Humans logo

Yeni Kuti Gives Thoughts on Young Men Marrying Older Oyinbo Women

Yeni reacts

By Jide OkonjoPublished 5 months ago 3 min read

Conversation has been happening online about the trend of young Nigerian men marrying older oyinbo women with no issue, while at the same time, scowling at the idea of marrying older Nigerian women. The conversation was generated when a Twitter user by the name of Senator Shehu Sani said: "Why do African young boys marry European grand mums but don't want to marry African grand mums?"

The ladies of TVC's Your View got a hold of this tweet and also chose to have a conversation about the topic. One panelist especially, Yeni Kuti, couldn't wrap her head around it and spoke deftly against it expressing why she cannot accept it and what she would have done if her own nephew, Made Kuti, who recently got married, had come back with a much older woman. Here is what Yeni Kuti had to say on the matter.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox, so you don't miss out on any of the hottest things that have happened throughout the week. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

Yeni Kuti during interview

Speaking on the topic of young men marrying much older women, Yeni Kuti said:

YENI KUTI: Excuse me, my nephew just got married and he's like my son. He has a beautiful 20 something year old wife. If Made had come with my agemate, I don't care if she's even more beautiful than me, and said this is my wife? HA! I would become a Christian and cast and bind! I would have been casting and binding. Even if she's a billionaire, and so therefore what? And so what? So it's my own grandson, my own son, that you want to use. Ah no oh! Sorry. That kayamata, I would know it exists on that day. WHAT?! His father has spent all this money, has dedicated you, has done all these things. You now come with agemate? Your father's agemate?! Can you give him children? It's not even about children, you want to marry a person that I'll be calling aunty?! If you're 35 and your girlfriend is 40, no problem. You're 25, your girlfriend is 30, no problem. But when it's 30 years, 25 years age difference? Ha!

Thanks for diving into this story with me! Btw, every time you read, support, and share my work, it fuels my hunger to keep bringing you the latest news on your favorite Nigerian celebrities, movies, music and more. Your thoughts also matter to me, so please share them in the comments below, or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post. Let's keep the conversation going and I can't wait to see your thoughts on this.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

Btw, in addition to blogging, I also make money through Whatsapp Status Sessions. If you also want to earn money through status sessions, I've created a complete guide to help you get started so we can all eat! Download it here.

In addition to running a blogging page, I also run a writing community called "Jide Okonjo Writers Club" where you can create, earn, participate in critique, and mingle with other writers. To join us, click here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jide OkonjoWritten by Jide Okonjo

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.