Humans logo

Who Will Care For You When You Are Old And Need That Kind Of Care?

When I had cancer, my husband and medical professionals cared for me! Is there an expectation that you will need your children or husband to provide care for you as you age?

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2
Who Will Care For You When You Are Old And Need That Kind Of Care?
Photo by FORMAT arw on Unsplash

I had a short conversation with the hubby about what I planned to write about today. He is always okay with whatever! He gives me some really good material to write about too.

I recently saw a story or two about how people will automatically assume that because you are not married or do not have children, you will have no one to care for you when you need care!

Not a good question to ask someone single or someone who chose to not have children! Then there are the couples that haven't had children as they couldn't conceive. Please don't ask them that question!

Personally, what happened in my life is that after cancer, my husband cared for me by carrying oxygen tanks around and driving me to doctor appointments, and keeping up with the house. Well, mostly.

After cancer, when I needed a physical therapist to get me back to walking and get my strength back, the therapist came to the house and exercised with me.

After cancer, my daughter told me that she was okay with changing my diapers, but she wasn't changing my hubby! Now it isn't that she doesn't like my hubby, but she wanted me to know! And she even said it in a joking way!

I thought it was hilarious and ignored it other than when I want a quick laugh, I may tell someone about my plan for old age!

I innocently mentioned that if the hubby needs care before me, I will just slap his old ass in a care facility! The problem with that is I said that around one of his children. The next time we visited, his son told us both that they will be happy to take the hubby.

I then said, it probably isn't necessary as this son's mother or the hubby's ex-wife had said at one point that she would take care of him if he needed care! Then, the son tells me that his youngest sister wanted to know why he gets dad and she gets mom! Hilarious! It just gets crazier and crazier.

I thought it is probably better to not have children in this circumstance! Just kidding! I love my children and his! What would I do without the humor I find in these interactions!!

Before you go getting upset about how I treat hubby, let me tell you that my hubby will probably outlive all of us as he is very diligent about his daily exercise routine and keeps in fit shape even at 72, unlike me and a couple of our children.

And hubby does mental exercises to help prevent dementia. We will see how that goes I guess!

My mother was in a nursing home as she had broken her neck. She was there for physical therapy and lucky me, she was close to me! I found her the place. She needed that level of care we were told by the doctor. She didn't make it out of there as complications from diabetes killed her.

I was always okay with my mother moving in with me, but she didn't like that we didn't get the newspaper and she missed her kitchen and her bed and her friends and family that visited her. I told her she may need to stay for a short time and she just shook her head like we'll see.

When we retired we had time with the in-laws. They had signed up for a senior residential care place and were on a waiting list. My husband and his brother volunteered to do the yard work. My father-in-law was in a nursing home briefly during that time.

My mother-in-law stayed in the house until she went to the nursing home. Again, her stay was short and my hubby especially visited her often. When her sister moved into the nursing home, she was happy to have her there. 

We visited both women at the nursing home and even after his bonus mother died, we continued to visit her sister!

It didn't work out to care for anyone yet! The level of care determines where you end up!

After reading those articles, I would like everyone to know that I didn't give birth to children or marry to have someone to take care of me in my old age!! I'm almost old at 68 and the hubby is old at 72. By the time I get to 72, that age won't sound so old either I'm guessing!

featuremarriageadvice
2

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Antoinette L Brey2 years ago

    Friends are always asking me who is going to care for me when I get older? God didn;t mean for me to have children, and I am not sure I want a husband, I always wondered who am I going to spend my retirement = adult adventure with. but my health may not allow that to happen. Hard to make plans

  • Thank you for sharing this, it raises a lot of things that we may try to put to one side, but as we get older these things do happen. I am lucky in that I have not needed care and if my dad is anything to go by I won't need care apart from hospital care and home rest, Big hugs.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.