranteed!”

We see Terf, Carol, Marge, and Bill sitting at their desks, surrounded by stacks of paperwork as the line of people outside grows longer. Only a 4 hr wait today.

Terf: (looking at the clock) "Ugh, it's only 9 am, and I'm already bored out of my mind."

Carol: "Tell me about it. I've already had to deal with three people who can't parallel park."

Marge: "At least you didn't have to deal with the guy who tried to take his test on a unicycle."

Bill: "Or the woman who thought she could drive with her eyes closed."

Terf: "Okay, okay, we get it. We deal with some pretty ridiculous people here. But that's what makes it entertaining, right?"

Suddenly, the door bursts open, and a man in a cowboy hat and boots walks in.

Cowboy: "Howdy, y'all! I'm here to take my driver's test."

Terf: (trying to hide a smile) "Alright, sir. Do you have your ID and registration?"

Cowboy: (pulling out a lasso) "Sure do! Let me just wrangle it up for ya."

The group looks at each other, trying not to burst out laughing.

Carol: "Okay, sir, let's start with the written test."

Cowboy: "Written test? Ain't nobody got time for that! I'll just show y'all my skills on the road."

Marge: "I'm sorry, sir, but we have to follow protocol. Written test first."

Cowboy: (sighing) "Fine, but can I at least do it in my cowboy hat?"

The group can't help but chuckle as the cowboy puts on his hat and starts filling out the test.

Later, the cowboy is behind the wheel, and the group is in the backseat, nervously holding onto their seatbelts.Teamwork makes the dream work.

Cowboy: "Y'all ready for this?" With fire in his eyes and confidence looking at the open road.

Terf: (trying to sound confident) "Absolutely. Just follow the signs and stay within the speed limit and don’t hit people or cars.”

The cowboy starts driving, but it's clear he's not used to the rules of the road. He announces it’s his first time and that YouTube made it look way easier.

Carol: (whispering to Marge) "I think I'm going to need a drink after this."

Bill: (covering his eyes) "I can't watch."

Finally, the cowboy pulls back into the parking lot, and the group lets out a collective sigh of relief. Surprised by no fatalities, they exit the car.

Terf: "Well, sir, I'm sorry to say that you didn't pass the test but we’re gonna give you a license to ride .”

Cowboy: (looking disappointed) "Aw shucks. I guess I'll just have to stick to my trusty horse."

The group watches as the cowboy walks out of the building, and they all burst out laughing.He had parallel parked his horse right out front.

Marge: "I think that's the craziest one yet."

Carol: "I don't know, I still think the unicycle guy takes the cake." Couldn’t go the speed limit , held up the entire damn freeway.

Bill: "I just hope we don't have to deal with anyone like that again."

Terf: "Oh, don't worry. There's always someone out there who thinks they're a better driver than they actually are." Take Bill for instance . He’s so old he can drive one of them stick cars.

The group laughs and goes back to their paperwork, ready for whatever crazy driver comes their way next.

Closing shot: The Department of Licensing building with a sign that reads "License to Laugh."

ComedyWriting
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    That was pretty entertaining. Definitely has potential.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.