Humans logo

Without Words

The Power of Touch

By Theresa Marie CainPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
Like
...his eyes pleading for a yes

The sky above was cerulean, almost too rich to be real blue. A floating canvas, it was dotted with achromatic cumulus-dancing unicorns, fire-breathing dragons and one that looked quite similar to my Aunt Donna. The sun radiated through each empty space in the clouds creating heavenly beams of light and warmth. Blanket in hand, I made my way along the winding, stone path that led to the park. Every pebble, imbedded in unforgiving concrete felt like a massage to my sandal covered feet. The perfect spot revealed itself, soft grass canopied by a large oak tree enveloped in shades of kelly, hunter, and forest green leaves.

I rolled out my crimson colored, flannel blanket and watched it ripple in waves, caught in a brief gust of wind. As it settled, I saw him and my eyes immediately brightened. Instead of sitting I ran to him, arms outstretched and tension palpable. Breast to chest, his arms clutched me almost desperately. I wrapped my arms around him in equal abandon. His heart beat voraciously. I could feel it in spite of my own which was equally energetic. His embrace, insistent and gentle, spoke deeply of the affection he held for me. A soft yet firm touch of his lips against mine started a tingle in the pit of my stomach and slowly worked its way down. Passionate yet not lustful it was intense nonetheless. The tingle melted down a little lower. Wisdom told us to pull apart and in as equal enthusiasm to embrace was our disinterest in severing it. We couldn’t stand on the cobblestone forever.

Our eyes locked and in unison we took each other’s hand, his left in my right and we walked towards the blanket. It lifted with the occasional whisper of the wind held in place by a small wicker basket replete with red bow and brass buckle. His smile communicated his approval of the location. He gently pulled my hand to sit and side by side I melted into the cocoon his strong arms created. Picnic basket forgotten, we rested into one another until our shadows melted into one yet the sun was still bright.

He turned towards me and kissed my forehead. Trailed his fingers down the side of my cheek. Softly caressed the nape of my neck. The fullness at the top of my breasts. His fingers trailed deliberately, with intention down my arm and ended up holding my hands which he placed in his lap. I could feel his strong thigh muscles rippling beneath the smooth surface of his chino pants. He tenderly took my face in his hands again but this time as our eyes locked, silky tears fell from his eyes and he kissed me again. My hands were still in his lap as he slowly released his delicate cradle of my face. I didn’t see his hand reach into his pocket but I could feel the velvet caress of something velvety being placed in my hands.

I looked down to see a box, red and satin smooth in my palm. My head jerked up in shock and anticipation, my eyes meeting his full of questions. My heart reverberating like a drum beat from my chest into my throat. Somehow the box managed to stay in my hands but still trembling he reached for it opening the lid much too languidly. Nestled inside on a bed of creamy silk was a ring. I looked up from the glimmering princess cut diamond to him. His eyes pleaded for a yes that an arduous kiss on his lips answered. The ring was placed on my finger with a steady hand. We curled into each other’s bodies and I nestled into the safety and security of his arms while I watched the ring twinkle in the rays of the sun filtering through the canopy of trees. Relaxing into the comfort of the red, flannel blanket with my head now on his strong chest, his heartbeat a song, we watched in a cerulean sky dancing unicorns, fire-breathing dragons and my fluffy-haired Aunt Donna

marriagefriendshiplove
Like

About the Creator

Theresa Marie Cain

I am a writer. At the heart of every creative endeavor I am a writer. Putting nomenclature to my pain, rage and shame. Cognominating (look it up-I did) every pleasure, peace and release. I am a creative. I am a writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.