Humans logo

Why I Drew My Face Tattoo and How I Feel When It Makes Little Children Run Away - DJ Sose

DJ Sose opens up about face tattoo

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read

Popular Nigerian disc jockey DJ Sose is well known for his appearance as a judge on Nigerian Idol, but beyond that, as a person, DJ Sose is most known for his very distinctive face tattoo which he has been rocking since 2007. DJ Sose's tattoo is unmissable and causes a mixed bag of reactions for the people who see it. Some people really love his face tattoo while there are the many who also really hate it and think it's too much.

During a new interview with The Nation, DJ Sose explained once and for all why he actually drew that face tattoo on himself, and he also explained how he feels about people, both adults and children's reactions to his face tattoo. Here is what DJ Sose said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Speaking about why he drew his face tattoo, DJ Sose explained:

I have had my face tattooed since 2007, so any brands or companies that want me to erase my tattoo means they are not interested in me. They just want to use me. It is the same way how I’m not signed to any record label, I’m self-made. Because right now it’s a case where I have built my brand to that point where a record label cannot say, ‘I want you to be under us’. No, it would be a partnership and not working under you. My brand is strong enough to stand on its own, if it is not strong enough that means I won’t be here. It is the African accessories, the Afro-Urban outfits, and the tattoo. It all signifies the unity of my origins, which are that I am half Nigerian and half Hungarian. I was also looking at something that one could use to recognise me. It’s a case where everybody needs something to make them stand out from the crowd.

When I first started, I had similar mixing styles to another DJ who was already established in the industry so people were always mixing me up with him. Anywhere I went, people always mistook me for me, so I had to figure out something that would make me stand out from the crowd.

Speaking about how he feels when he sees people, both adults and children, who are afraid of him because of his tattoo, DJ Sose said:

Well, People fear anything they don’t understand. Those that fear it do so because it’s something new and their minds cannot process it, while for others, it’s a case of curiosity. So it boils down to the individual. Yes, I’ve gone to places where adults and children were so afraid that they kept away from me. But it’s fine, I don’t mind. It is their opinion and they are entitled to it.

What do you think about DJ Sose's reason for getting his tattoo, the tattoo itself, and the reactions to the tattoo? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jide OkonjoWritten by Jide Okonjo

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.