Humans logo

Why I Quit Music for Skitmaking - Lasisi Elenu

Lasisi gets honest.

By Jide OkonjoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

Nigerian skit maker and comedian, Lasisi Elenu is very well known for his hilarious internet skits, comedy videos, and stand-up comedy. He is also an actor who has starred in a number of movies including The Razz Guy and recently, African Messiah.

What many people may not know is that Lasisi actually started out in this industry a long time ago before he started doing skit making. Then, Lasisi was pursuing music under the stage name, Nature. Not many of his songs are still available online but one called "What Is The Matter" is still available. I'll link to it below.

In a new interview with Hip TV, Lasisi was asked about his music career - specifically why he left it for comedy. This is what Lasisi had to say to that question.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Lasisi

During his interview with HipTv, Lasisi was asked, "You jumped right into comedy trading off music, why?" to which he answered:

You see this question, honestly, y'all really starting to flip me out. We know why the exchange, whether na trade and barter, we know. We know that it was not successful. It was hard. Life was hard. It was pressing my neck. E choke me. That was when e choke started. It's obvious actually. A lot of people are like me today. They go from one career path to another not because it's by choice but because they just found themselves there, and that's my story.

I started off as an artiste, a voice over artiste, as a whatever, now I'm doing comedy. But it's because I didn't find a good ground for becoming famous there and I saw this as a leverage and I took chance and I took it by force. So yeah, that's why.

Then Lasisi was asked, "What is your take on jumping from one trade to another?" to which he said:

If you're jumping, my brother, jump! You know why? Before this, I used to do music and I put out songs but what I did then was I'd sit down in my car and I'd record myself rapping to instrumental. I'd just download any form of instrumental and I'd rap to it. I got comments, maybe 4, 5, 6 as the case may be. I was also consistent in doing that but it took me nowhere. Will I say it took me nowhere? Mmm, not categorically speaking. But I still felt fulfilled doing that. No reward for it. I just wanted people, only family and friends, to see that and still give me their like every now and then. But then it got to a point, I'd reached my peak. I was frustrated because this would not just be the cycle - me sitting down in a car, rapping, 'oh the rap sweet', at the end 4 comments - what is the next level for me? I was consistent, I did that again and again and again. But the moment I was able to have a break as being Lasisi Elenu who came out as a ranter, I saw an opportunity, I saw a window and I took it and I held on to it. So I'm just human. I do not know what my life would have turned out to if I did not have a break in this career path. I don't know if the videos I did that blew me then, if they did not go far or nobody saw it, I don't know if I would still have (continued doing this). Because really, telling people to be consistent is not easy. But the advice I would give you is: the moment that you have that breakthrough, make sure your consistency is 100%.

Very solid advice. Now, Lasisi is doing skit making and I must say he's doing it very well. He's one of my favorite online skit makers.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jide OkonjoWritten by Jide Okonjo

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.