Humans logo

Why I Didn't Act Any Nigerian Movie For 15 Years - Basketmouth

Basketmouth gets honest

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read

Nigerian standup comedian, actor, and director Basketmouth after 15 years starred in his first Nollywood movie. Up until now, Basketmouth has only acted on his TV shows which he produces like My Flatmates. But as far as movies go, Basketmouth has not done one for 15 years. Now, he stars in the movie, Brotherhood.

During a recent interview with Wazobia Max, Basketmouth opened up about why he hasn't acted a Nollywood movie in 15 years and what made him agree to do this new one. Here's what he said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Explained why he decided to finally star in this movie after 15 years of not acting in any Nigerian movie, Basketmouth said:

For over 15 years, people have been meeting me with script. At least every month, one or two scripts will come. But none of them made me ginger. And with all due respect to everybody, the producers them, none of their movies have caught me. Because you know me, I like to look for faults. When I watch film, it's mistake that I look for and then I learn some things. Yes, I listen to the story but some stories do not slap.

So when Jade Osiberu came, it was a process, but when we eventually met, I started listening to her. I had already done small research, checked her past work and everything, it was the reason that made me agree. As she talked about the film, the way she talked, I just believed the girl. Do you understand? When she now said it's action film, that is what now made me doubt small. So I asked her "show me what you've done that has to do with action?" As she showed me, it was a scene from Gangs of Lagos, as I watched it, I said okay, I will do it with you.

So me I've never done film before. I've never gone to anybody's set where they will tell me "Basket sit there!". It's me that normally directs. So I now said how am I going to do this thing for close to a month? But I was like no matter what happens, you have to give it your best. So I read the script, I liked it, I liked everything. When I reached set, I was the first person to reach because I didn't want them to say I came late. So I came on time, sat down. But what made me know the film would be good - the director, Lukman. He was patient and he was very tactical. Then Jade most especially, she knows! She didn't tell me how I should play the character but as I read it, as they just said "Action!", that's how I just entered the character. So after they said "Cut!", as I saw her clapping and the way she greeted me "nice one!". I was happy she liked it but I asked her that I wanted to do it again because I am a perfectionist. I liked that she gave us time because if one person did not do well, if they didn't like what they did and asked to do it again, we would do it again.

I don't want to blow Jade's trumpet but I do not regret doing this movie. When I said yes to her, for some reason, I knew I made the right decision.

What do you think about what Basketmouth said? If you watched Brotherhood, what do you think about Basketmouth's first foray into acting in a movie? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jide OkonjoWritten by Jide Okonjo

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.