Humans logo

Why I Stopped Getting Movie Roles - Nse Ikpe-Etim

Nse finally explains long absence from the industry

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

If you're a fan of Nse Ikpe-Item or a fan of Nollywood in general, then you will remember that long period of time when it seemed like Nse Ikpe-Etim was no longer acting. Do you remember? She went from a very popular, very beloved actress who was in multiple projects to being completely M.I.A for a while in the movie industry.

Now, the amazingly talented actress is back in full force. She starred in Kemi Adetiba's hit series, King of Boys: The Return of the King, the movie Quam's Money, and she will also appear in Netflix's upcoming Glamour Girls.

Nse in the new King of Boys series

Now, during her new sit down interview with Chude, Nse finally opened up and explained what happened during those times it looked like she had completely fallen off the planet of the earth. Don't worry, nothing sinister happened. Here's what Nse explained.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Nse Ikpe-Etim on #WithChude

During the interview, Chude asked Nse Ikpe-Etim about the time where she started to feel a drought in her career and wasn't getting movie roles. Nse Ikpe-Etim explained what happened saying:

If any actor says they haven't been through that then I don't envy them because the drought is also time for growth. You can't waste any moments and I think if you're prepared, when the opportunity comes, if there was a drought, you're ready. So there's no moment that's a drought for me. Yes they don't come or yes they come and you're not quite sure. But yes, I have had a drought, like massive drought, and this was during the period when I had a medical condition and I wasn't available. And in life, no matter how you look at it, there are some things that are more important than other things. And so it was family time and it was necessary to at least understand that what it is that I had gotten myself into because I didn't get married because it was fashionable. You're living with someone, you've got to learn yourselves. It's a thing, and if it's a thing you've walked into, you've got to do what people do. Right? So it was during this period that I realized I had a health condition and I was going through so much in my head. So even when things came, I was enthused. Then they stopped coming altogether and that too was fine. Because really, it didn't matter to me. I was done, mentally.

Nse further went on to explain that the health condition she was dealing with was Adenomyosis, an illness that occurs when the tissue that normally lines the uterus (endometrial tissue) grows into the muscular wall of the uterus. To save her life from the life-threatening disease, Nse had to take out her womb and has been very open in discussing her journey with that.

Today, Nse says she's happy and that she has a good support system around her. She is excited about work and says that no matter how much she tries to run away from acting, it's like a drug that she always comes back to. So, we'll be seeing her around for a long time.

What do you think about this story? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.