Humans logo

"Are You Afraid to Have Another Child Because of This First One's Condition?" - J'odie Responds Honestly

J'odie gives her thoughts about having a second baby

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read

Nigerian singer J'odie who is till today still best known for her 12 year old hit song "Kuchi Kuchi" is opening up again about how life has been for her as a 'special mother' - a term which has been coined to describe mothers of special needs children. In case you do not know, J'odie has a special needs son who is now six years old, and over the years, J'odie has been very open and vocal about the challenges that come with raising a special needs child especially here in Nigeria.

Now during a new interview with The New Telegraph, J'odie opens up once again about her experience as a special mother, as well as her thoughts and fears towards having a second baby. Here is what J'odie said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

J'odie and son

During the interview, J'odie was asked "Due to your son’s condition, are there fears of having another child?". She responded:

Yes I won’t lie, I was scared. I’m not married first of all but I know that that doesn’t stop you from having a child.

"I mean are you scared that if you have another child there might be a recurrence of the situation?"

No, that is not my fear because my first experience of having a child was not an easy one due to complications, surgery, and the child not cry for nine hours and so on. Then after all those things I was left alone to take care of the child. So my first experience wasn’t an easy one but that doesn’t mean if an opportunity comes in a more supportive circle I will like to give it a try because raising a child shouldn’t be what one person would do.

"So, you are not scared that having another child might result in another special need child?"

Having a special needs child can be out of complications it’s not like you made it happen. Now I am more aware and there are certain tests you can do to verify and follow up. Not that I didn’t do antenatal care then but there are some things that I would not take chances with anymore. I will be much more intentional about where I will give birth because that hospital where I gave birth did not help, they didn’t even have enough oxygen to give my son. Apart from that, I almost died.

"What is the weird thing you have been advised to do since your journey as special needs mother?"

Sincerely it been a crazy journey laced with agony; it’s as bad as people advising me to kill my son because of his health challenge. It’s been six whole years, I have summoned the courage to live above negativity and embrace my current situation. Irrespective of my son’s health challenge, he is a sweet boy and I love him so much.

I really champion and cut cap for J'odie for talking about the struggles that so many parents face raising special needs children. It is a topic that is not often discussed but happening to so many people all over Nigeria and the world. It is really good to see J'odie constantly talking about it and bringing awareness to it. What do you think about what J'odie said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jide OkonjoWritten by Jide Okonjo

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.