Poets logo

Thrift Thoughts

The colours of overthinking

By Dipra JainPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

The water drops

On windowshops

Painting pictures of their own

Remaking the past, as if they've known

The colors and their secrets, the music in my head

The laughter as it echoed, and the all the voices that I dread

As I trace my fingers along to make sense of the dew

I think of all the had beens of my formiddable hues

Of the red that colors my lips in love

Of the anger, the fire, the spirit of my blood

Of the gray tones, the remnants of my fading smiles

The ash, the waste that goes on for miles

I think the blue for the skies that were

The cottonseed breeze in an intensifying blur

I think the green for my whimsical rage

That makes home on my skin, makes my crazy my cage

I think of the pink and the happiness I had

The flush of my cheeks, I can no longer stand

And then I think of the black, the oblivion, the end

The gravity of it as it pulls me back into the blend

Of emotions, of all I thought I'd escaped

And I looked back to see all the borderless shapes

I see me, I see you, I see a rainbow of the "had beens"

And I pull my finger out of that void

I wave a hand over the dew drops

On the windowshops, now won't let them speak

I'll love the colourlessness that brings with it a silence so sweet

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Dipra Jain

24, student at King's College London. A marketing fanatic and passionate about photography.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.