Humans logo

Why I Was Warned Against Dating A Colombian Man

I write this as he is making me dinner.

By sara burdickPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Why I Was Warned Against Dating A Colombian Man
Photo by Flavia Carpio on Unsplash

The other day I checked into a hostel. My Spanish is finally at a level of above basic conversations- YAY!

So the women are asking me why are you here, where are you from. How do you like Colombia? The normal questions you get when you check into a hostel or hotel.

I answer back (this is all in Spanish). Then I proceed to tell them I am in the city to complete my visa. And that I live in a very small town 4 hours away with my “novio”.

Then the real questions, or should I say the inquisition begins. You have a Colombian boyfriend, why? Does he speak English? Why are you dating him? How did you meet?

The biggest statement of all:

Why are you dating a Colombian man? They are horrible

Yes, I know this already. Well, kind of..

Colombian men have a reputation of being dogs, and cheaters. I knew this coming here. In the past, I have always dated here and never met a “bad” Colombian.

This can happen anywhere, I told the two very sweet Colombian women. They laughed and wished me good luck.

I understand their concern. I do. If someone tells me they are dating a guy from England I will give my two cents. I was married to a guy from England. He was a narcissist and mentally abused me.

So we all have our opinions.

Can men cheat anywhere in the world, yes.

Can men be a**holes anywhere, yes.

Should you judge a country on this statement, no.

My boyfriend actually spoils me. Latin men are very loving. Know for being passionate and yes have a reputation for being promiscuous.

On a side note when I traveled to Europe, I was an “American”. Did you know that we have a reputation for being “easy”.

Yea, me either until I heard it with my own ears, mortified. I could not believe this.

So you can believe what you want. I am here to tell you what you believe is true.

I will not let that stop me. I learned a long time ago to not listen to rumors. I tend to go with my intuition. It is not always right, but I always gain something out of each experience.

I was single for a really long time. When he showed up in my life it was exactly what I needed, not what I wanted. The universe will always give you what you need, not what you want.

I wanted to stay single forever.

So far the only thing he has done to me that is bad is spoiling me rotten. He cooks me dinner, he cleans, he takes me out. He is amazing.

Does this have a chance of changing yes, does this have anything to do with where he is from no.

My Colombian boyfriend has never said a mean word to me, he is the most patient kind soul I have ever met. I am lucky and blessed to have him in my life.

When we met, it was as if I have known him for years, he is my home.

As I always say for now this is perfect, anything can always change at any moment. Except I will enjoy what I have now, and will not let others taint my experience.

In the past, I have destroyed the good in people. This is my first real relationship as a sober person. So far it is my best relationship.

I did a lot of work on myself to get here, it was not an overnight process. I think what you vibrate is what you will attract.

love
1

About the Creator

sara burdick

I quit the rat race after working as a nurse for 16 years. I now write online and live abroad, currently Nomading, as I search for my forever home. Personal Stories, Travel and History

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.