Humans logo

WHY Pilgrimaging through the Concrete Jungle??

First of all, it's a very Humbling Experience

By Lego senseiPublished about a year ago 6 min read
Like

While Searching on Google for a Good Picture to put in my Next Article — A Week Living on the Streets in PTCJ, I got Distracted a little and starting Reading about other people’s Experiences Living on the Streets.

Where Most People are not Homeless by Choice, there are a significant number of people who actually are, be it to Settle their Debt without having to Pay Housing Rent or Young’ns running off with Lovers to start a New Life or just to Wanting to be Free from Responsibilities and Obligations and Drug abuse which landed them in a Position where everyone they know have Abandoned them.

One Woman Shared her Experience Living Homeless, just in her Van while working her Job, and her Main Purpose behind doing that Being Wanting to Become Financially Secure by Evading Paying for Housing Rent for a while. I can Say it’s quite a Smart Life Strategy.

As The Purpose of my Life had became quite Clear Few Years Back being “WORLD PEACE”,

Reading these experiences Made Me to Think about My PURPOSE for Living Life as a Homeless and helped me to decide on what to write in my next chapter on “Pilgrimage Through the Concrete Jungle” Because I couldn’t put Myself into any Category of the Experiences I had just read about.

First thing that came to Mind, a Verbatim being, “Mai Apna Dream nhi shadanga chahe Mainu Footpath te na Sona Pave.” Translating to “I ll Never Abandon My Dream even when that Chasing will Land Me on Streets.” which was Said 7 months ago to one of My Housemates.

8 Months ago, I was Made to Quit my Job for Not Tolerating unEthical Behavior of my Manager at Work and I quit without any Savings or Another Job because it Felt my Self-Respect is Much More Important than Self-Preservation.

I ve Always been the Doing-things-at-the-Last-Minute kinda Guy and whenever I would let Universe take Control of My Life, Something Good Always came out of it, so I stopped Worrying about the Future and didn’t really tried to Look for a Job Right Away.

I always Liked Writing so I thought Maybe I can Use this Free Time to Try and Build a Online Presence as a Writer, specializing in Psychology and Philosophy. It is one of my Biggest Dream to Achieve Something Significant in the Psychology/Philosophy Field. I Started Putting All of my Effort into Writing Content Online, Debating Ideas with other Writers and Expanding My Knowledge.

Time Started Passing by and Money kept Running out. Even tho i was Growing Internally, I started Falling behind my Rent Money and Bills and had to spend Leftover Money Frugally. But, Sometimes, I would get a Little Sum of Money from Government, being it little Tax Return Money that comes in the span of every 3 months around the Year or Sometimes 100$ Welfare Money for Bad Climate Conditions and to Me, It looked like Universe was Nudging Me to Keep on Going with what I was Doing so I did, without Worrying about Starting any Source of Income.

I thought the Right Opportunity will Knock at My Door at the Right Time and that will Save Me at the Very Critical Moment, So in the Heat of Feeling Special I turned Away any other Job Opportunities that came to Me which would have Helped Me Pull out of Homeless Swamp I was Travelling Towards, unbeknownst to Me at that Time.

Then, the Eviction Notice came, to Empty the House in a Month, I kept My Cool and Kept Believing in Universe and Held my Faith Strong that GOD wouldn’t put Me in any Situation I can’t Handle.

Then, the End of the Month came, with No Improvement on my Income Source Situation, I prepared Myself Mentally, Packed My BackPack with things that I thought would Assist Me while on the Streets and Stepped out in the Open with a Belief in my Heart that Everything Happens for a Reason.

Spent 2 days on the Streets (More details in https://medium.com/@legosensei222/pilgrimage-through-the-concrete-jungle-32e76608e5ec?source=user_profile---------7---------------------------- and https://medium.com/@legosensei222/pilgrimage-through-the-concrete-jungle-continued-daaf3373efd?source=user_profile---------6---------------------------- and Seeing How, along with facing Hardships, Subtle Good things was also Happening like-

After Walking around all Day, Found Shelter at just the Nick of Time before a Snow Storm Hit.

When I had no Money to Buy Food and was Starving, I ran into my Co-worker from last Job and He offered to Buy Me Food without even Knowing that Homeless, it was surprising bcoz this Guy used to be Super Stingy. I was Stunned at the Timing of this Happening.

One Day I was really Tired of Walking all night in the Snow and when I finally Find a Place with Heat at a Bus Terminal, I was Feeling Embarrassed to Sleep in front of People, so I went to the other Part of the terminal to find a Place with less people around, instead I found a Guy sleeping on a Bench under the Heater comfortably, with his Feet up on the Bench, Shoes off and Socks smelling bad and it was Making other People Standing near really Uncomfortable, But He was Sound Asleep, Snoring even. That really Inspired Me how He doesn’t care about what People think and is just Concerned about getting Some Sleep to keep his Health up. And I did the Same and got Some decent Sleep and I feel I wouldn’t have come this if I kept caring bout Appearances. I just came to terms with my Situation and made the best of it.

One time, After Walking through Snow all, I was Sitting at a Bus stop drying out my Socks, when Someone saw me and offered me a New Pair of Socks they had just Bought on their way going Home.

Looking things from the Outer Perspective, these things may Sound Insignificant but the Timing couldn’t be this Perfect if this was all a Coincidence and seeing all this kept my Resolve Strong Indicating that I have nothing as GOD is always Watching over Me and GOD has a Plan for Me which I can Never Understand. Only thing I am Capable of Doing is Following the Signs and Going Forward.

That’s why I decided on Naming this Journey a Pilgrimage and Summarizing all this, I can say that-

My PURPOSE for Being Homeless is to See the World Through the Perspective of a Homeless Person, Draw Conclusions from Observations and Figure out a Plan to Help the Less-Fortunate People Psychologically, and by Help the Less-Fortunate, I don’t just Mean the Homeless because I don’t See that much of a Different between Homeless and A Employed Person, Psychologically Speaking.

Let’s Discuss these Similarities and Differences in the Next Chapter.

I gotta go to the Homeless Shelter before they close Check-In.

Till next time.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Lego sensei

A on a Journey to become a NOVELIST, who got blessed with a lot of free time during covid-19 lockdown.

"a Sarcastic Jerk trying to become a Novelist? that's interesting"- my friend's comment on me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.