Humor logo

At Age 64, They Told Me to Keep Writing

A Medium.com Article by Howard Bubski

By Scott ChristensonPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - December 2023

I’ve written 112 short stories, completed 7 full length novels, and am holding a half-eaten Hamptons Inn breakfast buffet plate of new writing projects.

None of my stories have been shortlisted in any major writing competition, and my novels are awaiting their first sale on Amazon KDP.

My articles on Medium are only getting 2 or 3 likes.

Last month I was about to give up.

When I asked friends on social media whether I should stop writing, for the first time in my life, I’ve received your encouragement and an overwhelming amount of feedback.

“Keep going!” my fellow Mediumites said. “Never give up!” “Life begins at 64!”

With half of my life in front of me, I have taken everyone’s advice to heart, dug into my writing habit, and have had amazing results! But as all good novels do, let’s start with the beginning of the story.

My interest in writing began at an early age, when at 4, I decided to become a novelist. I couldn’t read yet, but I caught sight of the important looking volumes on my parent’s bookshelf (frustratingly placed out of reach) and decided, “I want to do that!”.

the look of determination of the author at age 4

My path to becoming a recipient of public support on Medium.com was not always an easy one. As immigrants from Uzbekistan, our family struggled with adjusting to our new life in Racine Wisconsin.

We needed to start over. My Dad went from being a Nobel Prize nominated Physics Professor at the University of Tashkent, to being an Uber Eats delivery driver. My mother went from having 8 servants to learning how to handle a household by herself. We were living “The American Dream” they said, and I needed to learn English as a second language at the age of 11.

(In my 8th novel, I will pay homage to my homeland by using the Uzbek letters Ç=Ə=Ƣ=Ө=Ƶ for all character names.)

In Racine, by the age of 13, I was fluent in the language of my adopted homeland, learned to pronounce words such as the “Rolling Stones” without rolling the Rs, and was a member of my local middle school soccer team. I was now also living The American Dream™️.

After my schooling, adult life began. It does for most people.

I set aside writing to begin a successful career as an Insurance Claims Adjuster. My days were spent immersed in the important work of denying payments for unessential back operations and rejecting physiotherapy treatments for rotator cuff injury patients. My nights were consumed massaging my tired arms due to untreated carpal tunnel syndrome. At the end of the week, my wrists sore and my hands aching from signing thousands of claim rejection forms, I only had the energy left to spend Saturdays and Sundays bear hunting in Northern Wisconsin.

My path to the Top 10 Bestselling List

Upon retirement, I’ve passed the fountain pen of insurance rejection to the next generation. After giving up hunting (having recovering from my third bout with Lyme disease), my family suggested I try new hobbies, but with the positive encouragement I’ve received from online friend I've never met, I plan to spend my golden years writing the next 12 volumes of my memoir.

My wife suggests I tend the vegetable garden, but writing calls.

**

Thanks for taking the time to read about my journey!

My new book “Diaries of an Insurance Claims Adjuster — Volume #1“ is coming soon from Simon Schuster (just kidding, it's self-published.)

“The 5 Rules of Writing (by Howard Bubski)” will be released shortly on Medium.

**

Note: I’m posting this on behalf of Howard Bubski, who claims that some characters and events portrayed are fictitious, even though it mostly rings true to me. All photos from Unsplash and Wikimedia Commons.

Satire

About the Creator

Scott Christenson

Born and raised in Milwaukee WI, living in Hong Kong. Hoping to share some of my experiences w short story & non-fiction writing. Have a few shortlisted on Reedsy:

https://blog.reedsy.com/creative-writing-prompts/author/scott-christenson/

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (19)

  • Manisha Dhalani6 months ago

    Haha. Congrats on your top story!

  • Caroline Jane6 months ago

    Errrrrr. OK. I am figuring on some sort of character led joke here but I am not sure if I got that right? Sorry to be a dim wit! 🙈

  • Z.a.i.n.t.z6 months ago

    inspiring ❤❤❤❤🌹✌

  • k eleanor6 months ago

    This is a good one. Enjoyed the read. Congratulations on top story!❤

  • Love your story . I am 74 and just began to write again.

  • Leslie Writes6 months ago

    I love how weird this is.

  • Alisha Wilkins6 months ago

    There is always time to invest in your dreams, no matter your age. Just don't ever give up on your goals and dreams. Keep writing and living through your readers.

  • ROCK 6 months ago

    You must keep writing; it's what we are driven to do. I am 60, always have written and been encouraged to do so. I took long hiatuses for more practical things, like nursing school and a family but now I see I have to. I must. You must. It's not a conquest, rather our mission in the name of ArT. I am grateful to discover you on The Vocal.

  • Good one Scott!!! I enjoyed the read.

  • Kendall Defoe 6 months ago

    Keep at it. Life begins at... You know what...? Just write! Top Story, indeed... 🏅

  • Judey Kalchik 6 months ago

    Keep on keepin on

  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    LOL! I am so glad this got Top Story, Scott! This should spur the myth, the legend, to continue his fine works!

  • JBaz6 months ago

    I always enjoy reading your work, never give up. Do it if only for yourself. I feel you doubt, but feel I am just getting started.

  • You've done it again *Clapping* I think there's an article about winning a Marathon by 70 just by wearing the right shoes that Bubski should read! I'm sure that will be the next great thing for him!

  • I feel so lost. May I know who is Howard Bubski? Also, your story tag is satire. So this isn't true? So sorry for being so blur 😅

  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    Well...this started my day off to a flying and hilarious start! Mr Bubski sounds like the kind of legend that only comes around once every millenia! Enjoyed this immensely.

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    Excellent. A career to be proud of.

  • D. J. Reddall6 months ago

    Bubski, you magnificent bastard. I was waiting for you to surface again! How's the gout?

  • Raymond G. Taylor6 months ago

    Loved reading Bubski’s story who shares an important personal fact with me. Great piece of writing

Scott ChristensonWritten by Scott Christenson

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.