Humans logo

A Ride In The Hubby's Pickup Truck

I was thinking maybe I could create a skit from our 30 minute ride together

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2
Hubby's dad, Hubby, a granddaughter and his red single cab pickup truck. Authors photohoto.

This pickup has hauled many a 4-wheeler, many other machines, popup campers, and other things. This was John's first new pickup. He wanted nothing fancy as he said, "I want nothing automatic as that is always the first thing to go to hell!"

That meant a standard transmission (stick shift), no power windows, no air conditioning, no disc player, It barely had a radio.

He had it in the shop this week and was excited to get it back yesterday. We had to pick it up the second it was ready and he was so happy to get it back, he wanted to give the mechanic a hundred-dollar tip! I couldn't believe it.

I had some trouble with this as I wasn't sure it was the same man I married. After all, he considers himself frugal, and I would say more cheap than frugal!

He was all smiley and happy and drove fast down the road as I followed behind in my car.

Today, we had to take the pickup to town. Now, remember it has no air conditioning. He said, "You have to enjoy today as this is our last warm day this year." And however, do I enjoy the day in your old truck I asked.

The first thing I noticed when getting in and getting seated was his old country western music blaring from the speaker behind me. I quickly turned it down. He has some difficulty hearing and of course, he won't admit that.

He said he had to get some boards for the deer stand. He needed to haul them in the pickup. I didn't have to go right? He looked disappointed so I said I would go. The first thing he does is drives down a dirt road with the windows open.

I said it didn't make sense to shower and wash my hair as it will be all dirty before we get back home. He said, "The dirt is all outside and it won't come in!" I replied, of course not with the windows open! He changed the subject.

New telephone poles are going in all around our neighborhood. Then we went into why they are putting them in on a slant. I said it is because when they get them all lined up then they will straighten them up. He agreed.

As soon as we were on the highway, he mentioned we should close our windows and let the air conditioning cool us down. That was only after I complained about my hair sticking up all over from the wind. The air conditioning was opening the vents.

I was just relieved that it was early enough to be cooler outside. Somehow we got on the topic of laundry. I do most of the laundry and have gotten behind a bit.

He said he has enough underwear, so he is good. I said that I noticed he has three different sizes of his tighty whities. He said it is just two different sizes. I said it seems more like three, maybe it is because the older ones are stretched out.

Then I said he may want to get rid of those and get some new ones. He said, they are still good. I said there are some of those that are very thin material in the backside. It looks like one more good puff of air would blow out the backside.

We laughed hard! So much fun and it says so much about our comfort with each other. I have heard some say they don't fart around their husband of 25 - 45 years and never have. And they don't talk about farting. They certainly do with female friends. Well, not fart but talk about farting.

I was glad to get back home. He stopped for gas and when I said I would pay for the groceries in the store after he cut in line to pay for his gas, and our groceries, I complained that he could have carried them out of the store.

Why am I married to this man and why is he still married to me? I love him and he loves me and we would do anything for each other. Some days are just not our best!

I just need to ask. I learned that a long time ago. Riding in his pickup is what I did for him. The sacrifices I make for him!

This wasn't all there was, some parts of the ride were hilarious, but may not be appropriate for all audiences! I think you can get the picture and can make up your own skit!



marriage
2

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.