Humans logo

Why does society want us to be self-conscious about our bodies?

My personal experience

By Dipra JainPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Source - Restoration Wellness

In many cultures especially in Indian cultures girls (more importantly unmarried) are expected to be extremely thin/slim. If you are not, everybody from friends, to relatives, to neighbours and random strangers will give you tips or as we say “Desi tips” to use and get in shape.

I have been overweight as a child and I am even now as a 24 year old. I have been listening to multiple “ pieces of advice” and nodding my head every time. Be it weddings, conference or just a meet and greet everybody thinks they have the right to comment on my body shape. Who gave you this right? Did I ask you for your advice? Or was it the part of the event that said go around and comment on every girl’s body type?

Listening to people say how I am not enough just because I am overweight made me hate my body and feel less about myself for years. At the mere age of 14 I was told I have knock knees. This is caused due to lack of vitamin D and calcium. My knees were not the same as everybody else. I could not run properly or do many exercises or do sports like others. However, people think that a person is overweight because they are lazy and eat tons of junk food, they never think it’s just tough for some people. A lot of people commented on my body and how I am not beautiful because I am not size 6.

And it is not just society but the internet makes you feel bad about your own body. I googled overwieght synonyms and one word that came as a result was “Gross”. So basically according to my google research overiweight people are gross?

Source - Google

I tried my best to stay healthy and fit, I never liked the way my body looked when I danced or ran. I hated when I saw myself in the mirror and sometimes just felt like smashing it.

But I didn’t give up, I joined this dance class near my home. The dance teacher there made me feel at peace and made me fall in love with dancing. I loved myself and the fact that I was happy after dancing. It took me years to finally be able to accept my body and the way I look. But this did not last for long, in just 3 months of dancing I twisted my right knee. This happened in 2016 and my life has never been the same after that. I gained weight because I was restricted from doing even basic exercises at the gym like running and squats were out of the question.

After that, I started working full-time and sitting for 9 hours every day did not really help my body either. I gained further weight which weakened my knees. So now, to lose weight I need to exercise and if I did it would hurt like hell. That basically was a circle, to lose weight I can't work out and if I don't work out I can't lose weight.

In addition to that, I am a vegetarian and due to my religion (Jainism), I already don't eat a lot of vegetables which have a huge impact on my diet, especially my protein intake. I tried multiple diets and intermittent fasting but nothing worked. I gave up, I started disliking my body again and since I disliked my body I thought nobody will love me too.

Then, I read many articles and blogs about body positivity and slowly I started to accept my body and during this time I was planning my shift to London. I thought life is giving me a new chance and in a more developed country, I will be able to take care of myself more. However, this is my decision and not anybody else's.

It had been 5 months for me staying in London, this acquaintance of mine texted me to check up on me and he said I hope you don’t get fat in London? I was shocked by his question. How can you ask me this? I was like “umm, what?”

He replied - “ I thought you have moved to London, and looking at other beautiful and slim girls you might have become self-conscious about your own body and might have decided to do something about it”.

I was again taken aback. How can a person of my age, who is educated and living in the age of social media where multiple people talk about body positivity can even say this? I wanted to rant out to him that how do you know I never did anything to reduce my weight and live a healthy life before?

I calmed myself down and replied, “I love myself, So I won’t ever get

self-conscious”. I bet, I left him speechless and he did not expect this reply. At that moment I felt so good!!

So, I am sharing my experience that if anybody comments about your body type and gives you tips to lose or gain weight as they think well about you, you should take a deep breath and sympathise with them as life is difficult for people who find happiness in critizing others.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Dipra Jain

24, student at King's College London. A marketing fanatic and passionate about photography.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.