Humans logo

Why do humans have to pay to stay alive? Part 4-1

Medical Insurance

By Tyler MeekPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

I hate medical insurance! Actually, I don’t hate what medical insurance does for people, I just hate that it has to exist. Medical insurance, especially when provided or partially provided by an employer, can cover many things that would have otherwise come out of your paycheck. That is where I see the benefits ending. Depending on your coverage, you may be charged on top of what you pay for insurance if you seek care anywhere that is not supported by your plan, seek care that is not deemed essential, seek care that goes beyond your deductible, and you will probably have to pay copays anywhere you go for anything anyone does (or doesn’t do)!

My initial reaction to pondering this issue was to get rid of all health insurance, maybe allowing an exception for very non-essential things like cosmetic surgery that has nothing to do with normal appearance. However, upon doing many Google searches on the topic, I was introduced (yes, I’m probably very behind the times on this issue) to a health care for all proposal and it seems to align with what I think should be provided to every individual on Earth.

According to https://www.aafp.org/about/policies/all/health-care-for-all.html the plan will be “affordable” which seems open to interpretation. I want this plan to be completely free but what do I know? This article was very helpful in understanding what medical insurance does and what the plan would help provide.

I have been without health insurance for over two years now. I have not visited any medical facility and do not regret not having the coverage. However, I am concerned that if anything life-threatening were to come upon me or my family, it would cost much more than I could immediately afford to provide that care. I would have to take a medical facility’s “generous” offer to make a payment plan. Also, if a minor issue comes up that could be treated by a doctor/dentist/ophthalmologist, I am more likely to not go due to lack of coverage, which could affect my daily life as a result.

I’m sure that I am not alone in this. There must be people who have physical or psychological injuries that could be treated, but due to lack of coverage, they ignore the problem. That could result in not being physically eligible for a job, poor performance in a job, burnout in a job, or being injured while on the job. Humans should not be scared to get medical help just because they don’t have insurance!

The idea of not paying for health insurance or medical services may seem like an injustice for some because the workers in those fields deserve payment. I completely agree! As much as I dislike medical insurance companies, they do help some people and deserve compensation. I just don’t want them to profit off of hurting people. Doctors and all medical personnel obviously deserve compensation for their efforts. I don’t have all the answers to these issues but I just don’t want people to have to pay for essential medical help or abstain from the help because of a lack of insurance.

I haven’t touched on pharmaceutical companies but don’t feel very knowledgeable about it. My position remains the same that people should have free access to prescriptions, supplements, supplies, etc. that are necessary for healthy functionality but that those working in those fields deserve compensation for their work, research, and time.

Please read my other posts to continue to learn about my dream for the world. Thank you for reading this one!

humanity
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.