Humans logo

Window to the Soul

The Enchanting Eyes and My Strange Obsession With Their Beauty

By Daisy RayPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

People intrigue me. Their style, the way they carry themselves, hair color, piercings, etc... but the greatest thing about a person are their eyes.

A person's eyes reflect emotion or lack thereof. I go places like coffee shops and local hangouts to people watch. Not in a creepy way, but in an observant way. I enjoy seeing how people interact, hearing their funny comments, and noticing the seemingly unseen acts of kindness.

I go out to shops, restaurants, and busy places simply to have an excuse to interact with people whose eyes I can see without it being creepy. The sweet girl who works at Schlotskys, her eyes are full of joy every time I interact with her; and on the day I saw something extra hidden behind those eyes, I was able to ask her if she was okay. I then ended up with a friend for both noticing and caring.

If I were a master artist, I'd spend all day drawing different people's eyes, expressions, and inflections behind those beautiful orbs.

A Galaxy

If I were to try to describe and share my admiration for the beauty of eyes, I'd have to say... the same sense of awe at their beauty is the kind of awe I get when I stare into the flickering flames of an enchanting fire, or watch an uncontrollable downpour of rain from a giant window. I see galaxies and the depths of a person's heart within their eyes, their character, and very soul through one glance or gaze. If you look at your own eyes in a mirror for too long, you may even get hypnotized by your own gaze, due to the fact that you can get completely lost in the depths of a pair of eyes.

Hazel, Blue, Brown, Black, Grey, even purple, sometimes with flecks of gold within. And sometimes swirling with multiple different colors. Red implies exhaustion, stress, anger, sadness, or many other emotions. And a shiny tearful sheen implies pain or sorrow.

Humans are complicated, I find it difficult to trust them, but I so desperately want to... A person's eyes are what put me at ease to where I can trust. I know no person is perfect, but I can see the goodness within a person inside their eyes. I can tell if they're going to lie to me or are plotting instead of listening. I stay away from texting for that very reason; if I cant see someone's eyes, I find it difficult to trust the response is a positive one, simply because I see no joy behind an automated response. All this must make me seem crazy, and maybe I am. But one thing I know for certain is that people were made beautifully and incredibly. We were made to connect and interact, to love and play and encourage and sometimes even to fall down. We were made with windows to our incredible souls, and our windows are enchanting in every aspect.

Pictures

I also have a fascination with pictures. I love how a moment of beauty or fun or chaos can be captured in one small box to last longer than the split second it was taken. The thoughts in the people's pictured eyes are truly incredible. They're frozen in time to be decoded by someone patient enough to examine them. You can see the reflection of the world in their eyes or a slight sadness in the tiny crease between the brows even while the photographed is smiling. I find it difficult to part with pictures, and oftentimes, the gifts I give people for birthdays or Christmases are picture related, simply because I believe they're the most meaningful gifts a person can receive. They're reminders of laughter, of a time gone by that was good and right and happy; and sometimes, when we see the pictures we don't even remember the difficulties that lied behind the photo. I could spend hours examining pictures as long as there are people in them. People are what make pictures powerful. I don't believe pictures can capture a sunset as magnificently as it appears in person, but a memory it can most definitely capture with excellence. What have you seen in the window to the soul? Take the time to look into other's eyes and see who they truly are. See their potential and their power. See your own too, you are beautiful and incredible. See that and become the person others see behind your beautiful eyes.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Daisy Ray

I believe the world can be changed simply through the power of a smile.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.